Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Close to family

Posted Jul 8, 2014
It was nice, loved the historical look, good customer service, close to what we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eric from York, PA

More of a historical experience than a hotel stay

Posted Aug 1, 2013
Pros: Location, rooms, cleanliness, service, staff, price....
Location: Union College and a slew of historical sites!
This hotel is like a living museum of that community dating back to colonial time. If you are a history buff, you will be amazed at the long history of this community reflected in this hotel and well-preserved historical site. If you walk just a couple of minutes outside the hotel, you will see an amazing array of historical places including the house where former NY Governor Yates Schenectady was both born and died.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historical gem in Schenectady.

Posted Aug 13, 2012
Pros: Exqauisite historical rooms and sweet bartender who was the history buff.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Good location in the historical section.
I loved the history of this hotel. It's over 200 years ago and just exquisite. The bartender was exceptional. He told me a lot of the history of Schenectedy and he was wonderful. The room was just beautiful. Very different from the usual hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian from Cleveland, OH

Elegant place from a bygone era

Posted Jul 30, 2012
Pros: The surrounding neighborhood was very interesting to explore, the Stockade district. Great old early 19th century rowhouses immaculately kept.
Great old rehabbed historic building. The only downside was lugging luggage up stairs. There is a service elevator but you need to climb the front staircase to get to the level it serves. Otherwise it was quite an experience and very elegant accomodations. Next time I'll pack lighter!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stockade Inn

Posted May 14, 2012
We arrived well past midnight and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was inviting and the hotel has a lot of charm. The location is very central.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for a night.

Posted Apr 26, 2012
Pros: It was quaint
Cons: It was dated
Location: In the historic stockade district.
Staff was pleasant. Room was an interesting mix of old and new. It was clean, but there was a stain in the carpet and the room was cold because the thermostat was broken. Shower got hot after letting it run for a few minutes, but the water pressure was mediocre at best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandy from Lake Luzerne, NY, USA

Old world ambiance - modern conveniences

Posted Jan 29, 2012
Thieves an old hotel which appears to have been recently renovated. I did notvstay in a large room, but some of the rooms ate very, very spacious, and look like an old world apartment. Lovely and very clean. The only downside is that the elevators, also vintage are small, really for one person with luggage or two smallish people, if you are handicapped probably would not work too well. The staircase is like in a home, rather than a stairwell. The hotel is not a high-rise,so stairs are an option. Definitely would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Carolyn from Irvington, NJ

Charming hotel in the historical district

Posted Sep 7, 2011
I was very happy with this hotel. The room was very clean and comfortable, breakfast was included, and the hotel has an excellent restaurant. Although there was a small elevator, travelers needing handicap accessiblity might want to call ahead. The hotel is also convenient to the downtown area. Staff were very pleasant and accommodating. I would definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Upstate New York

misrepresented, punished for trying to save money

Posted Jun 20, 2011
First and foremost the this hotel misrepresents itself on the internet. The room pictured must be for people not booking through an internet service. The "Expedia" room is on the third floor and marked special with gold and black reflective mailbox numbers, not the same as the nice numbers on all the other rooms. When I opened the door I thought I had mistakenly opened the maintenance closet. After lugging my stuff up two flights of stairs I settled in. The room was extremely stuffy, the mattress was uncomfortable and the pillows smelled bad! I arrived in town about 8:30pm and by the time I was settled, the in house restaurant was closed. I ended up walking four blocks to a pub, Clinton's Ditch, which was very clean and had good fresh food. I walked back to the hotel and suffered through a sleepless night on an uncomfortable bed. When I left in the morning the clerk was sleeping in a chair in the dining area so I grabbed a cup of coffee off the breakfast bar (which appeared pretty descent) and left my key on the desk near the front door. I closely monitored my card for several days for fear I would be charged differently then quoted but I was not. The neighborhood was nice and historic aside from the poorly maintained sidewalks and I was pleasantly suprised that none of my companies equipment was stolen from my vehicle while I slept (or attempted to.)