Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

This hotel is in Alajuelita not Escazu

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The view of San Jose...that's the best thing really.
Cons: Everything from signage to better blankets in the room and running water at all times.
Location: We think this hotel is in Alajuelita - a shanty town in San Jose - and not in Escazu as advertised...we could be wrong though.
Our flight arrived late and we landed in San Jose a bit before midnight. Like most others, we got lost trying to find this hotel. We had to phone them and a member of staff came to collect us on his motorcycle for us to then follow him to the hotel in our rental car. When we got to the hotel in the early hours of the morning and there was no running water. The room was freezing cold, with insufficient blankets. We were not happy campers, especially after 20 hours of flying from London.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2014 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
sorry your experience with nosoros was not to his liking, we understand that a flight from London is very tired. If you are a few days in Costa Rica you will notice that our roads do not have signs and numbers to locate a place and it becomes very difficult, only if you have a GPS. Moreover our hotel is located near downtown san jose in the mountains of San antonio between cities alajuelita escazu and for this reason we give the direction from these places. The hotel also has a stock of blankets for our guests we regret that you have not requested extra blankets because he had gladly given this because our temperature does not drop 18 or 19 degrees. regret the fact that when you came we were in a severe drought and water service was cut off from the city since 11pm wings 5am. sorry this and that you are not "happy campers" but Costa Rica really has no street signs and suffers severe droughts and water that was cut. If return would be happy to give a free night
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2014 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
We are sorry that your experience with us was not to his liking and we understand that the journey from London is long and they were very tired { if you have a few days left in Costa Rica realized that in Costa Rica the streets do not have signs and names which makes it very difficult exept your location if you have a GPS. Our hotel is located in the mountains of san antonio near downtown san jose, between duty and escazu alajuelita so we give our address from the two places. Our hotel also has a stock of blankets for our guests, so as we put in the room so sorry I have not been able to order them, plus our no low temperature 18 or 19 degrees. In the time that you were were in a severe drought and water service was cut off from the city from 11pm to 5am. so sorry and know that you are not "happy campers" and that his trip was twenty hours and Costa Rica does not have street signs and there was a severe drought water. If you like them we would return with a free night
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Islam from Costa Rica

Great view

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a really wonderfull place for a weekend, incredible San José views, nice treatment by the people of the hotel. Note that hotel is a little bit old, but clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
thanks for your words are to serve you better every day greetings
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
thanks for your words are to serve you better every day greetings
5 out of 5
Recommended
by David Vance from USA

I love this place!

Posted Mar 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a "diamond in the rough!" The only bad thing about this place is that it's up on a mountain and the drive is steep and it's kind of hard to find. However, once you get there, it's quiet and amazing. You feel like you're in the countryside of Costa Rica...and you kind of are. However, once up on the mountain, you overlook the city of San Jose. I would have stayed more nights here but I found it on the last night of my stay. But, it really is an amazing place.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2014 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
thanks for your comment hope to serve you better next time atte Fernando gutierrez administration
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing View!

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Pros: the view, several mirrors and lamps in room
Location: located on a hill, stores nearby
Very friendly and helpful staff, exotic bamboo beds
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2014 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
thanks for your words are to serve you better every day greetings
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2014 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
thanks for your words are to serve you better every day greetings
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chris H from New York

Million dollar view overlooking San Jose at great

Posted Feb 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bit of a haul up to the top of Escazu but worth the view. Great resort feel with several indoor and outdoor spaces for relaxing. Great value-maybe one of the best stays around for price. Cannot overstate how helpful Fernando was in arranging transportation, and answering our questions. Rooms were as promised with solid fast wifi, cool nighttime breezes, free local and US calls from the room phone. Will definitely be staying here next time I'm in San Jose
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2014 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
thanks for your comments for us will be a commitment to serve you better next time atte Fernando gutierrez administration
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
thanks for your words are to serve you better every day greetings
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2014 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
thanks for your words are to serve you better every day greetings
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing View

Posted Sep 20, 2013
I came during the off-season so I was one of only a couple people staying at the hotel. Because of this I felt like the entire hotel revolved around me. The view is amazing at night and during the day, there really was no time that I looked outside my room and wasn't amazed. However to get this view the hotel is on top of a mountain so we always had to take a taxi to get there or down to San Jose, and it was hard to find a cab driver that knew how to get back to the hotel from the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2014 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
thanks for your words are to serve you better every day greetings
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DOESNT LOOK LIKE A BEST WESTERN HOTEL

Posted May 24, 2013
Location: DIFFICULT ACCES BUT EXCELENT VIEW FROM THE HOTEL (NOT FROM THE STANDARD ROOM)
IT WAS VERY VERY CHEAP BUT THATS AND AN A EXCELENT VIEW (NOT FROM A STANDARD ROOM) ARE THE ONLY GOOD THINGS OF THE HOTEL SPECIALLY FOR BEEN A BEST WESTERN HOTEL
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2014 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
thanks for your words are to serve you better every day greetings