Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Riverside Ca

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: everything
Very nice/good location/attractive in every sense of the word/will stay again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Better Days

Posted Jan 28, 2015 on Hotels.com
This hotel is in need of updating. May have been very nice at one time, time has put it in need of upgrading.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Luisfrom Georgia

Could be better

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
Room condition excellent, just clean, comfortable, full renovation, one only exception:bathroom, it is clean but it is clear bath looks old. Friendly people, I like it and the best, good price, good breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Southern Charm

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed my visit. I arrived early for check-in and the staff was very friendly, courteous and accommodating. Although some maintenance was on-going the grounds were neat, the area was quiet, the room was very clean, the bed was comfortable but a bit noisy. The architecture was definitely echoed old southern charm. My stay included a traditional southern breakfast, minus fruit, with a friendly staff. Great stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Simply delightful...I only regret is that my arrival time was too late so I didn't get a chance to enjoy the facility in it's entirety.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice to be off the chain circuit!

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: The campus was really neat...bar and restaurant were cozy, friendly, and well decorated; pool and pool house area were nicely laid out and orderly.
I had a business meeting in the area and decided to change the pace by staying at a locally owned hotel as opposed to the chain I normally support. The pictures and comments on line totally enticed me...The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. I arrived 2 hours before check-in and was allowed to move in and get squared away for a conference call. The room was very clean!!! It is an older property, but I was really impressed with all of the effort and upgrades that had been made. It is refreshing to see older properties rehabilitated as opposed to being demolished. The landscaping and lay out of the property was very nice and not stodgy and sterile! People need to keep in mind this is not new construction, so don't show up looking for it!!!! Some of the reviews I read were ridiculous with the negative comments. This is a really quaint property with well appointed, clean, and comfortable rooms. The staff is extremely courteous and accommodating. If I am ever in the area again, I will definitely stay here!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Phyllisfrom Elkhart

Rainy evening at Merry Acres

Posted Dec 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
We arrived later in the evening on a very rainy day, so we didn't get to enjoy all of the beautiful grounds. We ate in the Pub located in the office area. The food was good and service was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom High Springs, FL

Ideal Place to Stay

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Everything!!! The Staff helpful and have great attitudes. Location is great, close to the mall and very close to downtown and ASU.
Cons: Happy because I know it's not a new establishment. They have done a great job in trying to keep bathrooms, TV and everything current.
Location: Close to Mall, ASU, the Aquarium and Ray Charles Memorial
My second stay @ Merry Acres and I enjoyed it once again. Although it was built in 1952 and not new, it is the best up-kept "old" hotel that I have ever stay in while traveling. I love the idea of parking right front of my room and being able to get a response immediately from the main receptionist area that sits right in the dead center of the complex. Love that there is no carpet but wood floors, which makes for a cleaner environment. The rooms are clean, fresh and colorful but in a light way. Clean white sheets, and thick clean white towels, bath cloths, etc., every visit. Refrigerator and Microwave. I won't stay at a hotel that these two items not offered and their refrigerator is a nice size. Free internet wi-fi, free full breakfast with decaf and regular coffee, orange juice, etc., and restaurants and a pub top off the immenties for Merry Acres. Offer rides to their steakhouse so you can drink and return to the complex safely. Although I didn't do this, it is there if you need to eat and drink. My next visit I want to occupy a suite and sit in the nice cozy pub or try the steakhouse. Thanks Merry Acres for a great away from home experience. Wintertime or to cold for pool since both visits since 11/1/2014.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by eddie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Wakefieldfrom land o lakes

nice place

Posted Nov 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
not the best breakfast