Ratings based on 372 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

mercure grosvenor adelaide

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: closeness to the shops and pick up point for tours.
Location: great location
a bit disappointed with the distance from our room to the lifts. we tried to upgrade but there was no available room. the room is very small, especially the bathroom where only one could fit in at a time, but we managed because we were there for only a short time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wellington

Nice and handy hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Close to Adelaide attractions
Cons: Cheaper food in the restaurant
Location: Adelaide Oval, Rundle Mall, Casino, Musuem, tram outside the door, rail station over the road
Enjoyable stay, staff very friendly and helpful..rooms clean and tidy with all that you need
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vic

Nice hotel with easy access to everything

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Great clean facilities and friendly staff. Pity in cost an extra $18.00 per day to use undercover parking facilities .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2014
Good day Rach, Thank you for your review. I will pass your comment about the cleaning onto the Housekeeping staff, it will certainly inspire them. We always offer options for guests to park there cars in nearby parking stations, however in most cases these are a lot more expensive for overnight parking. There is also street parking, but certainly not the best option in a city to leave a car parked overnight. Hope this does not deter you from coming back to Adelaide and staying again at The Mercure. Regards, Cameron General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wollongong

worst room Ive ever stayed in, in my life!

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Check out!
Cons: Everything!
Location: Good location close to everything! so was the park bench across the Rd! Id opt for that next time!
The room was the size of a queen size bed! I had to crawl over my partner to get out of bed! The bathroom had a see through door! NO PRIVACY when using the toilet! The bathroom bench only mirror in the room was over the toilet you had to stand on to do your face and hair. The shower was so chlosterphobic was the width of a person sideways. Airconditiong was on high with no control. The glass of water I left on the bench was almost boiling by morning.The room was full of dust that gave me athsma. The room was furthest down the corridor, past the exit next to the janitors room, in fact I thought they had mistakenly given us the wrong key! When I bought this to the attention of the hotel staff, I was told that is the room. WHOS 4 Stars are they counting! It was deplorable! I would never ever ever recommend this hotel, not ever
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from England

Great central location.

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Ideal for city break. Central location next to railway station and trams (free in city centre).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2014
Thank you David, Thank you for your review. I agree the free city trams are very handy. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Regards, Cameron, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms
Location: Great location
The rooms are so small with no air conditioning feels like a sauna, bathrooms are so small 1 person barley fits in at a time,
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. Apologies that your stay was not suited for your stay. I highly recommend booking into one of our standard rooms or above the next time you stay in Adelaide, the rooms are a lot larger than the economy rooms. We hope to welcome you back again real soon. Regards, Cameron General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by yvie from new zealand

Close to Central Adelaide.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: Get rid of the cigarette butts outside the front doors.
Location: Se above
Found the location soooo good. A stones throw from the Adelaide Oval, transport, trams buses trains. Great eating places close by and shopping...well what can I say. 5 minutes from your room to the Malls. Older hotel but who can complain if you are so central to the city and you only need a bed to sleep on at night. Stayed twice, each room different. Budget rooms are basic (1) stay (2) stay more up market, but hey it was just to sleep. Ablutions clean and functional. Would definitely stay there again. Staff very helpful, efficient and welcoming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2014
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! Thank you also for the cigarette butt thought, I have already passed this feedback onto the Food & Beverage Manager to ensure his team are keeping a closer eye on this space. We certainly hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Cameron (GM)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to city.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Our room was nicely decorated and comfortable. The bathroom was slightly small and the window looked over dirty roofs and other window.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2014
Thank you for your review I enjoyed reading your review, and thank you for the 4 stars. I will certainly get someone to take a look at the ceiling and windows of the room you were in. Hope to see you back again soon. Sincerely, Cameron, GM
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel of convenience.

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Central to city, entertainment centre and comfortable.
Cons: Your own heating and cooling controls.
Location: Great for city location and entertainment centre and tram rides.
Two day stay here was adequate for our connection to the city and entertainment centre. We took an upgrade because the economy rooms were too small. The room was clean and comfortable but cooling and heating was not operable from inside the room, controls only operated intensity of heat or cold depending on what the central control elsewhere was on. This made it difficult because the rooms were on heat and we couldn't change it to cooling. The restaurant on the ground floor was good for meals although some may think the prices were expensive. Continental breakfast too expensive, you would need to eat a lot to get your money's worth.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2014
Thank you for your review, Pleased to read that the hotel looked after you and got you assigned a larger room, and that you found it clean and comfortable. We appreciate your feedback about the restaurant, and we will certainly look into when we next review our menu's. We hope to welcome you back again very soon. Regards, Cameron General Manager
2 out of 5
by Roland from Melbourne

Hotel very disappointing but in a great location

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Location, despite conditions, staff were very pleasant and helpful. Couldn't upgrade to a better room as there was a convention and hotel fully booked
Cons: Just about everything to do with the "budget Room" could be improved, at least carpet would be a nice touch!
Location: Tram and train out the front, one block to Mall, Festival Centre and football stadium across the road, Casino opposite
Hotel was ordinary, booked twin room (I now know to be considered "Budget Room") had to walk at least 80 metres from lift to room. No carpet on floor, bathroom so small you could not imagine it without seeing yourself. Bathroom had a sliding door which did not come flush with wall, so large gap either side of door, no privacy. Motel would have been cheaper and more comfortable, but the location of the hotel suited our requirements 100%. Would look at Stamford next time
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2014
Dear Roland, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Cameron General Manager