Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cheshire

Relax and enjoy

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: Location, good design of the classic 1970 building, furniture, decor, excellent staff , clean, comfortable. The owner was always present to be of help
Cons: None, as any individual request had a positive response.
Location: Apollo hotel is in a quiet setting, but not isolated. The most amazing thing about its location is its access to the Temple Aphaea , an absolute must.
The hotel is situated in a quiet bay away from the main port of Aegina , but within a few minutes walk from a village with a number of taverna/restaurants. We only went once to eat away from the hotel, as the food and service at the Apollo was so good and very similar priced that we preferred to eat there. The view from the veranda of the hotel is beautiful, as is the view from the front rooms , the back rooms overlook the hotels own pine forest. It was so relaxing to eat, drink, chat and read. The swimming pool is sea water and is very clean and a good size. Sea swimming is from a few steps from the rocks at the foot of the hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frimley Green, Surrey. UK

Apollo Hotel, Agia Marina, Aegina Island, Greece

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: Friendly, welcoming staff. Good service, clean, but a bit dated. Beds a bit on the hard side, typical Greek. Free, fast WiFi throughout the site.
Cons: Some modernisation perhaps, but the economic climate probably can't justify it at the moment. Some typical Greek dishes on the menu would be nice.
Location: Agia Marina is a short stroll away as is the main beach. Sites include the temple of Aphea, the village of Perdika, Paleochora and Aegina town.
My wife and I first visited this hotel for our honeymoon in 1975. This year, 2015, we returned to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary in the same hotel. The welcome was fantastic. They sent the Hotel mini-bus across the Island to pick us up and parked right at the bottom of the gangway of the ferry. The driver greeted like long lost friends and told us that he had been instructed to give us the VIP treatment. We were the only guests on the transfer. The hotel check-in was the smoothest ever. The receptionist welcomed us and handed us the room key. Asked if they wanted to see our passports, "No, we know who you are!" Being off season, as the high season now doesn't start until June because of the economic situation, we had the hotel almost to ourselves on some days. The staff were friendly, attentive but not intrusive. The rooms were cleaned every day and the service was first rate. We were greeted in the room by a lovely bouquet of flowers and a bottle of bubbly in an ice bucket (which I had ordered) as well as a plate of hand-made greek chocolates as a gift from the hotel. At the end of our stay, we were driven back to the ferry in a private car as we had to leave at 6:45 to catch the early ferry. Overall, the staff were wonderful. The original owners who built the hotel in 1971 were on site and came and chatted most days. We had a wonderful and memorable time there and are already thinking about going back at the end of the summer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East coast usa

Efficient hotel in a beautiful bay

Posted Sep 23, 2014
A very clean hotel built in the 1970s but maintained. . A great outdoor dining terrace facing the sea with a salt water pool. I will go back next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by efi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pembrokeshire, Wales, UK

Beautiful island location

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The views were amazing and snorkelling was great fun in the crystal clear waters of the bay.
Cons: The rooms could do with modernising.
Location: On the seafront and within walking distance of the Temple of Aphia, the hotel runs a free shuttle bus from the port of Agia Marina.
The hotel is situated overlooking the harbour of Agia Marina and the views over the sea are particularly beautiful. The hotel has its own rocky outcrop adjacent to the sea where my girlfriend and I snorkelled and swam. The hotel's restaurant was very nice, the staff extremely friendly and we ate there each night of our stay. My only critisicm of the restaurant was that they were slightly inflexible about meal times and on our last night we were unable to order pudding and the lights were simply switched off around us. The room was perfectly okay but they only provide twin beds which was not ideal for a couple. The bath was not as clean as we would have liked and the sheets were not changed over the course of our five night stay. The hotel is within walking distance of the Temple of Aphia which made for a worthwhile visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan from Den Haag

Uitstekend hotel en zeer gastvrij en vriendelijk

Posted May 1, 2014
Prachtig uitzicht, uitstekend ontbijt kortom een echte aanrader!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by nordary from Istanabul

Everything was perfect!

Posted Sep 14, 2013 on Hotels
Everything was perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from USA

Hotel with spectacular views.

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Pros: Rooms are clean and spacious. Great ocean views everywhere. Food reasonably priced. Great places to swim in the ocean right below the hotel.
Cons: Only negative is that the beds are hard which is common in European hotels.
Location: During the summer there are lots of shops, cafes, restaurants, and activity in walking distance. The hotel also offers great meals and entertainment.
i have stayed at several hotels on this island and this is by far the best one. Staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful. Love this hotel and this island. Will return for sure!
3 out of 5
by Jason from Alaska

Great setting, mediocre hotel.

Posted Jul 22, 2013
The Hotel Apollo is located just outside of Ag. Marina on the island of Aegina. It's a wonderful setting, with the clear blue waters lapping along the rocks below the hotel. It's about a 3/4 mile - 1 mile walk from the ferry dock. This can be taxing if hauling luggage in the heat of the day. The hotel staff was courtesy, but did not go out of their way to ensure a pleasant stay. The meals at the hotel and the restaurants we ate at in Ag. Marina were disappointing. It seems like we could feel Greece's economic problems more on the island than we did in Athens' Plaka district. That said, the view, the swimming and hiking was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pernille from Copenhagen

Smuk udsigt og badning fra klipperne

Posted Jul 18, 2013 on Hotels
Apollo hotel ligger super smukt! Og hotellet har ege 'klippestrand' hvor du kan springe og snorkle i det klare vand. Receptionisterne var utroligt søde, venlige, smilende og hjælpsomme. Ham der passede baren var knap så loveable. Der er ret lydt og værelset var ret gammelt. Men vores værelse (nr. 335) havde en vildt smuk udsigt. Dobbeltsengen er to sammensatte senge, hvilket ikke er så komfortabelt på en kæresteferie :) Morgenmaden har jeg også fået bedre på andre hoteller, men den er ok. Vi vil bestemt komme tilbage til hotellet, hvis vi kommer forbi Aegina igen!!