Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland, USA

Sands Hotel in Abu Dhabi is very good.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Sands Hotel is located half way between Abu Dhabi Mall and Al Wahda Mall. Local bus services to both malls are very convenient. Airport A1 bus also
Location: Sands Hotel is near many restaurants, Arab and Philippine restaurants and cafeteria.
I was able to check in early, at 10:30AM. Reception Staff, CHUL and a Pakistani female were very professional and pleasant to welcome me back to the hotel. Because I stayed at this hotel earlier this year, maybe January or February 2014.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Canada

A cheaper alternative for Abu Dhabi.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Great internet, TV and bed.
Cons: You get what you pay for so there's much to add.
Location: Take a taxi to the corniche.
I was in the city for one night and I was paying for the room, not an oil company, so I chose the Sands since it was offered with a discount when I booked my flights through Expedia. It offers good basic comfort, a very good bed,excellent internet, all the satellite channels - I watched/listened to some great movies while I was doing some emailing and not outrageous room service costs. As an alternative to room service the Sands has a lot of fast food places close buy and grocery stores. I would recommend it to a friend as a less expensive alternative than a hotel on the corniche.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to everything!!

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: It had all the ammenities and was close to everything in Abu Dhabi.
Cons: N/A
Location: The beach and malls are close by.
My sons and I had a great stay at this hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and super helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Said

Hotel is newly refurbished

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Refurbishment work is ongoing in the top floors at day time. Iron is very old and leaking steam around the power leads. Parking is very difficult in the area around specially at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by RICHARD NGUYEN from MARYLAND, USA

CONVENIENT LOCATION & GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD

Posted Feb 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
WENDY WAS VERY PLEASANT AND WARM TO CHECK ME IN BEFORE NOON. I GOT A NICE AND LARGE ROOM ON THE 8TH FLOOR WITH FREE INTERNET ACCESS AND FREE WIFI. SANDS HOTEL IS LOCATED ON ELECTRA STREET, AROUND 10 DIRHAMS BY TAXI FROM ETIHAD CITY TERMINAL THAT AIRPORT BUS A1 RUN TO/FROM INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. HOTEL IS CLOSE TO ABI DHABU MALL, AND CONVENIENT BUS LINES TO/FROM AL WAHDA MALL.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Looked like I was in a horror movie from the 90s

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Ugly. Old. Scary. Mouldy. Not worth a penny. I'd rather not stay here even if it were for free. Worst place I've stayed in, ever.
2 out of 5
by Percy from Dublin

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: See "experience" above.
Location: City hotel, lots of stores close by.
It appears that the hotel owners spent all their money on the lobby as the rooms are really bad. There is mold in the bathtub, wall paper is coming off, rugs are discolored, etc. If management refurbishes the rooms, I might come back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by v from Ireland

Five Day Stay

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: Location, dining and staff
Cons: Preparation of rooms. Cleanliness. Swimming pool area,
Check in and staff good. Three adults had been booked since last March but only one bed in executive suite. A mattress to be placed on floor was brought to room!!!!!!!!!!! Three adults, two in their 60's and one in 50's.........!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hotel solution unacceptable. Following discussion with staff, bed and clean mattress and bedclothes arrived. Bathroom not serviced for number of people in room. No cutlery or crockery in kitchenette. Carpet in room very poorly fitted. Carpet in room and in public area on Fifth floor dirty and badly in need of daily vacuum.
2 out of 5
by Clint from Dubai, UAE

If you stay here make sure you get a 'new' room.

Posted Dec 9, 2013
Pros: The location is good.
Cons: They could let people know if they are getting a nice new room or a shabby old room (which they charge the same for)
Location: You can walk to the corniche, and the gold souk and plenty of places in-between. Lots cf character in the area which is not so common in Abu Dhabi.
The hotel is renovating their rooms so the pictures you see don't represent all of them. I think I would have been pleased if I had a renovated room but was pretty surprised at how worn and ugly my rooms were (I rented two). If I had known I would not have booked here. Having said that, the rooms were not dirty and everything worked - they just weren't worth the money are seemed like a 2 star hotel.