Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San jose, Costa Rica

excellent view. good breakfast.

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: -
Cons: -
Location: nerby u have 3 restaurants at 75 meters top.
excellent view. good breakfast. the rooms could be small but enough for 2 persons. and when u see the window eveything will worth the price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando, FL

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Location: The Quetzal lodge hiking trails, La Paz Waterfall Gardens, Tapanti National Park, and Rainforest Adventure Park are all within about an hour drive.
The Hotel Paradise is a great place to stay close to the city. The people who work there don't speak much english, but they were very friendly and helpful. The grounds are kept beautifully with a nice garden and swimming pool. The view of the valley below is amazing. It's a nice place to stay around San Jose if you're going to Costa Rica for a birding trip. Woodpeckers, hawks, parakeets, tanagers, etc. come to the gardens in the morning. The only problems we encountered were the hotel being very hard to find at first (you're ok if you have gps, but there are no street signs at all driving up the mountain) and that there are dogs on the property that kept us up all night barking. Besides these minor things, I would recommend this hotel to anyone flying into/out of San Jose.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

This hotel is in Alajuelita not Escazu

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The view of San Jose...that's the best thing really.
Cons: Everything from signage to better blankets in the room and running water at all times.
Location: We think this hotel is in Alajuelita - a shanty town in San Jose - and not in Escazu as advertised...we could be wrong though.
Our flight arrived late and we landed in San Jose a bit before midnight. Like most others, we got lost trying to find this hotel. We had to phone them and a member of staff came to collect us on his motorcycle for us to then follow him to the hotel in our rental car. When we got to the hotel in the early hours of the morning and there was no running water. The room was freezing cold, with insufficient blankets. We were not happy campers, especially after 20 hours of flying from London.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2014 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
sorry your experience with nosoros was not to his liking, we understand that a flight from London is very tired. If you are a few days in Costa Rica you will notice that our roads do not have signs and numbers to locate a place and it becomes very difficult, only if you have a GPS. Moreover our hotel is located near downtown san jose in the mountains of San antonio between cities alajuelita escazu and for this reason we give the direction from these places. The hotel also has a stock of blankets for our guests we regret that you have not requested extra blankets because he had gladly given this because our temperature does not drop 18 or 19 degrees. regret the fact that when you came we were in a severe drought and water service was cut off from the city since 11pm wings 5am. sorry this and that you are not "happy campers" but Costa Rica really has no street signs and suffers severe droughts and water that was cut. If return would be happy to give a free night
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2014 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
We are sorry that your experience with us was not to his liking and we understand that the journey from London is long and they were very tired { if you have a few days left in Costa Rica realized that in Costa Rica the streets do not have signs and names which makes it very difficult exept your location if you have a GPS. Our hotel is located in the mountains of san antonio near downtown san jose, between duty and escazu alajuelita so we give our address from the two places. Our hotel also has a stock of blankets for our guests, so as we put in the room so sorry I have not been able to order them, plus our no low temperature 18 or 19 degrees. In the time that you were were in a severe drought and water service was cut off from the city from 11pm to 5am. so sorry and know that you are not "happy campers" and that his trip was twenty hours and Costa Rica does not have street signs and there was a severe drought water. If you like them we would return with a free night
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dharmafrom Austin, TX

wonderful and relaxing

Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who would like to spend more than a week in the capital area of Costa Rica. The price was really reasonable and the hotel staff proved to be very friendly and helpful. They even made breakfast earlier on some days when I went out on day trips. They were also very personal and professional at the same time. The hotel is very convenient and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2014 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback our administration is working to provide a better stay on your next visit.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bolcar99

Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2014 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback our administration is working to provide a better stay on your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rosario, argentina

Recomendable solo con carro

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Hermoso lugar precioso, pacifico y silencioso. Ideal para descansar. Una vista increible de todo el valle central, clima fresco. El personal es super amable. El desayuno es bueno un relacion con su tarifa Los contras: es lejisimo de todo. Muy arriba de LA montaña. X lo tanto un taxi sale caro, y toma mucho tiempo llegar a Todo lados. El wi fi solo funciona un zonas communes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2014 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback our administration is working to provide a better stay on your next visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2014 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
gracias por sus comentarios estamos laborando para servirle mejor , ademas si usted vive en nuestro pias sedara cuenta que tenemos dos accesos para llegar anuestro hotel dependiendo dela zona de donde vengan nuestros clientes loq ue nos hace uh¿n hotel atractivo par estar cerca de la ciudad y disfrutar tambien de una hermosa vista y paz
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rayfrom florida

A nice getaway

Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a breathtaking view.... secluded and perfect for the romantic couple.. Also, the price was very low.... over all it was a pleasant experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2014 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback we are to serve and we just bringing improvements in our services for your next stay is most comfortable. Thank Management
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2014 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback we are to serve and we just bringing improvements in our services for your next stay is most comfortable. Thank Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mcr_from San Jose

There are some opportunities on their service

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
There was a panel from the bed that detached from the wall. Besides that the service was fairly ok, and location and views are marvelous. I really recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway,
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2014 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback we are to serve and we just bringing improvements in our services for your next stay is most comfortable. Thank Management
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by federico Arrospidefrom San Francisco CA

lousy beds ,uncomfortable bathrooms, great view,

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
They need to replace those bamboo beds, mattresses and pillows. In the bathroom there is no place for the toothbrush, toothpaste, towels, etc,etc. The service is good. . Those bamboo beds are so narrow. it was so uncomfortable for my wife and me to sleep in those narrow beds , they need to buy queen beds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2014 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback we are to serve and we just bringing improvements in our services for your next stay is most comfortable. Thank Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2014 by Fernando Gutierrrez, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback we are to serve and we just bringing improvements in our services for your next stay is most comfortable. Thank Management