Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Be aware of what this property is....

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The pool and spa were nice. Massage. Outcall to your room, Chris I highly recommend. His info is at front desk.
Cons: CLEAN! if something is that dirty or soiled it should be changed over. I can't believe how soiled/stained everything was.
Location: 10-15 to Airlie Beach central. Woolies, restaurants all close.
So, my advice be aware of what this property is. It's not a full service hotel. If you like talking to a person you can only do that 9-5. If you arrive later then 5 you will have to make calls to check in. Most people that go to the area are on full day excursions so if you have concerns it will be bit tougher to make contact. Now, the property. Good placement bout 10-15 walk to central Airlie beach. If you have excursions from the harbour take advantage of their pick up and drop off as it's a distance to walk. Whitsundays tour company was in the process of moving Sept that that will be a lot more convenient as it's a short walk. ( I recommend them ) The property condition:DIRTY!! Walls, floor, carpet, furniture and blankets were all stained and obviously not look after well.Kitchen supplies are minimal. Gym, though nice some machines are broken. The kids play room, considering the lack of cleanness of the rooms I would not suggest letting kids use the stuff as I doubt it's ever been cleaned. Heater, my travel partner was cold. The heater would turn on and off every 2 mins, very annoying when trying to sleep. Overall cleanness of property, DIRTY. We stayed 5 nights. Not once did we see someone clean the common areas. We used to lower parking structure and it was DIRTY the whole time, stains, dirt just wasn't ever cleaned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Make sure you can climb steep driveways!

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The deck, deck furniture and view.
Cons: Most of the noise we generated and heard from other units was caused by moving the dining chairs. Felt pads under the legs would eliminate that.
New building, nicely appointed, well maintained, short walk to town. There are only 2 negatives: - the hotel is on a hill, and the driveways are so steep that tour or airport transport will not go up them. - the TV in the living room is mounted on a wall that is quite far from the couch.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Qld

Good place to stay

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Lovely views across the new marina. Visits from cockatoos. Reception staff very helpful.
Cons: Update/refresh the furniture and decor in rooms.
Location: Located just 10mins from central area so keep in mind when tired and still need dinner..... Buses very good.
Nice place to stay just outside main shopping area, about 10min walk. Public transport very good with bus top at bottom of street. Resort is at top of steep driveway so tour buses don't come up so you have to meet on street. Room was fairly comfy but experienced ants constantly in kitchen and dishwasher leaked on kitchen floor. Lifts pretty noisy as bedroom close to it. Unfortunately the spa thermostat was broken and we didn't get to use spa. Needed another blanket for bed and this was provided promptly. Cockatoos visit in morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Victoria

Excellent accommodation, great location

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Stayed a week at Blue Horizon and was very happy with everything...Short walk into Airlie Beach or a very good bus service almost on your doorstep. Staff were very helpful and courteous and there is a fantastic pool onsite as well...had no trouble with noise apart from my last night, when a very vocal group of "yobbos" swore loudly and played loud music on returning from a nightclub...3am till sunrise...All in all a wonderful place to stay and I would highly recommend it to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Close to Airlie Beach

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Nice pool, hot tub and BBQ area.
Cons: Free hotel shuttle.
Great hotel not too far walk from Airlie Beach town. Front desk guy Sayhil was very friendly and helped booked our Great Barrier trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Educational Director

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Di from Geelong

Love Airlie!

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Airlie Beach is a great location and blue horizon was the perfect place to stay. Lovely rooms and short walk into town, views over the new marina. Recommend Airlie and blue horizons for your next holiday
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Matt from Wisconsin

Dirty and disgusting

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a no service rental. They provide nothing. You have to pay for towels and toilet paper. The concierge is only there 6 hours a day. The room was covered in stains. On the bed sheets, on the carpeting, on the towels. The couch was particularly disgusting. When we complained they said all the rooms were like that and there was nothing they could do. Also there was a weird window that went from the shower to the middle of the living room so everyone can watch you shower... This is not a resort by any stretch of the imagination. It's a dirty 1 star hostel that only has private rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
not a bad place to stay, need more of a kitchen. lounge was filthy/stained, not sure, but not clean and not comfortable. tv didn't work, basin got clogged.... though they fixed it quickly for us.