Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff greatest assest

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: Proximity to my daughter and on the bus line.
Cons: Upgrade the place. Explain to foreigners how all the switch system works. House keeping flipped the wall switch off on the heating system. Arghhh!
Location: It is handy to grocery stores, Staples, Pound World - student must haves.
I chose this hotel because it is very close to my daughter's apartment, so it was convenient to her. It is not a modern hotel nor does it come with any of the conveniences - shampoo, tissue etc. The decor is 1970s drab and a bit run down. (I kept thinking holes in the walls were bugs.) The staff were very nice and accommodating though; I was a bit surprised the hotel does not keep converters though...House keeping was funny. Every morning they burst into our rooms always surprised we were there. Sometimes they came back later, sometimes they didn't. Oh well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice clean hotel

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Definitely value for money. Highly recommended especially in Aberdeen where hotels are generally very expensive. Hotel achieves the right balance between cost and comfort for guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Business Stay

Posted Dec 12, 2014 
We was placed in the apartment block. the rooms were large and a kitchen was provided, however you were not allowed to cook in the kitchen which seemed odd when provided.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

ok

Posted Dec 6, 2014 
Stayed in the equivalent of a 1 bed flat of which the block is next to the hotel. Clean, warm and good value. Some parts a little tired and worn. Overall I would stop again the only complaint i have is the chef who refused to swap rice for fries - shocking. This leads me to believe they are serving up prepacked microwave food although I have no proof.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Average, expensive, but this is Aberdeen !

Posted Dec 4, 2014 
One night, pretty average. Hotel looks like it has had no money spent on it. Use as a last resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by jacquiek007from London

Grand Old Hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2014 
Great location but the hotels needs a little TLC. Life was broken which may have made it difficult for some people.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sheffield

Lift not working

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Location ok
Cons: Working lift staff communicating with each other.
Ok, but staff not reallŷ helpful Put on second floor and lift was not working. Not that I would have liked to go in small lift. only room for 2 people. Food ok, but staff not helpful I had asked for my room bill to be left open to put dinner on but was advised after I had dinner that is wasn't.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by John boyfrom Sheffield

For transient workers

Posted Aug 28, 2014 
The hotel is used by many personnel employed in the Oil and Gas sector and caters for these very well. We were visiting the University and felt that we were not the normal type of visitor. This did not detract from the fact that it was a reasonably priced (for Aberdeen) hotel that provided good facilities in an art deco surrounding which was dated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

lovely food and great service

Posted Aug 8, 2014 
One night stay with children, clean and staff very friendly. Food was lovely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

accès facile

Posted May 28, 2014 
chambre et salle de bains assez spacieuses.un peu ancien mais correct.assez bon rapport qualité prix.