Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom charlotte nc

OMG...Hotel rooms dirty and no heat IN ROOM

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Room had wall paper and curtain falling down Plus blanket was dirty. Can deal with that but we had no heat and maintenence staff would not be back until the morning. Room was freezing cold. I have pictures if Expedia wants to see them. Remove this hotel from your listing please.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia PA

Run down place

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: The surrounding town
Cons: Everything about the facility - needs painting and cleaning.
Location: Golf and horses! some really good restaurants
They didnt have our reservation whne we went to check in but were able to find the email from expedia - still took them an hour to figure it out, we had to go to the bar and wait. The entire place was quite run down. the ladies bathroom had a dirty toilet that still had the same dirt spot 2 days later! the breakfast was completely unappetizing - we didnt eat anyt he first day, we went out. The second day we were in a hurry and the breakfast bar was out of certain things despite it being only 8am! No sign of anyone to refill. The mens room on the ground floor in the morning had broken beer bottles on the floor and in the toilet from the party the night before. We told the front desk staff and they acted like it was not big deal, happened all the time and the cleaners would be there in a bit. Such a shame that a hotel that must have once been quite grand has gotten to this state, especially in the heart of such a lovely town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Too old and need to be maintained. For breakfast, there was nothing to eat...too poor menu.I'm not going to staying at this hotel any night in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom greenville sc

Rundown historic building!

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Great location in a beautiful small town! Hotel is in sad shape. Needs repairs, needs paint, needs to be cleaned! Staff was friendly and helpful but not very professional! This could be a crown jewel in a great sleepy southern town!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Georgia

Nice hotel, middle of historical district

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: It was clean, polite and helpful staff, withiin walking distance to a variety of places.
Cons: The elevator
Location: Located in the middle of the historic district, so there are plenty of things to do and places to eat within walking distance.
Although I only stayed one night. It was a pleasurable experience. The room was very clean. Bathrooms were clean. Bed slept well. And the staff was polite and helpful. The only thing that I didn't like was that unless you had a staff person to operate the elevator for you, you had to take the stairs. And I was on the third floor. Even so, I would still return to the Hotel Aiken the next time that I visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Lyons Ga

Downtown Hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Nice location. It is definitely an older hotel. Supposedly had a fire in the main building recently. Our room was in the outer section. Was in need of some serious repairs/updating. Bed box springs were broken. For the $49 it got us a few hours of sleep.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lauriefrom Atlanta, Ga

Weekly traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Was really excited to stay in a historical hotel. Got in very late and requested a very quite room. Was informed that there would be no one at the front desk after 11:00. Got in my room and settled in, noticed toothpaste in the sink, hair on the floor and in the tub but of course by this time there was no one at the front desk..Turned the TV off and went to bed but the music from the nightclub kept me awake until they closed at 2:am. I will never stay there again! Very disappointed!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom fulton, ms

Loved the Tiki bar!

Posted Nov 5, 2014
We booked our room last minute on the way home from the beach. I loved the location. Very eclectic. And the hotel bars were fabulous. The hotel is older and they love telling you about the history of the place. We had the complimentary breakfast as we checked out and was suprised to find a hot breakfast, not just the typical juice and donuts. It was a very lively place with lots of locals at the bar. Would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jason

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com