Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location if you want to stay N of the Piaza

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: Location. Safe in room.
Cons: Could use some renos
Location: Mercato, Good coffee (and roasted beans) across street. Tons of sights..
Decent place. Decent rate when on sale. Hotel staff are a bit shy but nice. Good location (near all the sights up in the north end of town). You need to call for airport pick-up (they didnt reply to emails).
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jean Paulfrom Dubai

beds too hard, shower hot water not good, poor Gym

Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
my stay was ok, surprised that hotel does not offer water for the breakfast buffet. customer need to pay for that!!! credit card machine not operating 100%...overall was ok as people are very friendly and respectful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view of Arada

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Cheap and cheerful with fridge n TV, free internet - had all facilities just not as spotless as much more expensive hotels
Cons: general upgrade
Location: Not central but easy access to all areas
Good value for money, always felt safe, buffet breakfast included, airport pick-up and drop off welcome
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Terjefrom Norway

Best value in Addis

Posted Mar 21, 2014
I've been to Addis many times, and currently this is the hotel that gives you about the best value for money. The eggs for the breakfast are overboiled, and I am overall not fond of the breakfast meal, but apart from that, this is a good hotel with spotless cleaning and good service. Transport to and from airport is a pro, but one sometimes has to call when arriving at the airport to make sure they are there (I have stayed at the hotel four times). I will come again. There is now wireless Internet connection on every floor (two connection points on each floor).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Manquait juste le wifi

Posted Dec 26, 2013
Hôtel correct pour 55 € à Addis, manquait juste le wifi à mon étage !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Wfrom Switzerland

Nice, clean hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: Free airport shuttle, clean rooms, decent internet connection
Location: Was a bit removed from the center of the city, during rush hour it took a long time to get anywhere, but outside of rush hour, the distance wasn't bad
The Soramba Hotel is very nice. My room was very clean when I arrived and thoroughly cleaned each day. The restaurant served good food, and the wifi in the lobby/wired internet in the room ranged from being decent to excellent. And the free airport shuttle was a great bonus! The only drawback is that the hotel is quite removed from the rest of the city. The purpose of my travel was business, which was located a couple kilometers from the Soramba. Addis traffic around rush hour is a nightmare, and it often took up to 30 minutes to go a few km.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brianfrom Basrah, Iraq

Potential For Greatness

Posted Nov 5, 2013
Pros: The staff was friendly & helpful, the food in the restaurant was good (except for breakfast), and the room & bed were very comfortable.
Cons: See above comments regarding Wi-Fi. Also, breakfast was just awful and isn't really free. Juices & omelettes will cost you extra.
Location: Taxis to & from the Bole area ran me anywhere from 150 to 200 birr. The Piazza area is a short walk away, past the King Menelik statue.
First things first, I stayed at this hotel from October 9th - 17th. More than once, I expressed my disappointment with management regarding the false advertising of Wi-Fi being available in the rooms. I asked them to contact Expedia and have that amenity removed. I have waited this long to write the review in hopes that Soramba (with Expedia's help) would do the right thing and remedy this situation. But as of November 5th, 2013 at 11:03pm (GMT +3), the hotel still lists the following... Under Room Amenities, it has "Free Wi-Fi". Under Internet, it has "Available in all rooms - Free Wi-Fi". This is a lie. False advertisement. Wi-Fi is only avalaible in the lobby, restaurant, & bar. There is wired access to internet in the rooms. Hope this helps other travelers who need to be connected to the web make a decision. Other than that, I had a pretty decent stay. I did leave a comment card with the hotel upon my departure mentioning my disappointment with their false advertising and also the need for breakfast to be upgraded dramatically. Other than those two things, I can't think of anything else to complain about. The room was clean & comfortable. The balcony was convenient. The selection of food for lunch, dinner, and late meals was truly international & delicious.
1 out of 5
by mikefrom london

The bed is like sleeping on a rock

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Pros: Don't like it at all
Cons: Change the staff attitude and tell manager to not to be on top of customers. Every room should have wireless and get more channels on TV
Location: Nothing to do apart from the coffee shops
The food were not good and nothing to choice from, internet connection is worst place in the world. The restaurant manager won't leave you to eat your food it's like prison. The tv had four channels two news and one channel 2 and one Arab My experience on that hotel was treble
3 out of 5
Recommended
by SOLOMON ADELAJAfrom HOUSTON TEXAS

Posted Oct 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stay was uncomfortable because of NO WI-FI or broadband connection in the rooms and very poor WI-FI in the lobby. INTERNET CONNECTION IS THE MAJOR & ONLY PROBLEM.