Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sandhurst

Friendly staff

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Staying in a Huntly arms was one of the best decision. It is a three star but is very cozy and gives you the home feel environment. The staff are very kind. Helpful and friendly. I am definitely going back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Mr

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Fantastic Break fast, good rooms. mobile signal and wifi signal is very poor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
First room I was offered heating was broken and was very uncomfortable as a result, staff clearly had been aware of this. Fortunately able to change rooms. Breakfast was poor in terms of choice and quality. Myself and another guest had to make quite an issue of even getting a decent cup of tea. That said the staff I met made effort to be helpful and friendly and I ended up with a comfortable night sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by DESSIE from BIRMINGHAM

ENJOYABLE STAY

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
COMFORTABLE , RELAXING AND ACCESSIBLE.
1 out of 5
by cindy from co, durham

Choose a diffrent hotel

Posted May 8, 2014
Over priced and in desperate need of updating, very dissapointed with my experience. Rooms not as shown online, misleading to say the least.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by paulkeno from Glasgow

Never again

Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Booked a family room as there was a chance that I would be joined by my wife and kids whilst I was working in the area. However, I was given a room with only one bed in - fortunately my wife decided not to join me after I told her what the hotel was like. The mattress was more like the Himalayas, the taps didn't work in the bath, the window wouldn't stay open and the tv only had 7 channels, 2of which were ITV4+1, 2 were Channel 5 and no BBC1! I work up in Aboyne twice a year and will definitely not return to the Huntly Arms again.
3 out of 5
by pete from b'ham

Hotel in nice location

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Hotel looks historical from the outside and this continues within set in a picturesque setting. But the issue the room was cold, and would do no harm in having some sound proofing because you can hear everything. Wifi only location was reception, but the upside was staff friendly, breakfast fantastic!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Funtime56 from Southport

worst hotel in the world

Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
There is a saying that you get what you pay for. If I had only paid £10 for this room it would have been too much. Both beds in the twin room were in an abysmal condition. The handbasin in the bathroom wasn't attached to the wall and the TV didn't work. It seemed like every floor board creaked. As for breakfast. The fried bread was incinerated to the point were it was impossible to cut it without it breaking into dust. The sausage was cheap and the slice of bacon was cold. It's such a shame that the hotel is awful as it's located in one of the most beautiful parts of our country and the building itself is stunningly beautiful.
2 out of 5
by A Dad from Manchester

A life on the ocean wave!

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Clean + comfortable beds. Food fine & there was prompt service. Residents bar was impressive
Cons: Provide what is advertised. A little more variety in TV choice. Make heating work + put some in en suite! Explain 'mine host' concept to barmaid
Location: Terrifying drive through woods on unlit,narrow, hilly,unfenced roads with steep drops through thick fog going. Great roads in daylight little traffic
Comfy beds & a clean room. Huge radiator that didn't work so we had tiny plug in oil filled instead. No phone (& therefore no alarm call as requested) & no hairdryer but both advertised. No heat in en suite. So much movement in floorboards we were in danger of seasickness. Room a little shabby (plywood window sill separating into its layers + water stains on en suite ceiling). TV only got 3/4 channels & surprisingly none of them were BBC even though it's free to everyone UK wide. Food fine. Barmaid in Tavern Bar can only be described as surly & definitely unwelcoming - in contrast to the other staff we met.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by jenny from suffolk

huntly arms aboyne

Posted Mar 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
disappointing. reception staff good and changed our room to one with view but very noisy through the night because ofwindow banging next door. very tired rooms and in need of refurbishment and thorough cleaning. linen had holes in it.very economical with breakfast. minimum sauces etc available and service very rushed. husband asked for extra milk for room and got an astonished response.seems to be more of a contractors hotel than tourist.