Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

The promise is better than the reality

Posted Feb 18, 2009
In my view this is an OK hotel. I was disappointed because they claim to be an all inclusive five star hotel but the reality is that they offer no drinks at all after 10PM. You must pay to use the pool table and they have all kind of restrictions. The gym is really poor. The Christmas evening they denied to offer me a drink at 10:15PM. This is probably a 3-4 star hotel and it is OK as long as you are aware of it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Good base to explore from

Posted Feb 5, 2009
It seems most people stay on the all inclusive plan at this hotel but if you are on the European plan you'll find not having tea/coffee making facilities in your room a pain. VIPS is probably your best bet for a safe breakfast resturant if you dont want to pay for the hotel buffet. There are lots of poolside activities 12-4 and you can normally get a sunbed but at weekends the pool is very busy and I wasn't convinced everyone was actually staying at the Copa. Cleaners were good and rooms comfortable but if you needed something in your room fixed you may as well forget it. Reception staff could reprogram your key but if your request involved a visit to your room it simply wouldn't happen. Depending where you go a beer is between 20 - 40 Peso and most meals are around 100 peso, not blindingly cheap but Acapulco wont break the bank.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

My 2nd time was disappointing

Posted Aug 28, 2008
Hello, I stayed at this hotel last year and I like it so much that I went back this year. However, I came back very disappointed The air conditioning in the room was very poor and I slept uncomfortably hot every night even after advising them about it. The hot water in the shower was on the other hand extremely cold!! The only thing that was as good if not even better was the cleanliness of the hotel, housekeeping, and the courtesy of room service personnel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Will stay there again

Posted Jul 4, 2008
If you want a basic clean and comfortable place it is a good hotel. It is not very luxurious, however, it is very fun and it has a great location. The dance show at the Agave Bar was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Time takes its toll

Posted Apr 11, 2008
The hotel staff didn't seem to care much that our hotel room was not ready until 5 pm (check-in is 3 pm). Pool area was small for the crowds of people that were staying there, hotel definitely shows its age in the bathrooms and pretty much everywhere if you look carefully. Hotel beach had "foam" floating on the water, so that we didn't even go to that beach. I usually don't mind some wear and tear if the staff and quality of customer service make up for it. Not the case here unfortunately. I travel a lot and I'm asked by others about places to stay. I'll certainly steer them away from Copacabana :(
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston tx

bad food, bad wine

Posted Feb 27, 2008
breakfast was good, lunch and dinner was bad. The wine was terrible. I loved the beach, good security, beautiful view. The merchants were kept away by the guards. We selected the hotel for its location, 2 stars no more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Silloth, Cumbria

A comfortable Hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2007
We really enjoyed staying at this Hotel even though it was only for two nights. Room service was fantastic and was the views of Acapulco Bay from our room (on the tenth floor). Very clean and well kept.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Texas

Room was clean, hotel was clean... would recommend.

Posted Aug 1, 2007
The only reason it's not a 4-star is because it is an older hotel. The service and personnel were 5 star.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

The hottest spot

Posted Jul 25, 2007
Good service! Rooms simple but comfortable and functional! Good food many activities withhin the hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

good middle class hotel for young people

Posted Jul 3, 2007
Located a few blocks from the restaurants, bars and clubs it takes only 3 minuts buses to go downtown. The burgers offered in the all inclusive plan are awful but the beach is nice (despite there is no much space among the chairs on the beach), the swimming wasn't that clean (a few french fries were swimming in the pool) but the price is really attractive. All roms offer a view on the sea and it's clean.