Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Good hotel in a convenient location.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: It was in a convenient location for me.
Cons: I was surprised to find no electrical power points behind the bed head and as I use a CPAP machine I had to organise my own extension lead.
I only stayed one night but was pleased with my stay. As I departed early in the morning I did not use the breakfast facilities so cannot comment on those.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by val from Hampshire, England

Nice friendly hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Room size was lovely
Cons: Curtains need black out linings Tv volume perhaps ear phones if concerned tv is to loud
Location: Came to see family as a passing in the family so not really site seeing
The room very nice much larger then expected, nice size bathroom. Beds very comfortable and table to sit at to have a cup of tea. Large window which made the room very light and pleasant. Sheets and towels changed everyday. Plenty if hanging space for clothes. Television volume controlled and we could not hear some of the channels. Room became very light early as no black out linings. The lounge area was very nice and comfortable, all staff very helpful Lovely seating area to front of the hotel like a conservatory to sit and talk or read the paper. Plenty of parking Overall a very nice stay, would recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mousey from co antrim

Stop over

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: It is a handy stop over for us as we travel to cork a lot
Cons: The room we had could do with a bit of a makeover !
Would ask for a room at the back of the hotel due to road noise
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vickie from Tampa, FL USA

Our second time there

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: Nice staff, good food and fun entertainment on Saturday nights
Cons: It cost more per night than other hotels of equal size and comfort. But is almost always available.
Location: Small cute town but not real near castles and attractions.
Loved it in October and again in March. Almost always able to get a room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mick

Good quality affordable hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Only stayed one night but would have gladly stayed longer
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Excellent. We are on our way back already!

Posted Nov 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautiful foyer and lounge area with comfortable and stylish chairs and sofas, and a huge fire. Everywhere in the hotel was really clean and we got the feeling there is a brilliant manager in charge here. The reception and bar staff could have seemed happier and could have smiled from time to time. The housekeeping staff otoh were very friendly and it would have been nice to see reception staff the same way. But otherwise, we had an amazing stay. Beautiful and spacious double room, very clean, nice lighting; bathroom was rather small but adequate. We are coming back to stay here again this week!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lorna from bournemouth

Great hotel near Castle Durrow

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Stayed at the abbeyleix hotel during a stay in Ireland for my friends wedding at castle durrow. Hotel was fairly cheap in comparison to other hotels and b&b's so I was extremely pleased with the standard and quality of the hotel. Reception staff were very helpful and polite, room was very comfortable and clean. The hotel was situated in a perfect position for a small walk into the village and also a short car journey to castle durrow. Would def recommend this hotel if you are attending a wedding at castle durrow.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel on the edge of the Abbeyleix.

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Pros: Had a very nice lounge ,bar and restaurant.Rooms were comfortable and quiet.
Nice Hotel,Pleasant staff on reception.Short walk to the center.We were there to visit the birthplace of my Mother in Law.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Worked for us ...

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel is perhaps a little "tired" in furnishings and google also made it hard to find! But its a nice little town and the hotel restaurant is adequate. We visited a nearby attraction, the Haywood Gardens, which we really loved. The "family" room we booked for ourselves and our almost 17 yr old grandaughter was a tad small for the purpose -- should have been called a standard double double. But for one night just off the plane, it was fine.