Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne, AU

Close to Grand Mosque

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Variety of items on room service menu
Location: Close to Grand Mosque and only 20minutes away from Yas Mall.
Extremely helpful staff. Room service was always on time and quality of food was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom England

You can't go wrong with a stay at this hotel.

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: 5 out of 5 on every category. I'd have given 6 for the attentive and courteous staff, they were that good.
Cons: Odd floor numbering... I stayed on the ground floor that was designated the 1st and the reception was on the 3rd, or was that the 2nd... Hmmm
Location: Self contained hotel sharing beachfront with another hotel from the same group and high quality domestic residences and a modern Souk (sp?)
5 out of 5 on every category. I'd have given 6 for the attentive and courteous staff, they were that good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Saudi Arabia

Great atmosphere

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Suite room. Buffet breakfast. Outdoor lounges. Friendly staff
Cons: Cannot have a beverage in or near the pool even if it is in a plastic cup. A bit silly.
Very nice hotel. Our room was upgraded to suite upon arrival. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Lots of quaint places to relax outside for a cocktail or bite to eat. Horizon Club convenient and nice but not sure it is worth the added cost. Breakfast buffet was incredible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Thornton Cleveleys UK

High levels of service in luxurious surroundings.

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: The service, restaurants and beach.
Cons: Pool bar/restaurant waiting times for food when busy.
Location: Souk next door is worth a look around and offers alternative dining venues. Taxis are really cheap. 8 pounds city centre or Ferrari World/ GP circuit
We had an amazing week here. I felt comfortable from the moment we arrived. All the staff have a smile and a word for you whenever you encounter them. I liked the layout of the hotel, the restaurants, the beach.. everything really. We were in a Horizon Club room which means you have a separate lounge for breakfast and snacks, teas and coffee throughout the day. Oh.. you also have happy (2) hours from 6-8pm each evening where alcoholic drinks are served if that's an attraction, it is for us. It was great, look at these room rates if this appeals. The only gap in service was occasionally at the pool bar/ restaurant we had to wait quite a while for our lunch. However , when we were on the beach the staff did inform us about the wait. Food delivered to your shaded sun beds and set up on your own tray table for you is worth waiting for in my opinion! It didn't spoil things for me. I read the book 'Lost Horizon' which I found in the drawer in the room. All I can say is the concept worked for me, I slept really well, felt rejuvenated and certainly didn't want to leave! I hope to return to this Shangri La one day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sussex, England

First class hotel with everything you need

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: The staff and the Horizon Club Lounge product.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Near the city, right on a beach, near the airport, perfect.
This is the third time we have stayed in this hotel, it is perfect for a quiet break away. The hotel has a private beach and two swimming pools so perfect to cool down in the hot weather. They have a good selection of restaurants in the hotel but also there are other good restaurants in the nearby souk or mini mall which is very useful if you don't want to travel too far. The staff are excellent and are very attentive, you couldn't ask for more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wales

Of all the hotels in Abu Dhabi this is the best

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Location: The nearby souk was a good addition as it gave more options for food and coffee and a more Arabian taste with a great Lebanese restaurant.
My wife and I met our son here who flew in from Muscat. The hotel kindly placed us in rooms next to each other. The room was vast (end of block 401) with all the trimmings you need when on holiday. The room was clean cool with the AC, with a balcony overlooking the creek and the mosque. The hotel was not busy as full high season is not for a few months but there was a full compliment of staff to attend to you. We used the pool facilities and despite the temperature reaching 40 the pol cooled us down and we had a small cool box of water topped up regularly throughout the day. The staff came around regularly with a fruit kebab and a fresh fruit juice or tea in the afternoon. We ate at Bord Eau which was wonderful and when you compare prices with other hotels fairly reasonable, but the food was exquisite. We used the "brunch" buffet where everything was so fresh and plentiful you wanted to try all the dishes! We also had a brunner on Friday at Pearls and Caviar which was very good with a good selection of seafood and good wine. For the other days in the week we tried other restaurants in other hotels which were also very good but on comparing the hotels themselves nothing came close to the Shangi-la, its positioning away from the city and downtown area and its cooling breeze off the creek. It has so much going for it with the souk attached to the side where there are a good few quality restaurants, a Starbucks for your morning caffeine fix...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

Great hotel good location

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Stunning decor and high level service
Location: Grand Mosque is magnificent; hotel shuttle bus to shopping malls; on-off bus around Abu Dhabi
Stayed at Shangri-la for 3 nights in August 2014. We upgraded to Horizon Club which was good value with luxurious room with views of the Grand Mosque, delicious breakfast and happy hour each day. The hotel is close to the Grand Mosque but a fair way from the shopping malls and Corniche. The hotel shuttle bus to the malls was excellent. We also caught the on-off bus to get a broad look at Abu Dhabi which is quite spread out. The weather was very hot for walking around town so we spent time at the hotel - lovely grounds, infinity pool and a 'beach' with luke warm water and a souk market within the complex.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom surrey

Excellent hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2014
This is the best hotel we have ever stayed at, very relaxing infinity pool, staff couldn't do enough, great buffet, lovely room. Would definitely go back to this hotel. Paradise!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Alexfrom Melbourne

Flawless

Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
From airport pickup, through to check in, rooms, front-desk service and facilities - everything was perfect. Shangri La exceeded my expectations in every way, and has set a new benchmark for friendliness, personality, and quality of service for 5 star hotels. Look forward to staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Sebafrom Offenbach

Super Hotel / Service 1a

Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Waren nur 4 Tage (3 Nächte ) dort aber war alles einwandfrei! Grundsätzlich kann man Sagen, dass wenn man im Hotel und am Strand/Pool bleiben möchte es wirklich traumhaft ist ansonsten wenn man mehr erleben möchte scheint Dubai die bessere Wahl zu sein. ( so zumindest unser Tip )