Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Will from N'Djamena, Chad

Amazing! It makes you forget your in Africa

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: It's located in a great location and the entire area is beautiful.
Cons: Nothing just keep up the good work. The only issue is communication, I was told by the staff I had free breakfast when I checked but it was not true.
Flying into Africa is always a drag but I am actually going to start looking forward to my pit stop in Addis from now on. It was great service and a wonderful hotel. The only issue I had was I was told I had free breakfast when I checked in but when I checked out that was not the case and ended up paying for two breakfast buffets. Communication is key in the service industry and hopefully that can improve over the years.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Josh from Kampala, Uganda

For special occasions

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed at the Sheraton Addis on Xmas Eve, a special occasion after traveling around Ethiopia. This is a fantastic hotel with unparalleled quality compared to anywhere else in country. Given, the rates are very high and probably a bit overpriced as would pay half this for same quality in US or Europe. But was nice occasion for us, and were able hotels.com rewards voucher, and were happy with our decision. The room was large and comfortable with lightning-fast internet (yes, this is included now in room rate) and large TV. Nice large patio overlooking the back fountain. Staff were attentive. Pool is fabulous. Several restaurants to choose from, we found very adequate as did not want to leave hotel (we had already spent several nights exploring the city). Location is convenient with effortless and free airport shuttle.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Incongruous to the rest of the surrounding

Posted Dec 9, 2013
Pros: Room ok, food not bad. Staff brilliant!
Cons: Menu, food & room rates.
At first glances, a beautiful building; floor to ceiling marble. Looks fantastic! Go to the room & it's identical to many 5* hotels you will see in many country's of the world, just double the price for a night you would pay anywhere else for a night!!! Then you have the bathrobes with holes in & towels that are ragged at the edges. Food is ok, no complaints at all. BUT, ok is the best I can say, & it's vastly over priced ( like the room rate) for what you would expect elsewhere in the world. I am assuming that, because of the hotels location (close to government, AU, UN, other international organisation HQ's, etc) that the exorbitant rates will be picked up by governments, & that is the reason for it. Travellers will go elsewhere! The staff are fantastic. You will not meet a friendly, professional staff anywhere!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Per Ronning from New York

stay for business

Posted Nov 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was disapointed since staying at the consierge lounge floor, service was really bad and slow. I would expect better and too many guests were complaining. Some guests even left since no tables were cleaned and cleared. This is not how you treat your guests paying for extra service. I will seriously considering staying at another hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

AC not working.

Posted Aug 31, 2013
AC is not working in the hotel rooms. Had to call 5 times after which we were told that there is a problem with the AC.
Comment from
Jan 8, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at the Sheraton Addis Hotel. As we are in a constant process of improvement, your feedback is highly appreciated. We regret to read that your call was not attended on time and please accept our sincerest apologies. Regarding the AC issue, we would like to inform you that we have replaced the chillers for the entire hotel during the rainy season (July/September) when the temperature is good and going forward, there will not be an AC problem. We certainly hope this experience won't deter you from staying with us on future visits to Addis Ababa. Thank you once more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sami from Toronto, Canada

Excellent stay

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: Everything: Food, availability of staff, location, decor, room comfort, availability of cheap good quality transport
Cons: The ventilation system should be cleaned once in a while. Have a more powerfull AC in the rooms
Location: The hotel has a couple of stores, bakery, restaurants, bar, club. You almost don't need to go anywhere to enjoy
The staff responded promptly to every single request I made, literally within minutes. You get the real quality for the money you pay. It's by far the best hotel in Addis. The party is awesome on saturday night at the hotel club. Literally the finest people in town come there on week ends.
Comment from
Jan 1, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experiences of Sheraton Addis hotel with others. The way you describe the facilities and service, is exactly what we strive to provide every guest of Sheraton. We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Addis Ababa. Sheraton Addis Management Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for.

Posted Aug 11, 2013
Luxurious hotel. Airport has a free shuttle and coordinator on standby at airport when your flight arrives. If you sit in the lobby for drinks, ensure the staff sees you enter and sit down or they will pretty much pass you over. Service is great once they know you're there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

An Oasis in Addis

Posted May 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very well located, on the border of town. The hotel is like a haven in Addis. Broad range of restaurants and bars. The staff is overly friendly, I definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jodi K.

The most luxurious hotel in Ethiopia

Posted Feb 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is expensive for a reason - it is the most luxurious in Ethiopia - but they have a bit to learn. The check-in process is awkward and we waited a long time because of it. We were also kept waiting for massages however the hotel is beautiful and once you are there you never want to go beyond the gates again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

sort of thumbs up

Posted Jan 25, 2013
Pros: the pool
Cons: the food
A nice hotel by Ethiopian standards but not the best by American standards.