Ratings based on 244 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for seeing venues at Times Union Ce

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Great concert, great hotel to stay at when you see a concert at Time Union Center which is right around the corner!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel the heart of down town Albany.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
I enjoyed my stay, breakfast was good , hotel very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfax County

Comfort and convenience in downtown Albany

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Spacious rooms, helpful staff, great location..
Cons: A mini-fridge in the room would be nice.
Location: Provided that you don't mind walking uphill, 74 State is very well located for exploring Albany, especially the State Capitol and Empire State Plaza.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dee from NY

Middle of everything

Posted Jun 22, 2014
This hotel is great! I can't wait to stay again. It's in the middle of everything. Huge comfortable beds and a very large bathroom to match. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful with everything. Even breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Business travel

Nice hotel in downtown Albany. Staff is very good

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Rooms were comfortable, air conditioning good, bath room clean. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Cons: Breakfast. Pretty dreadful and served in a dreary room. The person in charge spoke to no one and looked as if she would not welcome any questions.
Location: Plenty of restaurants. It is downtown.
Enjoyed hotel for its location and comfortable bed, clean bathroom. The complimentary breakfast was dreadful. Even the coffee was bad. Also, some of the other guests were poorly kept and not what I would call up market.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs, CA

Great experience! STAY HERE WHEN IN ALBANY!

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Very clean! Extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and professional staff! Such a convenient location in Albany! Can't rave enough about this jewel in lodging at the incline of Capital Hill on State Street in the heart of this historic Capital City! A June 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by weemama3 from Yonkers, NY

Great hotel in an excellent location!

Posted May 31, 2014
I booked a night here so I could attend a concert at the Times center, location was perfect, staff were friendly and courteous! The bar was closed due to future renovations, would have been nice to have a glass of wine there before dinner but no big deal! The room was spacious and very clean! Only complaint I would have would be the breakfast, was very cold even though it had just been put out! Would definitely recommend for a short stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jay from Nichols, NY

Good Location in State Capitol

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: Location, new Room Accomodations
Cons: No Opinion
Location: Located near State Capitol (my reason for being there on May 20-21, 2014), in walking distance to restaurants, Pubs , Convenience Stores, & the Arena.
The Rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel is located in a very safe part of towns.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wanted to like hotel but found no reason to

Posted May 19, 2014
Arrived at hotel - employee at door did not even hold door open for me - room was filthy - bathroom had residue from previous guests - coffee maker still had old used tea bag in it - rug was not cleaned and badly stained - no food available - breakfast was no where to be found - no one on the floor in dining rm to ask - what was there was cold and disgusting - told staff about my stay and didn't or couldn't comp me at all. I use to love this place before they closed the restaurant and bar - it had gone downhill - sad.
1 out of 5
by Casey from Buffalo, NY

Very Disappointed

Posted May 18, 2014
I stayed at this hotel about 5 years ago and loved it. Unfortunately the quality and cleanliness has greatly deteriorated. The room's carpet was heavily soiled and stained, the bed linens were torn and frayed, and the room overall was just plain dirty. The woman at the front desk comped my parking when I mentioned how disappointed I was and that the hotel was now under new management that was planning interior renovations. I won't be returning.