Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GB

Great hotel, fantastic location

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Excellent rooms, clean, well maintained, great staff. Ticked all the boxes for the overnight stop we had planned. Highly recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool, England

No complaints at all

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Lovely and clean hotel about a 10 minute walk from Aachen's Old Town are! We were travelling with an infant but we hadn't made any request for a travel cot. The hotel knew we were travelling with a child so they had set up the sofa-bed in our room, but once we asked about the travel cot at check-in they were very quick to change our room and provide a travel cot for us. The parking charge is great value in the carpark underneath the hotel (which has a lift that takes you up to the reception of the hotel) €11 parking for 24 hours from arrival. Great sound proofing, or at least we didn't hear anything from outside of our room. Wifi was really good and quick on smart-phones - can't comment on laptop wifi, but we were very happy that it was free. Bathroom was clean and spacious with great power on the shower, which was separate to the bath. Can't comment on the food or the breakfast because we didn't visit the restaurant. Overall we had a lovely stay in Aachen!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by fwecker from Champaign, IL

Comfortable and cozy location right downtown

Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed one night at this location, which is smack near the shopping center, and just about 5 minutes from the cathedral and the old town with plenty of restaurants, cafes, shops and quaint ice cream parlors. The hotel staff was extremely nice and helpful, and contributed to a very good stay. The room was large by European standards, and had bright large windows. It was a good way to start the week the following day. I did not have breakfast, but within a 5 minute walking distance, you have no fewer than 3 bakeries where you can get fresh pastries and viennoiseries. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Bathroom included tub and separate shower, as well as a separate WC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by RenaissanceWoma from UK

Good if you want to explore the city centre

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: The staff were very friendly; the room was a reasonable size and the bed comfortable. Having free wifi is always good.
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: It's a 10 minute walk to the Markt, with its restaurants and bars; and the Dom and the Treasury (both worth a visit).
We stayed one weekday night, while on a short break in Belgium, the Netherlands and Germany. The hotel is well positioned if you want to do the usual tourist things in the centre of Aachen. We arrived early but still had access to the underground car park at the normal (discounted) daily rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Nate

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Alan from London

Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff at the hotel really make the hotel what it is - polite, friendly and happy to help. Our family room for 4 was a little tight but other than that the beds were great as was the reception, parking under the hotel (at cost) and a 100m walk to the shopping centre make this an ideal place to stop over for a shopping trip. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Damian from Preston, UK

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Booked this hotel on the day. Very warm welcome by the receptionist who even upgraded us to a larger room. The room was very clean and comfortable and you could see that the hotel was easily a four star. A quick stroll and you are into the centre of Munster. Would stay here again. (Even if I didn't get an upgrade.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by KB from West Sussex UK

Excellent service in convenient location

Posted Sep 1, 2013
We used the Novotel Aachen as a base for a family trip to the Belgian Grand Prix at Spa. The staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful - the free ice cream and welcome pack for the children was a nice touch. The family room was a decent size and spotlessly clean. The old town centre with plenty of restaurants is only a short walk away and there is secure pre pay parking under the hotel. The buffet breakfast gave a huge choice and was opened up from 6am on race day so we were well fuelled. A couple of tips: if you are going to the Grand Prix in a hire care DO get a good satnav - gave us a great cross country route back to the hotel when there was a hold up on the motorway, and DON'T miss out on exploring Aachen - the Cathedral, the Town Hall and the Market Square all worth exploring. We would definitely use the hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Doug

Great Location, standard Novotal room, i.e., a bit

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: TV channels. If you are not a German speaker, bring some books, as free TV won't provide you much more than CNN.
Stayed there for work in RWTH. Resonable Novotel. Great location just by the city center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Best Served Chilled from Chester

Stop over onto Lake Garda

Posted Aug 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, neighbourhood a bit dodgy...lots of book makers, casino type places...