Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Letham

A nice hotel in a beautiful surrounding.

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Very pleasant and helpful staff. The sauna is a superb facility,well managed, and a very high standard of hygiene observed.
Cons: A cracked glass in the patio door window requires to be replaced.
Location: A very quiet location but, close to Aboyne town if a choice of resteraunts and bars is required.
Arrived with my wife mid afternoon. Check-in was smooth and without problem. Staff were very courteous and helpful, accompanied us to our room. After getting our luggage from the car and settled into the room we went and had a drink at the bar. Service once again was immediate and staff were very pleasant. At this point we were advised that if we wished to have dinner in the evening we were required to place our order before 17.30 hrs. [there is a notice on the chalk board behind the bar advising guests to do this] Dinner at night was excellent with the food well prepared and excellent table service, with ample time given between courses to enjoy the food properly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: The beds were good and breakfast was okay.
Cons: Refund to compensate on the fact there was no gym.
Location: Dunnattor Castle is worth a visit and Aberdeen.
We liked the hotel and the woman was very nice and helpful. We expected to find a gym and that had closed three weeks earlier. We didn't get any compensation or refund for that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Livingston, West Lothian

Beautifully Located Lodge/Hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Great location, quiet, very calming influence, comfy bed, clean/modern room of a good size.
Cons: Wider variety of gluten free food would be nice but the range they did have was better than most with custom dishes available if required.
Location: Only stayed one night so didn't sample the location much. Gold course next door, walk around the loch, water skiing available plus more.
One of the nicest hotels I've stayed in for a long time! Located by Loch Aboyne my room overlooked the loch on a beautiful sunny evening. There was an air of calm about the place not found at most "normal" hotels, probably due to there only being 14 rooms and there being no noisy traffic or passers-by to contend with. The room was modern, very clean with a very comfy bed. The flat screen tv was handy for watching the World Cup games too! My patio doors opened to let in the sights and sounds of the loch (although I did have to contend with a few midges as expected due to the waterfront location). The evening meal in the restaurant was nicely presented although a larger portion would have been welcome (not really a complaint as the quality was very good). Morning breakfast was as you would expect with a choice of continental or freshly fried fayre. All-in-all a very pleasant stay at a reasonable price for the area and I would definitely consider staying there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by David Mackintoshfrom Manlius, NY

Beautiful Central Scotland

Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent. a beautiful location and the rooms were very comfortable. The staff could not have been nicer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by David & Suefrom Perth Australia

Great all rounder

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Touring Scotland, booking hotels at the last minute, and what a find this place was!! Fantastic location overlooking a loch, our room was well appointed and comfortable, the evening meal was delicious (we've discovered Cullen's Skink) & breakfast was a multiple choice, prepared for you. The facility has a golf course and Spa but as we were only overnighting, didn't use these facilities. The staff were terrific, hotel grounds extensive and this would be a perfect place to spend a few days away from the rat race. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by jimfrom broughty ferry

Fantastic Location and Service

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very relaxing, clean and comfortable room and good food, definitely book again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 9, 2014
Unfortunately we were not impressed with our stay. Although clean and tidy it certainly did not live up to its advertising and was not value for money . The kitchen was obviously not functioning well with undercooked and burnt food presented. It should not have left the kitchen let alone made it to the table. Very disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff were very friendly and pleasant
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Adelle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dave

good hotel

Posted Feb 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Only passing through on business. Hotel fairly new, check in not very organised but friendly staff. Having to pre order evening meal at check in and breakfast prior to going to bed wasnt the best process but the food was very good.