Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northeast PA.

Nice spot with a long history !

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Charm ! Third generation ownership.
Cons: A laundry bag for soiled clothes would be a good addition.
Location: About 14 miles to Gettysburg. Some old cemetaries are within easy walking distance.
Enjoy a stay at this nice spot not too far from Gettysburg. By all means enjoy dinner there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tishomingo, OK

Fall Foliage Tour/Gettysburg

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Since this was booked online, we weren't sure what to expect but staying at the Altland House Inn & Suites was one of the highlights of our trip to New England & the Canadian side of Niagra Falls!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Charm offsets hotel limitations!

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Charm, right price and continental breakfast. Our room was large, the bed comfortable, and the breakfast sufficient (fresh fruit, coffee, and cereal)
Cons: Fresher breakfast pastries; refreshment voucher should cover the number of guests; first floor should be renovated and made more inviting
Location: Gettysburg, Gettysburg, Gettysburg
Upon entering the hotel, you can tell it once was a busy stop for travelers near and wide on their way to or from Gettysburg, York, Harrisburg and beyond. Now, the hotel sits perched on a traffic circle that teems with truck traffic from morning to night. We arrived after the kitchen closed -- and it's the only eating establishment in the area -- so we ended up grabbing a sandwich at the local service station that "has it all". Hotel patrons are given a voucher for a "free " beer or wine -- however, it only covers one individual and in all likelihood, more than one individual might want a beer after a full day! The lone receptionist doubles as the bartender (and gets anything else you need) She indicated the hotel is rarely full, so staffing appears to be minimal. The hotel's owner has a number of other places nearby and it's obvious that he puts more time, energy and money into those places.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by janet repinski

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Shelby, NE

Typical Bed & Breakfast from Yesterday...

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Stayed here as we were attending the 151st Gettysburg Civil War Reenactment Battles at Gettysburg, (about fifteen miles away). This was an old, old establishment, but well kept. Typical Bed & Breakfast from out of the past. Abbottstown was old/pre-civil war and so was the hotel. Funny... you could look out of the windows of our motel room on the second floor and see the distortion in the glass from yesterday. Room was comfortable with exception of the box sheet which kept coming off and wrinkling under our backs during the night. AC was working well. Kept us cold when hot and muggy out. Had to go down stairs and ask for ice in the restaurant when needed, and did ask for a refrigerator in our room as the other had them. They accommodated. Staff was pleasant and nice. Always went out of their way when we needed something. Probably wouldn't stay here again, as we'll most likely never be in the area, but still the same... would prefer something a little nicer. Just an old establishment, which we expect some would like.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Bill Graham from Delaware

Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed locatiion, had dinner in hotel, meal was OK,only wish King size bed was avaiiable and larger TV in room., Hotel and rooms every clean. I would recommend spendings time at Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Smith from KY

Stop over on way to final destination

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was very adequate. We stopped on our way to DC. Nice, comfortable, clean room. They respected our privacy and had a pleasant atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by taylor117 from Meadville Pa

Awesome hotel...

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very friendly staff with a very convenient location. Would definitely recommend and would stay there again. They went out of their way to accommodate us and our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by BO from Michigan

restful

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent OLD hotel. All rooms are on the 2nd & 3rd floor. On a round-about with traffic all night.