Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Inverurie

Overnight Accommodation

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: The meal at the wedding was excellent.
Cons: Their customer relations could be improved regarding check in flexibility (see above)
Location: Nice location in own grounds but some distance from the city centre.
Spent one night after attending wedding at same venue. Room was okay, nothing special, but nothing wrong either, though price was in the 'upmarket' bracket. Staff were pleasant and professional and there is plenty of parking space. However, the wedding commenced at 2pm the same time as check in so I telephoned the hotel after booking online to explain our situation and asking if we could check in say, around 1-1.15pm only to be told that that would incur an additional charge of £20! From my perspective, that is pure greed and, needless to say, I declined but it did leave a bad taste in the mouth so to speak!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Location, Surroundings,
Could have been a room with a larger bed ,room was quite basic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Old world setting in the middle of Aberdeen

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Booked a room as part of a 50th birthday present. Room was good, room service excellent but about 10.30 a 'Prom night' being held in the hotel started to play music too loud for a quiet night as our room was adjacent. I explained this to reception and within minutes we were moved to a far quieter room, with no fuss and lots of help. Great response from the staff, wonderfull old world charm and very handy for that part of the city. We will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Lovely hotel. Have been in bigger and nicer rooms when we have stayed before. We nearly missed breakfast on our second morning as we were told the wrong time when we checked in. The dining room staff were able to get a cooked breakfast for us and all the staff in the dining room were so friendly and immaculately dressed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Great time

Posted Jun 1, 2015
What a good hotel with great staff set in fantastic surroundings. With a comfortable room and good breakfast what a joy. Only slight down side was price of drinks but still not as steep as some places of lesser quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Haunted

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: When you are traveling and staying in your first castles or haunted locations - there are rarely criticisms.
Thank you for the fantastic stay at your hotel. We appreciated your moving us to the haunted section of your hotel. We enjoyed everything from the ambiance to the ghost experience around 1:15-1:30 am (May 18, 2015), in Room 8. The food in your main dining room was very good. Your staff (wait and resting staff) were wonderful and accommodating. We like to stay at older properties and this was kept up very well. We appreciated talking to Lazslo and Christina ... about the history of the property and some of those remaining there. Although we realize that Room 1 and 4 .. are the whereabouts of the Mistress and Mr. of this property ... the Mr. made his visit to my husband (see above) and called out his name (scaring him to death). He then heard a loud thump-bang on what seemed to be the top of the stairs (I doubt someone was outside the door making noises). He talks about how he woke in a panic when he heard his name - for myself - the ghost hunter ... I was asleep during this event.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lisa from Callander

Comfortable and a good nights sleep.

Posted Apr 29, 2015 on Hotels
Just a quick overnight stay so didn't take full advantage of the amenities and facilities. Overall, very comfortable. Room was a little on the small side and slightly dated furniture but I was placed away from a main wedding party so I didn't mind. Easy parking, good wifi and warm and inviting receptionist. Room service was quick and the steak was simply delicious. Comfortable bed with decent pillows meant I had a great nights sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Scott

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Wedding meal

Posted Mar 18, 2015 on Hotels
My sons wedding
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Northampton

Last minute hote lneed but Aberdeen prices

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Makes a change from Premier Inn, right side of town
Cons: Loose the pretentious food at bar, traditional bar food with ample portions is what is needed. Not everyone is looking for an 'a la carte' burger.
Location: Location is excellent in relation to south industrial estates, centre and ring road airport access
Almost pretentious, but staff were very good. Very nice stay with exception to Drink, pint of beer that favoured inch of foam over beer.. Food good, quality, local ingredients blah blah....in relation to high price it was very sparing in portion size therefore I believe not good value. Great curry house 5 minutes away.