Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ecologist from Glasgow

Comfy beds

Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is nice, great food, friendly staff, comfy bed. Show was abit basic and non accommodating for a tall person, nevertheless, atleast the water pressure was decent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robbie from Stonehaven

Very good traditional hotel in Ballater

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here on two separate 2x day short breaks for special occasions, just before Xmas and just after New Year and ultimately had enjoyable stays both times. On our first visit however, we were initially allocated a disappointingly cramped room which wasn't particularly warm but on request were reallocated a much warmer and more spacious room. Breakfast on the first morning was badly overcooked and virtually inedible, so unfortunately had to be sent back. Even the best hotels will experience similar problems from time to time, but it's how they react and deal with these problems that really matters. After the breakfast was replaced, Joanna Whysall the General Manager took a personal interest and ensured there was no repeat performance on the second morning. She also apologised for our disappointing experience and made sure we were allocated a superior room on our return visit which was superb. Our sincere thanks go to Joanna and all the excellent staff who were friendly, welcoming and attentive throughout. We will definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Kathleen from Blairgowrie

So Friendly

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very comfy, great to see roaring fire and very friendly staff. Comfortable feel to place and in keeping with the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by CraigL from Aberdeen

Great ambiance

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel significantly exceeded our expectations. Nice rooms, very clean, fresh d├ęcor. The dining and bar area very traditional, authentic and enjoyable. Good choice of breakfast, nicely presented. Friendly helpful staff. Takes pets! We will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the centre of Ballater, close to all shops.

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Pros: Right in the centre of town, near restaurants and shops.
Cons: Better extras in room.
Location: Bike hire,walks and local shops all close by.
One night stay,basic but affordable. Rooms could do with a few extras, fridge! Also an ice machine somewhere available in the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

GRIM

Posted Sep 13, 2013
Cons: Rooms need to be refurbished and in the meantime prices should be reduced to reflect the poor standard of the rooms.
Whilst the lounge area in the hotel was very comfortable and welcoming the only word we can use for the room we stayed in (having rejected the first room we were shown to) is GRIM! We only went through with the stay because it was Braemar weekend and all hotels in the area were fully booked. The shower room was so small that we had to leave the door open once out of the shower - I am only 5 foot 2 so this gives an idea of size! my husband is over 6 feet so he was very challenged! The room was so small that we had to get dressed in relays - either the other left the room or sat on the bed. Furnishings were very functional post-war & tired, no comfort. We will not return to this hotel, it was not value for money, we felt they were taking advantage because of the Braemar weekend. On the plus side Ballater is a beautiful town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Arian from Rotterdam

Nice hotel in a wonderful location

Posted Sep 8, 2013
Pros: The friendly staff.
Cons: The room can be further improved.
Location: The hotel is set in a wonderful location with many things to explore, walks to be done.
I enjoyed a lovely stay in the Deeside Inn while in Scotland on business. The staff were very friendly and the restaurant and lounge were very inviting especially with a woodfire burning on the colder evenings in autumn. The room was ok and in accordance with the price I paid. Recently refurbished, but one could tell that there was still some money to be spent on the completion an the finer details.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Gordieloon

Quite an experience

Posted Aug 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
My wife and I only stayed overnight on a Saturday for me to go running on the Sunday. We weren't expecting much as it was only a 2* hotel. It looked ok on approach to the hotel and once inside looked quaint and old fashioned. There was no one on reception but there was a phone and a number to call, nobody replied. I went through to the bar, spoke to the barman and he went to get the manager(?). He couldn't find the booking from Hotels.com but said he would sort it out in the morning and told us we woulf d get an upgrade to a junior suite!! We went upstairs with the key, entered the room only to find the bed unmade and a 1/2 drank bottle of vodka on the coffee table. We went back down and told the manager and he gave us another room. The bed was big, comfy and clean and the bathroom was really old fashioned with hugh sink and cast iron bath. I thought it suited the building and the location. Had a good nights sleep and in the morning went for breakfast. It was a standard breakfast you would expect with a choice of cereals and cooked food, (if only the waitress understood what "boiled egg and soldiers" were)!! No complaints with the food though. For a 2* hotel we thought the price was far too much, we had a cheaper 4* overnight stay the following weekend!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Yvonne & andrew

Posted Aug 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
Our stay was very delightful, especially due to a young lady called Vari she was on loan from your hotel in Pitlochry she gave us a lift to our function at braemar when we discovered that there was no taxis service that day in ballater. The room was tidy and the staff very helpful especially when I burnt my finger on the halogen bedside light. The next day the cleaner forgot to come back to clean the room and we had no clean towels and the bucket not emptied. In general we think the hotel was nice but needs to be upgraded and maintained a bit more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
Well there is nothing to do in town so there is not much to say for the surrounding location. The staff is truly the highlight of this hotel - when I had an issue with my power adapter two staff members went out of their way and let me barrow their personal ones. The food in the morning was wonderful. The downside was the bathroom. While it had nice large bath/shower, the shower didn't want to work right - the water would fluctuate from scolding to freezing without warning, the shower head didn't want to remain in place. The toilet didn't want to flush. And the shelf above the sink was unsecured, resulting in a broken class. The wifi was good. The beds were comfortable (a bit noisy though).