Ratings based on 331 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom c

Posted May 14, 2015
Very comfortable stay for the price. No complaints. I would stay there again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: Not much.
Cons: The whole place needs to be closed down and be refurbished.
Location: Close to the airport and within a short driving distance to the town centre.
My partner and I stayed in the hotel just for one night. It's a basic hotel which was to be expected. We always go for basic. The whole place is really in need of a refurbishment. Even the car park which hade huge pot holes in. Although the hotel was in fact clean, due to the old facilities, everything just looked a bit grubby. There was no hot water when we showered. It just got to warm which was obviously very disappointing. The hotel is about a 15 minute drive from the airport so you don't get much peace with planes flying overhead. My partner slept fine throughout the night though I had the worst night sleep. Probably only got 2-3 hours. Woke up with huge back pains. Don't think we'd stay here again. I'm sure there's better hotels for roughly the same price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2015
This hotel is convenient for the airport, basic and fine for a short stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Glasgow

Do not stay here

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: The breakfast was ok. Cold but edible
Cons: Shut the hotel down, and revamp every inch of the hotel inside and out
Location: Located behind a busy road. Nothing of great interest nearby, only a pub, brewers fayre and McDonalds closeby which helps because dinner is awful
Walking towards the hotel entrance the outside looked nothing like the picture on the website. The outside was drab, dreary and in need of a good makeover. The construction vehicles outside didn't bode well and there was the massive sign "refurbishment". The room I stayed in, the window had a gap at the top but halfway down it shut properly so there was a constant draft in the room, the walls are paper thin, the net curtain was dirty and in need of a good wash, the seats in the bar and restaurant were ripped and stained. Not much of a choice on the dinner menu, expensive but the food served is cheap and disgusting. The fish and chips costing £12.95 was a piece of frozen battered fish and chips both cooked in the oven. The chips were dry and overcooked. Carlsberg the only lager on draft and two ciders only. With the popularity of fruit ciders I thought there would be a bigger choice. The professional pictures taken by the hotel that are on the website are outdated so must have been taken when it first opened. This hotel need a complete overhaul and a lot of money needs to be made available to get it back to the way it was before. It has been completely run down so any complaints made will be met with the excuse that it is being refurbished.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shabby!!

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Hotel is in real need of a massive makeover, first impression was terrible with a big open area. The corridors, lift are really shabby and the rooms, although comfortable enough, really do need repainted. Wouldn't recommend or book again.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom J

Simply Terrible, and mo exaggeration!

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Regardless to the bad location of the Britannia hotel, during our stay in the hotel and only for one night we expirinced the following: 1. We were booked in a room which was already accupied by a resident working ar the hotel. The room had not a single window 2. Likely we were moved to another room in the fourth floor. With no upgrade or apology about the embbersing mistake 3. Even though the Wi-Fi was Free, it never connected to our divices, bisaclly free wi-fi was a lie 4. Toielt was broken. 5. The beds were full of hair 6. In the morning. Around 9 am that was another story, the fier alarm kept on going off for testing proupses . Even though it wasn't friday, when the regulary test it. 7. And final disaster was the left we carried two big suitcases me and my senior dad all the way down to the reciption cause the left wasn't working and the staff never responded to our requist for a help. After all that all we got as an apology for this faluer is the word "sorry!" Now you can decided yourself wither the hotel is worth £85 for one horrible night ?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2015
I was unhappy with the food condition at breakfast.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Paris

Expérience cauchemardesque

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Près de l'aéroport certes, mais près de l'horreur également. Un environnement douteux et sale, des travaux énormes commençant dès 07.00 du matin. Des parquets qui craquent dans les couloirs à faire réveiller un mort. Des portes qui claquent tard dans la nuit et tôt dans la matinée (l'hôtel est essentiellement réservé par le personnel du secteur pétrolier à 99% masculin). Des chambres faisant plus penser à des motels de road movies années 70. La salle de bain rafistolée avec une planche en bois complètement abimée. Une propreté comparable à un aventurier qui se serait égaré 1 mois dans le désert. Des moquettes qui sentent le chien mouillé. Tout cela pour un prix équivalent à un bon hôtel 4 étoiles la nuit sans petit déjeuner. Il serait urgent de ne plus référencer ce type d'établissement qui nuisent à tous.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rubbish, Filthy, just bloody awful.

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Cost of food reduced. Staff sharpened up. Floors vacuumed.
Terrible. Place was filthy, Cold and the health and safety is questionable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brazil

Hotel in good location for airport and other servi

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Location and easy access to the main highways
Cons: Wi-Fi
Hotel has been under re-construction for the past year. Th hotel is clean with good staff but the Wi-Fi does not work so no good for people who need a good internet connection.