Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom c

Best option in Addis

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Overall good but busy time at hotel with a big summit taking place during our stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Hotel that shows its age

Posted Jan 11, 2015
This hotel has great friendly staff. However, it has started to show its age. A renovation is long overdue. The food becomes worse every time I visit. They can't even cook french fries the right way. The rooms are very loud both during days and nights. It's impossible to sleep. Staff fixing things 7 in the morning, someone talking with a loudspeaker at 8 in the morning, dogs barking...loud music entire weekend... You name it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

The Hilton in Addis is the place to be.

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Location, pool, exercise/spa and status of being "At the Hilton"
Cons: Room size, carpets, cost of food and drink.
Location: Central location and The Hilton Gazebo/poolside are attractions by themselves.
The warm swimming pool and atmosphere out near it are reasons to stay. The hotel needs improvement but is continually full because it is THE place to be in Addis Ababa. Until it is renovated, the cost (especially the food and drink) should be less because many things are old and need of repair.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

A nice hotel for an extended stay in Addis

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: The quality of the staff is excellent. Across the board from the security guards to the front desk people to the maids. Everyone is friendly and great
Cons: I'm looking forward to the renovations. I would also recommend that the spa be re-worked. The Desaliegn has a much nicer spa experience.
Location: The location is excellent - you can walk to Bole road easily and other neighborhoods. Taxi service isn't a problem.
This is a great place to stay for an extended visit in Addis. I spent over 20 days there with my fiancee this past December and we had a great time. The gardens and facilities are excellent for both entertaining and having business meetings. First of all lets get this out of the way - yes the rooms are a bit dated. I like many others are looking forward to the planned renovations. The rooms are probably over 40 years old. With that said they are still clean and reliable. The beds are the most comfortable I've ever slept in in Africa. The hot water is reliable and the water pressure is excellent. Addis gets cold at night but the room is always warm. Yes, there are newer hotels in Addis and nicer ones. I've stayed at them but for now I'm going to keep going back to the Hilton. The other hotels have power outages, un-reliable water pressure, and un-reliable Internet. While the Hilton Internet isn't fast it was fast enough and reliable enough for me to work for two weeks of my stay. If you have a Gold Hilton Honors membership you will find the hotel very accommodating. I stayed on the executive floor and enjoyed both a free breakfast and complimentary happy hour. I'm looking forward to staying there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom uk

Nice Hotel in Addis

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: There is a nice atmosphere.
Cons: The decor.
Location: There is lots to do in Addis. You can walk about, but we got taxis to most places. Go to Red Martyr Museum.
The Hotel is nice and in a good location. The decor is a bit dated, but is clean and well kept. Beds were comfortable, with tea coffee making facilities and they provided water in the room. There is an Iron and ironing board and hairdryer. Swimming pool is nice and the pool bar serves good food. The sauna and steam could use a refurbishment. The staff were really friendly. There is traditional coffee seller in the lobby. The taxi's can be expensive from this hotel and did not seem to know most of the places we wanted to go to. They had to stop and ask locals, so the journeys took a bit longer.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not happy at all

Posted Dec 16, 2014
No supplimentry breakfast No Supplimentaey internet No free shuttel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by JOSEF

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mikael Bomanfrom Sverige

Mycket dålig service och ganska slitet hotell

Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Mycket dålig service! Trassel vid incheckning. Hotellet hade inte koll på att jag bokat och betalt för både frukost och middag. Jag fick argumentera ganska länge för att be dem kolla i kommunikationen med Hotel.com. När de väl kollade, visade det sig att jag hade rätt. Allt var nu ok sade receptionisten. När jag och min fru sedan hade ätit middagsbuffén hade de tydligt slarvat bord den tidigare noteringen och jag fick återigen argumentera med dem igen. Denna gång tog det 45min innan de hittade bokningen och det visade sig återigen att jag hade rätt. Fick ingen ursäkt från dem och blev inte erbjuden kompensation för detta trassel. Detta hotell är uruselt för att vara ett Hilton-hotell. De varma källorna på hotellområdet är dock riktigt goa att bada i, för att hitta något positivt på slutet av denna recension.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Colinfrom dublin

my review

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay, nice atmosphere and good room. Beautiful roses all over the place but no breakfast included :( But that's probably hotels.coms fault, sorry Hilton.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2014
good hotel , different options in restaurants . great pool and poolside. there is a an option to upgrade your stay for pre-dinner and drinks that provides acccess to executive lounge. if you are in business and want a place to meet in a more private settting with some drinks this is it