Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value, great location

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Location: White Sands are only 15 min away, the mountains are 30 min away.
For what we paid for it, the hotel was just right. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. The room was nice enough, although we had issues with the air conditioning not really reaching the sleeping area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rothschild, wi

Older facilities, but clean and very comfortable.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Comfortable beds....excellent water pressure in shower....quietness, cleanliness.
Cons: other than a couple chairs outside near rooms...not much.
Location: visiting family in the area.
This was my fourth stay at Desert Aire hotel. i found it to be very comfortable and quiet (except for other guests who insist on slamming doors). Everything was clean and the breakfast served was excellent. only thing i would add is to perhaps have a few chairs near the rooms so that one could sit outside while waiting for a ride. Otherwise, i have always been very pleased with the hotels cleanliness, comfort, etc. thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sierra Vista AZ

its a nice little stay over while we travel to Tex

Posted Jul 20, 2014
quiet clean hospitable what more can you say. Raymond
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TD

Nice place

Posted May 27, 2014
Location: Lots of restaurants nearby. White Sands National Monument is great. Alamogordo is also close to Cloudcroft, a nice town in the cool mountains.
We had a very nice stay and the room was very nice and comfortable overall. The mattress was a little soft for us, but otherwise we were very comfortable. We chose this hotel because they accept dogs. However, I did not see a place to specify that we were bringing our dogs in the Expedia form. So when we checked in they didn't have that information. Fortunately they were kind enough to juggle rooms and made it work. Next time I'll be sure to double check. This is an older hotel but it is very nice and clean. We would choose it again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frank from Plano, TX

Great Stay

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Attention to minor details.
Location: There were plenty of places to eat and a store nearby to buy anything you may have forgotten.
Everything was great. I only had two minor issues I would mention. First, I didn't have a remote for my TV, and second, the water pressure was so strong in the shower that I had a hard time closing the valve to start the shower.
3 out of 5
by Bob

What!

Posted May 23, 2014
First thing they did was ask for my date of birth. When i questioned it they said they need it in case i dispute the charges...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by CT from Green Valley, AZ

Nice older Best Western Hotel

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was small, but clean and comfortable. The property was in pretty good shape. Desert Aire is a two story typical older Best Western with no elevator. Front desk staff were pleasant and helpful. No issues for us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Old Hotel, Noisy

Posted May 17, 2014
Pros: The staff without exception was very friendly and accommodating.
Cons: Tear it down and build a modern facility. They cut corners on most of the amenities, but charged as much as the better motels
Location: On the main street in Alamogordo. The usual fast food businesses, etc. were nearby.
Overall it was way overpriced for what it delivered. It's old, small room, needed updating. Pros: Very nice staff Cons: Small old room. TV cut out at 9:00 p.m. Very noisy. Group next door was loud. The guests that got to their room above ours at midnite woke us up as did the 4 a.m. delivery man. The breakfast was sparse, the eggs were very good, but no meat or fruit. Instead of meat, they had chili beans - the cheapest breakfast on this trip. We stayed at 3 Best Westerns this trip. Our experience here unfortunately was typical of all of them. Used to stay at them all of the time, but no more. We stayed at a Fairfield Inn in OK for exactly the same price. It was newer and QUIET. The moral of the story is to stay where the businessmen stay. They don't party so much
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lisa M from Las Cruces, NM

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The chain maintains the highest standards and provides the best customer service in the industry, in my humble opinion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very good motel

Posted Mar 19, 2014
The room was spacious. Many restaurants near the motel was very good. I am very pleased with it.