Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by John from Massachusetts

Absolutely wonderful place to stay

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was an incredibly charming bed and breakfast. The building is a gem in a somewhat depressed neighborhood. It was wonderful to simply look around inside, especially if one appreciates historical preservation and period architecture. The house is immaculate, as are the rooms. Tina is an incredible hostess - from the wonderful conversation to the fantastic breakfast cooked to order. Would stay again in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice B & B close to Albany Amtrak train station.

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Atmosphere
Cons: Area... But beautiful oasis once inside hotel.
Location: 10 minute drive to nice restaurant with own brewery. Train station 10 minute drive from location.
Looking for hotel or B & B close to Albany Amtrak train station. Visit NYC often and 4 hour drive from Montreal. This way we could take an early morning train and be in NYC earlier. The price and proximity to the train was a selling point. Pictures and rating were also good. Found the area not as nice but once in the house, complete change of atmosphere. Classical music playing in background, instructions, notes etc answering any questions we had (We got there close to the 8 o'clock late arrival so no person greeting that evening). Note with room, bathroom location as well as code for door posted for us in entrance. There was also private parking spots for each guest room quite well indicated. Homemade breakfast next morning was very good as was owner's hospitality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love the place. Is in a scary, bombed out area.

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: The staff, the ambiance.
Cons: Neighborhood.
Location: not sure
Easy to stay. Parking lot for guests. Wonderful breakfast. Only downside is neighborhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by zhou from new york 11367

Nice

Posted Apr 10, 2014
The service is good and the room is lovely very nice hotel in this location, will rebook again next time
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ed Patterson from Webster, NY

Just Like Home

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Man o man was that place cozy! Maybe too much. I wanted to veg so much entering the door I sometimes didn't bothering going back out to bring stuff in. The neighborhood isn't great (too many noisy kids around) but nothing I'm not unused to) Tina is a gracious host and worked hard to make me feel at home. Highly recommended!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kp from Chicago

Not for women traveling alone

Posted Mar 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is in a sketchy area of town and there's a minimal security at door: No live person. I have traveled extensively by myself but felt uncomfortable enough to change hotels after checking in. Also: bathrooms are not connected to rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: See above
Location: I attended a conf. did not tour around.
Great place. Be brave and you will discover a gem in Troy, NY. Beds were comfortable, showers were hot. Host was excellent and breakfast was the best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ben from Brooklyn

Nice stay!

Posted Nov 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
I had a short stay here (checked in at 10pm, and out by 7am) but Tina was a gracious host. Walking in, it felt like walking into a house, with living room, dining room, kitchen and snacks. It's not like the normal hotel accommodations you'd expect, but then again it was a B&B. I would have liked to spend a few days, relaxing, reading books, watching movies (provided) and exploring the area. As it was, Tina made a delicious breakfast- rosemary potatoes, scrambled eggs, coffee, and was a pleasant conversationalist. If I find my way to this area again, if definitely stay. Pros: feels like home, reserved off-street parking, clean, made to order food included. Excellent suggestions for food and entertainment in the area- clear directions and lots of thought out into it. Cons- feels like rooms in a house (not soundproof) so you can hear people walking in the halls and shouting on the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2013
Pros: Friendly landlady, interesting restored old building, B&B with option for late-night arrival.
Cons: Beds were on the soft side for me, and there was significant street noise at night.
Location: The hotel is a bit over a mile from RPI. The riverfront area, with a nice Saturday farmer's market, is on the opposite side of campus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from Reading, MA

Lovely In-town B&B

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Pros: Everything was wonderful!
Cons: I think it should be mentioned in the description that the Oakroom bathrooms are on a different floor. People with mobility issues might need to know
Location: We were on the way to Saratoga, so just passing through, can't really speak to this.
I could not get over the beautiful woodwork and original fixtures in this late 1800's mansion, all in pristine condition! Tina, the owner, couldn't have been more accommodating. Excellent full breakfast, made to your order.