Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

KZ: Addis Ababa

Posted Mar 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
Good location and a very nice retreat after 40 days of travel through Ethiopia. The hotel is close to the airport and shops and restaurants. Very comfortable bed and room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Launceston Tasmania Australia

The KZ hotel, Addis Ababa -Friendliness of service

Posted Jan 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
Our stay was made very pleasant by the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff - from check in / check out, bar staff, dining room staff, cleaning staff etc. The food was good. We were assisted in organising a brief tour of Addis Ababa with our tour guide, Sammy, doing a very professional job. We were taken to places where very few others would have the opportunity to go making it a very enjoyable trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good option near airport

Posted Jan 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
We had a quick one-night stay in Addis. The KZ is very close to Bole airport and they provide free airport transfers (though there was some confusion regarding the pickup timing, they came eventually). Hotel staff is great and rooms are very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Excellent customer

Posted Dec 19, 2011 on Hotels.com
Customer service was efficient and always with a smile. Nice clean room. Only complaint is the noise from the streets are audible in the room - some sound-proofing would have made the stay much more relaxing
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from NNJ

Just OK

Posted Dec 18, 2011 on Hotels.com
The good: it's very close to the airport; the restaurant is efficient and the food is good. The people working there are generally very nice. The not-so-good: Definitely down at the heels. I stayed in 2 different rooms on 2 different stays, and both were in significant need of refreshing (major stains in rugs, etc.). Hairdryer for some reason uses a USA-type plug, and they did not provide an adapter in one room so that the hairdryer would actually work; in the other room where an adapter was provided, I had to hold the plug in the adapter the entire time I was using the hairdryer so that it wouldn't disconnect. The first room I was given featured non-functioning Internet and phone, so they moved me to another room where both worked (although I had to whack the phone on the table in order to un-stick the receiver so I could answer the phone). On my 2nd stay (on the 7th floor), the lights in the hallway didn't work at all, which was fairly creepy. I don't have much to compare KZ to--during the rest of my time in Ethiopia I was either in the Sheraton, which is very expensive, or camping. But I did have to wonder if there was a better-value alternative than KZ in its price range.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Very good. Wouldn;t hesitate to recommend.

Posted Nov 28, 2011 on Hotels.com
Comfortable and clean with attentive service. Good location on the Bole road but traffic noise can be an issue if you're in one of the rooms facing the street. The safe didn't work and very little of the breakfast tasted of anything, however, room service was good and the genera vibe of the place was very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2011 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Abuja, Nigeria

Good basic accomodation for air travelers

Posted Nov 14, 2011
Hotels are expensive in Addis Ababa; your money doesn't seem to buy you all that much. Given that baseline reality, KZ is probably one of the best values in the city for travelers. It is minutes away from the airport. If you are at the airport it is a $10 taxi ride, including whatever airport tax they get you for. KZ has a shuttle to take you to the airport if you request it. I have stayed at KZ twice and the first time the shuttle was either being repaired or out somewhere, so I took a $5 taxi instead. In short - KZ is very convenient to airport. The room is small but neat/clean with a modern TV and reasonably modern bathroom. Most if not all rooms have windows that open to the street, which is nice to be able to look out over the neighborhood and city. There is a free breakfast. One time it was decent and the next time it was unimpressive and limited in choices. Overall the staff is very courteous and helpful. There is a wi-fi internet connection that works well most, but not all, of the time. Summary: If you are in town for more than a few days to do business, maybe go with a higher level place for a larger more comfortable room (although the cafe/lobby/bar area is pleasant), but for travelers just transferring through it is more than adequate.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kenya

Can do better

Posted May 23, 2011
I waited two hours before being given my room. At least I was offered a free breakfast. The toilet did not flush and I was provided with a hose. Not quite successful. Staff friendly and helpful and food average. Location was good for walking to town, restaurants etc. Not far from airport and free hotel transport provided. Limited TV stations, but overall it was fair. I would not recommend however the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2011 on Hotels.com