Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Close to the airport, best view, friendly staff
Best view. Perfect place to stop before a flight. Staff are awesome. It is a little tricky to find but just keep heading up and you will stumble on it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Nice quiet hotel but far from amenities.

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Nice view, quiet. Lobby is always clean. Easy to get a ride. Being a physician, it risky if there was a real emergency.
Cons: Insulation. Can hear TV and people noise (like snoring, boisterous laughters, etc) from my room...worse at the middle of the night when I was resting.
Location: Nice place to do cardiovascular exercise. One bar/restaurant leaves us no choice.
It got cold, some nights. No heater. No extra blankets. I wonder if it gets so hot in summertime without air conditioning unit. Door was warping, it was making a noise to close it and I was concern I was disturbing other people. Most of the receptionist speak good English and are helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
Dear Valuable Guest Thank you very much for your comments. Our average temperature at the Hotel ALL year round is from 68-74 Fahrenheit. We were experiencing a cold front during your stay we would have been more than glad to have giving you as many blankets as you needed and also fix the situation with the door ,if you had just let us known. We value all of our customers concerns and are very happy to receive them in order to improve our services
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Escazu, Costa Rica

excellent atention

Posted Jan 14, 2015
nice, excellent atention, the people is very cool
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your comment we certainly appreciate it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JAVIER

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2015 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
Gracias por sus apreciaciones estamos para servirle y mejorar nuestra atencion en su proxima visita . Gracias La gerencia
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San jose, Costa Rica

excellent view. good breakfast.

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: -
Cons: -
Location: nerby u have 3 restaurants at 75 meters top.
excellent view. good breakfast. the rooms could be small but enough for 2 persons. and when u see the window eveything will worth the price
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your comment we certainly appreciate it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jackfrom Portland

Relaxation

Posted Dec 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Small hotel outside of San Jose with a spectacular view. Very quaint hotel. The staff were absolutely wonderful and very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who has any reason to go to San Jose (because it honestly seems that there are lots of other places that people would rather go in Costa Rica) but wants to escape the city for a bit at night/in the morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2015 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
thanks for your comments hope to serve you and make your next stay a longer and enjoy better quality of service thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando, FL

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Location: The Quetzal lodge hiking trails, La Paz Waterfall Gardens, Tapanti National Park, and Rainforest Adventure Park are all within about an hour drive.
The Hotel Paradise is a great place to stay close to the city. The people who work there don't speak much english, but they were very friendly and helpful. The grounds are kept beautifully with a nice garden and swimming pool. The view of the valley below is amazing. It's a nice place to stay around San Jose if you're going to Costa Rica for a birding trip. Woodpeckers, hawks, parakeets, tanagers, etc. come to the gardens in the morning. The only problems we encountered were the hotel being very hard to find at first (you're ok if you have gps, but there are no street signs at all driving up the mountain) and that there are dogs on the property that kept us up all night barking. Besides these minor things, I would recommend this hotel to anyone flying into/out of San Jose.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

This hotel is in Alajuelita not Escazu

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The view of San Jose...that's the best thing really.
Cons: Everything from signage to better blankets in the room and running water at all times.
Location: We think this hotel is in Alajuelita - a shanty town in San Jose - and not in Escazu as advertised...we could be wrong though.
Our flight arrived late and we landed in San Jose a bit before midnight. Like most others, we got lost trying to find this hotel. We had to phone them and a member of staff came to collect us on his motorcycle for us to then follow him to the hotel in our rental car. When we got to the hotel in the early hours of the morning and there was no running water. The room was freezing cold, with insufficient blankets. We were not happy campers, especially after 20 hours of flying from London.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2015 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
sorry your experience with nosoros was not to his liking, we understand that a flight from London is very tired. If you are a few days in Costa Rica you will notice that our roads do not have signs and numbers to locate a place and it becomes very difficult, only if you have a GPS. Moreover our hotel is located near downtown san jose in the mountains of San antonio between cities alajuelita escazu and for this reason we give the direction from these places. The hotel also has a stock of blankets for our guests we regret that you have not requested extra blankets because he had gladly given this because our temperature does not drop 18 or 19 degrees. regret the fact that when you came we were in a severe drought and water service was cut off from the city since 11pm wings 5am. sorry this and that you are not "happy campers" but Costa Rica really has no street signs and suffers severe droughts and water that was cut. If return would be happy to give a free night
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2015 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
We are sorry that your experience with us was not to his liking and we understand that the journey from London is long and they were very tired { if you have a few days left in Costa Rica realized that in Costa Rica the streets do not have signs and names which makes it very difficult exept your location if you have a GPS. Our hotel is located in the mountains of san antonio near downtown san jose, between duty and escazu alajuelita so we give our address from the two places. Our hotel also has a stock of blankets for our guests, so as we put in the room so sorry I have not been able to order them, plus our no low temperature 18 or 19 degrees. In the time that you were were in a severe drought and water service was cut off from the city from 11pm to 5am. so sorry and know that you are not "happy campers" and that his trip was twenty hours and Costa Rica does not have street signs and there was a severe drought water. If you like them we would return with a free night
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dharmafrom Austin, TX

wonderful and relaxing

Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who would like to spend more than a week in the capital area of Costa Rica. The price was really reasonable and the hotel staff proved to be very friendly and helpful. They even made breakfast earlier on some days when I went out on day trips. They were also very personal and professional at the same time. The hotel is very convenient and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2014 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback our administration is working to provide a better stay on your next visit.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bolcar99

Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2014 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback our administration is working to provide a better stay on your next visit.