Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Over Priced

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: its a very big property and the landscape was amazing..
Cons: all good and should have give free internet service like most 5 star hotel do..
Location: great location with free suttle service to Taj Mahal
Overall stay was good. but i dont understand why i have to pay US 530.00 per/night and only given 30 min internet services. The hotel was dead and during lunch there were only us in the restorant. but the food was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, but overpriced

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: THE VIEWS OF THE TAJ!
Location: Amazing location with unbeatable views of the Taj.
The hotel is lovely. Room had an amazing view of the Taj Mahal, and the lobby and grounds are beautiful. However for the price, it is not worth it - you can stay in hotels just as luxurious for half the price. Astounded that guests are required to pay for wifi when even $20 guesthouses provided free wifi!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stunning view, everything else needs work

Posted Nov 20, 2013
Service at restaurants was abysmal. Clear distinction between the male staff (who were borderline incompetent) and female staff (who were effective). Rooms could use a makeover. Otherwise, view is unmatched.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peter from England

The best way to experience the Taj Mahal

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: Location, location, location!! Also, it's a fabulously stylish hotel with all staff in full traditional Indian dress to add to the atmosphere.
Cons: Just one complaint - the kettle in our room didn't work but fortunately we had a travel kettle that did.
Location: The location speaks for itself!
There's no doubt about it - watching the Taj Mahal slowly appearing out of the morning mist whilst sitting on your balcony drinking coffee and listening to water below gently cascading with the sound of bird song is an experience not to be missed. A room at the Oberoi is the only way to do this in opulent style. Not being very wealthy we were hesitant about committing to a night at the Oberoi but we thought as we'd gone to the expense to get to the Taj we should indulge ourselves for a night, and we didn't regret it one bit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dave from Telford

Superb stay

Posted Oct 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautiful hotel with pleasant staff. All rooms face the Taj Mahal, but not all have balconies, something you may wish to consider. Pool lovely, beatiful room. Interestingly the staff do not accept tips, but you can leave a tip in the tip box. The hotel, like all luxuory hotels, is shielded from the local community by security guards and gates. Has shuttle t the Taj gate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Greg

Incredible View of the Taj

Posted Oct 3, 2013
We made the right decision to stay at this hotel. A beautiful view of the Taj Mahal from the balcony and room. The hotel provides a complimentary golf cart ride to the Taj Mahal. Staff is incredibly welcoming and helpful. The pool area is very well done and very comfortable oasis. The rooms are a little bit dated but well appointed and comfortable. Wonderful stay!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Vibhu S. from Gurgaon

The best of Agra

Posted Aug 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
The best hotel in Agra...a sublime experience...even though the stay was not long, the staff, the property and the aura have all been very well thought of and executed. One can make the best of her/ his trip by staying at Amarvilas...no stone was left unturned to ensure a memorable stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by howard from Toronto, ON, Canada

exquisite

Posted Jul 18, 2013
Exquisite in every way. Surrounded by aesthetic beauty and the most polite and courteous people you will ever meet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Texas

Beautiful hotel, staff engaging and helpful

Posted Jul 8, 2013
Pros: Service was excellent
Location: Taj Mahal viewed from the room
wonderful experience from greeting to departure, lovely dining, great view of the Taj Mahal from the room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Selin from switzerland

Better than heaven!

Posted Jul 1, 2013
A part from being a beautiful hotel with splendid interor design, tasteful and luxuriously appointed rooms, the oberoi amarvillas offers the best experience in service and feeling totally taken care of. They really made sure all my requests/wishes were realized: they waited for me at least 1h at bus stop when i arrived, had nice fresh wet towel waiting for me in the car, they organised quickly a car to go to fathepur sikri, the driver even asked me permission to remove his cap (total white uniform) and if he could use the horn (only way to drive in india). Moreover, i had requested them to organise agra-delhi train ticket for me pretty last minute and the ticket was waiting for me when i got to the hotel. But probably the best is that they let me keep my room until i left for train station (past 7pm!!) with no charges as they didnt have a booking, and someone from hotel accompagnied me to the station, waited with me for train (even though delayed by 50mins), and refused to leave before making sure i was seated on the train & my luggage loaded. I wont comment further on the food, bar and spa, everything was just perfect!