Ratings based on 660 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Australia

Very central in the city

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Closeness to many attractions and restaurants.
Location: Adelaide Museum, Adelaide Zoo, short walk to the Festival Centre, Convention Centre and Casino (if so desired).
Travelling from the country to attend the Adelaide Fringe, we found the hotel very close to where we needed to be. The Garden of Unearthly Delights was fantastic! My friends and I have a terrific time taking in many shows and sampling foods and drinks that were on offer. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland, N.Z.

Excellent location in Adelaide city

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: The location
Location: Location was great to Rundle Mall - heaps of shopping. The Central markets are close. Trams and buses are easy to use. There is a free bus.
Great shopping, weather and temperature was lovely. Heaps of restaurants. Walked heaps. Great time to go as they had the Adelaide festival in full swing. Went on a day bus tour which we thought was a bit boring. Caught a local bus to Handorf, a German town, and loved it. Caught tram to Glenelg Beach - that was a lovely place for the beach, restaurants and shopping. We all had a very relaxing time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Christies Beach

Excellent location. Central to all city activities

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: The bed was very comfy. Loved the lighting in the hallways at night. Excellent coffee downstairs at the restaurant.
Cons: The wait when booking in was about 10 minutes as there were a few people in front of me and only one attendant at the counter.
Location: Adelaide Fringe, Womad, Central Markets, Botanic Gardens, Zoo, shopping in Rundle Mall, all in walking distance.
Stayed here during the Adelaide Fringe. Easy walk to Rundle St and surrounds. Had a beautiful morning walking around city and botanic gardens. Came back for a quick nap to recharge the batteries. The hotel was quiet and easy to sleep in the afternoon. We were on the 3rd floor.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Great Location, Great Staff, Two Major Problems

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: The location, the staff, the lobby and restaurant areas, the view from the room.
Cons: Until they fix that generator, over 50% of the hotel is unliveable. And they need to get rid of the "eco-rate" or be clearer about it up front.
Location: Hindmarsh Square is extremely pretty and in the heart of the CBD but more towards the entertainment end, really close to Rundle Mall and The East End.
Mantra Hindmarsh Square is in the perfect Adelaide CBD location with a very pleasant outlook. The staff are extremely pleasant and the lobby area and SQ restaurant are very nice. But two things really compromise this hotel. The first is that, upon arrival, I was told my room was "eco-rate". This was not on any of my expedia documentation, my itinerary, on the website when I booked, anywhere. So no cleaning, and I was staying for 16 days. I was told upon arrival that I could pay $40 for a clean or that if not I'd get a clean every three days. By the fifth day - no cleaning - I complained, loudly enough I suppose to force a cleaning. Then no more cleaning until the night before I left! When you're staying sixteen nights, this is bonkers. Worse, though, is a fundamental problem the likes of which I've never encountered in any other hotel. There is a generator that makes a very loud noise similar to an alarm about 60% of the time. This can be heard plainly and clearly from the 4th floor up. I was on the 7th floor and it was headache-inducing, sleep-disturbing - a nightmare. The hotel did acknowledge the problem, said they could not do a thing about it, and did offer to swap me down to Level 2 - but only if I moved that very instant, which I couldn't do. So I dealt with it. But it's an incredibly serious problem, as there is no way you're in a "peace and quiet" environment - it sounds like an alarm is constantly going off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

Great Hotel in the city

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Everything
The staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. The service was great and I really enjoyed the stay. The room was very clean and the facilities were excellent. Great place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Very narrow two bedrooms with only one bath room. Very small living room. Very old carpet, very poor maintenance. Not a great place for the price and brand
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again!

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: locaation
Cons: 90% of eveything
Location: Rundle mall
I read a handful of reviews on Trip advisor before booking this place and now I am beginning to question the validity of Trip advisor? My wife and two children(17 & 20) arrived for a 3 night stay as we travelled from Sydney to watch the India v Pakistan world cup cricket on the Sunday. We thought as it was our first trip to Adelaide we would make a long weekend of it. Cons: 1. To use the hotel car park was $21.00 per night which was no dramas but they do not tell you about the 200 meter walk back after you have parked up. You do have the option however to use the valet service for an extra $9.00 per night. The 2 bed apartment is the smallest I have seen. A kitchen area is so small to call it a kitchenette would be kind. Only just enough plates and glasses etc. to get buy. A small fridge which I had to ask 6 times before they emptied it with their stuff so I could put in my stuff. Neither bedrooms have windows and are totally blacked out. The lounge does not have enough seating for 4 people. I rang specifically a week earlier to ask for a high level room facing the park yet I got a2nd floor room facing the car park which was noisy all the time. To get anything done like asking for a few extra glasses takes at least 4/ 5 attempts. They kept saying they were busy but surely they knew months in advance that a massive cricket match was taking place that weekend and it was the Fringe festival too...poor excuses all the time. This place is not cheap if you want a drink or some food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane Australia

Good location in the CBD

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Spacious - comfortable for two single people with bikes
Cons: Better kitchen provisions, eg cutting board, washing up clothes and detergents
Location: Close proximity to Rundle Street shopping mall, restaurants, Adelaide Central Markets, good coffee shops and the Town Down Under Village
Hit Adelaide for the Town Down Under and was looking for a well located, comfortable apartment to setup for the week. The apartment was everything we needed, comfortable, modern with friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S.A.

Good hotel in CBD

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: Comfortable bed and room with convenient and reasonable cost council carpark close by.
Location: On Hindmarsh Square with easy access to Adelaide Oval and other entertainment facilities such as CBD shopping, museum, library, art gallery, zoo.
Attended the big bash cricket and the last day of the Tour Down Under cycling event
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, great price

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: The price was very reasonable, the beds were comfy and the location great.
Cons: The ambience, it is a typical/sterile chain hotel. The staff don't have much personality and the A/C wasn't great, room was a tiny bit warm/stuffy
Location: Mantra is centrally located to everything in the CBD. We saw the build up to the Tour Down Under, checked out Rundle Mall & partied on Hindley Street.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite at the Mantra over the weekend and found the hotel to be well located and excellently priced. The hotel was as you would expect for a chain hotel, very much a cookie cutter special but for us it did what we needed.