Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Chappo from London

nice hotel - shame about the service

Posted Apr 4, 2013
Pros: rooms and settings (deers in the back garden!)
Cons: Service
Location: quite remote and no alternatives for food within walking distance.
room was nice and clean, I was there for 2 days, but never got any soap / shampoo for the 2nd morning. service in bar and restaurant was abysmal! - they were running around like headless chickens and didn't seem to know what they were doing. First night i was told to sit on one table, then the waiter came and told the waitress to move me to another table that had just been vacated, which had not even been cleared. By the end of this meal, there were still glasses on the table from the previous occupant. The 2nd night the waiter running the restaurant was constantly arguing with the bar waitress over drink's orders, they had even run out of glasses as they had just had a big party in. Don't have the Amstel lager here as it is flat and tasteless!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian from Scottish Borders, UK

suitable for a stop over

Posted Nov 27, 2012
Pros: Bedroom was the best
Cons: Dining room was the worst. Too many children for an old couple
Location: Good
The staff wer very pleasant and the room was up to standard for the price but there was no hot water in the morning so no shower and there seemed to be a problem with breakfast in the morning (Very slow and not busy enough to justify it being slow)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen, Aberdeen City, UK

Fantastic weekend break

Posted Nov 5, 2012
Had a family dinner for an 80th birthday and several of us stayed for bed and breakfast. All rooms were immaculate and the staff could not do enough for us. Made it a weekend for us all to remember. Would not hesitate to book another function with them.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by gary

overpriced Average

Posted Oct 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel it self was smart and eloquent. The rooms were clean and well maintained but no nicer than ur average premier inn. The bar was well overpriced with vodka and coke nearly 6 quid. Cooked breakfast was unsubstanial and well over priced. Also breakfast and check out times are an hour earlier than other hotels. Overall nice hotel but very poor value for money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Karen

excellent choice

Posted Oct 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
we were guests at a wedding and location and hotel were excellent. very clean,staff friendly and food good. bar prices a bit high but apart from that highly recommended.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Trina from Aberdeen

nice bed but don't expect any service

Posted Oct 8, 2012
Pros: the bed - oh so comfy
Cons: disappearing staff who didn't want to be there
Location: off the main road down a single track road
stayed for a wedding. no complaints about the room, but check in desk was rarely manned and the lounge bar staff kept disappearing for 30 minutes at a time, then got uppity when chased. Venue is nice enough but let down by the attitude of its staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Allright

Posted Oct 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
Ok
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good and bad

Posted Aug 13, 2012
A stunning facility, great, really sweet, staff but the management of bar and restaurant is truly awful. Following a meal on the night of our arrival we avoided eating in the hotel. Also , hotel is too far from Aberdeen.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Accommodation

Posted Jul 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
The Hotel is in a beautiful setting and our room and facilities were excellent. There however seemed to be a big problem with ty he kitchen as after 2hrs on the first night we gave up waiting for Dinner. Breakfast was very slow both days on on the second day they had run out of eggs. The staff were all very helpful and attentive but the service from the kitchen let them down badly.