Ratings based on 349 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from smithfield, va

Great!

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Everything except breakfast.
Cons: BREAKFAST!
Everything was really good except the free breakfast. Really lousy for a hotel of this class.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Beautiful location - very conveniently located.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The view of the President's Wives Library right across the street.
Cons: Parking
Location: Located right downtown Canton.
Very nice room, extremely comfortable beds. Swimming pool was not heated and the hot tub was being repaired. We had to go up one floor for ice. The dining area was beautiful - large and comfortable. Nice breakfast selections - very nice wait staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reservation Issue

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Reserved a two double bed room on Expedia and was bumped to a king room on check-in. Had to argue profusely with the hotel clerk to honor my request as I was traveling with my daughter and do not like to share a bed with her when I shouldn't have to. He kept saying that he didn't have a two double-bed to give me and my argument was that I was confirmed a two double bed, I asked for a two double bed and since it is 5pm there should still be some empty two double beds waiting for late check ins . I am here now so switch someone up and give me what I asked and was confirmed. He then said to me that he would then have to deal with the same issue with someone else later and I proceeded to ask him why it's OK to deal with me in this manner now?....the fact that I booked through Expedia?! I finally got the room I reserved and everything was quite nice, but we were low maintenance spending most of the day out of the hotel at the Civic Center. On other points, we ate there last year and it seemed slow and sub-par. We didn't eat there this year for that reason. No refrigerators or microwaves so at least take a cooler.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Location
After the remodel is over this hotel has a chance of becoming great
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgetown, Texas

Hotel in an abandoned downtown

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Housekeeping was the greatest thing about this hotel. They were the only staff members that were consistently friendly. One waitress went above and beyond too. Rooms were old and beds very uncomfortable. When you walked out of the hotel, nothing but homeless people. Not the worst but definitely will not stay there again next year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Hotel is good but service was not good

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Saturday, June 28, 2014 I got back to the hotel at about 3 PM, very tired, went up to the 6th floor, walked down the hallway, tried my key card, and it didn't work - even though it was never near a cell phone, etc. Went back down to the lobby, told the man at the front desk that my key didn't work and he said, "did it work this morning", and I told him I didn't try it when I left the room. He acted like I was inconveniencing him, and never said anything like "I'm sorry it didn't work" or "I'm sorry you had to make another trip down to the lobby". If he had simply said, "I'm sorry", it would have avoided the compound effect of a frustrating experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Staff makes the difference!

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Convenient to things we were doing.
Cons: It needs a little facelift here and there; some furniture, drapes, room chairs.
Location: Very historic area, beautiful buildings, old architecture, First Ladies Museum, Hall of Fame, Downtown art and music events, golf.
We were in town for a wedding and other guests stayed here too. The hotel was sold out for the weekend and busy with weddings both nights we stayed. In addition, The Canton Blues Festival was taking place and this hotel was just two blocks away. The hotel is older, and slightly worn, but the room was clean and the staff, from front desk to housekeeping, couldn't have been nicer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Calcutta

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, great breakfast, location and beautiful history maintained.
Cons: Facility in working condition and extra linen
Location: Museum, local historic landmarks, dinning, festivals
Staff was A Anthony at main desk star employee. However, disappointed that bath plug was broken which allowed shower only and there was no extra linen.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sylvia from Orlando, FL

Nice hotel located heart of down town.

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: The rooms were large and clean. The beds were very comfortable.
Cons: Find a way for customers to park without a daily charge.
First time stay at hotel and was very pleased with staff especially front desk staff. Arrived very late at night for check in due to delay flight cause by bad weather and the front desk staff greeted me with a warm smile and made sure I have everything I needed to be comfortable. The staff in the pub area were very friendly and even assist with taking your order for breakfast. Hotel setting is the background of an old rustic vintage style.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Armand from New York

A Nice stay

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: the air conditioning was balanced just right for a comfortable night sleep.
Cons: The table / desk had some minor dents but nothing bad.....
Location: Visit to football hall of fame and Amish country tour.......experience another life style different than my own
Room was clean and staff was friendly. The lobby and dining areas were pleasant and relaxing. Reception was welcoming and friendly....I would recommend to a friend and plan on staying again.