Ratings based on 160 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB Canada

Welcoming Historic 18th Century Hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: We really liked the staff!! They were all really wonderful. We also loved the quiet location, & the breakfast choices were fantastic!!
Cons: The food choices. The breakfast menu is fabulous, but the lunch & dinner choices were very limited & we got tired of the same few options.
Location: Not much around the hotel, but easy enough to get a taxi to take you wherever you want to go. It's only 15 mins. from the shops & town of Aberdeen.
We enjoyed our stay at the Ardoe House. The staff were very welcoming, friendly, happy and helpful. They arranged cabs for us to take us wherever we wanted to go, so it was nice having that service provided for us. The hotel was a castle actually, and had so much character and was a very unique experience. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely stay at it again, should we ever return to Aberdeen.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing, gone downhill

Posted Dec 31, 2014
It is maybe unfair to compare this hotel to the luxury it was ten years ago. However, the room and communal areas were very cold unless you were directly in front of the log fires. Despite being an old building I can't accept that for an excuse of how cold they were, it's not like cold weather in Scotland is a new problem! The bathroom could have done with at least a heated towel rail and the room a radiator that heated beyond luke warm. The decor is standard Mecure decor squeezed in to an old building rather than individual decor inline with the old building. The restaurant was fully booked which was disappointing, so we ate in the bar. Unfortunately, my husbands steak was supposed to be medium but was well-done, again, disappointing for the cost. The bar didn't have any snacks/crisps/nibbles for sale, which seemed strange for a 4* hotel and was commented on by other guests too. on the plus side, the staff were pleasant, the starters in the bar were nice and the breakfast was ok. But, for a one night getaway, I'd give at a miss (especially if you've ever been to Ardoe when it was at its prime),
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aberdeen

Stayed for 1 night after a Christmas Function

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros: Room was very clean and Breakfast was very good.
Cons: The only small negative of our short stay was that the room & bathroom were freezing when we checked in and took a while to heat up.
Staff very friendly, from checking in at Reception to Breakfast the next day Staff were professional and helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel for a Wedding

Posted Dec 1, 2014
We stayed at Ardoe House Hotel for a friends wedding at the weekend. The hotel is beautiful and the food was amazing. The staff were all very friendly and helpful (except for getting told the complete incorrect directions from getting to the church from the hotel for the wedding. What should have taken 2 minutes to drive, took us 45 minutes. Thankfully the bride was later than we were or we would have missed it!) Other than that, I really cannot fault the hotel and staff. The bedroom was a lovely and spacious and the grounds were nice and peaceful. We were also able to check in early before the ceremony, which was a nice bonus. Great hotel and would def recommend for a nice break or a wedding!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

brilliant

Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent setting. Great food. Would recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Iainfrom Glasgow

Great hotel and well worth a visit

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
On a business trip and a very good hotel in beautiful surroundings. Had a lovely room with 4 poster bed and very comfortable indeed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Arvid Gautefrom Bergen

Flott gammelt slott.

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Veldig flott hotell med en helt egen atmosfære. Det å bo på et gammelt slott var så pass spesielt at det overskygget det faktum at hotellet er gammelt og meget lytt. Du er avhengig av taxi da det er ca 10 minutter kjøring fra sentrum. Alt i alt et bra opphold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lynfrom Fraserburgh

2nd visit here andcplan to have a 3rd

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a great weekend with my hubby, great room apart from a bit of mould on the roof of the shower. There was a separate bath tho, so not a major issue and we used the showers in the pool and spa anyway. The sheets on the bed are amazingly soft and comfy. View from our room was beautiful, of trees and a park. We had breakfast both mornings, really good food and service. Had an evening meal one night in the restsurant, my hubby is a bit fussy and asked for the bar menu as not that keen on fancy food, this wasnt a problem like it can be in some hotels. This is the second time i have stayed here and cant wait to come back again. True luxury just outside aberdeen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very good restaurant, very good breakfast. Rooms are clean, good bed. My room was cold, was not possible do adjust the heat. Nice with swiming pool