Ratings based on 533 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean comfortable room,

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: clean comfortable
Cons: shower area floor slippery
Location: lots of good restaurants in area
Room was clean comfortable, had handicap accessible shower, the floor was slippery extra care had to be taken to safely take shower and exit shower area. other than that it was a very nice room spacious very comfortable beds
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2014
The overall experience was good, only one day they didn't clean our room so after a long day outside I was upset but they found another room for me to stay. There was a horrible boys baseball team that broke the safety rope in the pool and threw broken glass into the pool. My kids couldn't enjoy swimming for Sunday and Monday because of them. Also there were no omelet eggs on breakfast buffet just sausage and biscuits and gravy kinda odd but other than that we had a wonderful time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Covina, California

Sleepless at the Howard Johnson

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The staff was pleasant and accommodating.
Cons: The grounds and rooms were in need of improvement. Not what we expected.
Location: Must go to old town Albuquerque which is a short drive from this hotel.
We checked in on a Thursday night which was relatively quiet. Sadly, that was not the case on Friday. It turns into party central on the weekeds I guess. We had a hard time getting any sleep with the music, load talking and kids running back and forth across the walkway. Not sure if it is like this every weekend, but it was enough to cause my wife and I to checkout in the morning and search for a quieter place for the remainder of our trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times before. Everyone was very friendly, the room was great. The only problem that I had was one of the gates, the one closest to my room, was not working, very well. I just used another gate and everything was okay. Overall, very great stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Needs a lot of work !

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Run down, has seen better days. Grounds in poor condition. Pool furniture broken. Staff was great, they were trying.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wichita, KS

It's okay.

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: The staff was amazing! They were polite, professional and attentive. Any issues that we had they tried within their limited power to fix.
Cons: There need to be SERIOUS updates. Everything was falling apart. The pool was closed for maintenance. The air conditioner was not very cool.
Location: Nothing- if you're going to be in this location, be sure that you have access to a car!
We had a family reunion at the hotel. We liked that we could meet in the courtyard, which made it a practical location for our large family. It was okay. The hotel needs some *serious* updates and better plans for when multiple large events are going on. We had our large reunion in the courtyard, but they'd also booked outdoor weddings. We tried to be quiet and respectful during the weddings, but it was difficult since we had such a large party and nowhere else to go. The breakfast was good on the weekend- it included eggs, sausage, and biscuits. During the week, it was cereal and bagels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for where we needed to be.

Posted May 28, 2014
The hotel was nice, the parking lot was small. The Balloon Fiesta was the same weekend we stayed. People would park their trucks and balloon baskets taking up 3-4 parking space at a time. They need more parking or a better parking system for people who have a large truck and trailers. The bed was hard and uncomfortable, but the room and courtyard were very nice. Our bathroom had floors that would creek and feel move when you would stand on it. I wish they had an indoor pool. Overall it was nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Carl

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Frequent Traveler from Utah

No WiFi

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was comfortable--good breakfasst--good room--could easily hear people in next room--wifi is non existent--if you are planning on doing any internet work in your room, it won't happen--moved three times to get a good wifi signal and it never happened.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Julie from Seattle area

courtyard has great potential!

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
I'm glad Howard Johnson's bought the hotel and hope HoJos will invest in bringing the hotel up to its possibilities. It looks like the property has been let go over the years, but it has great potential. The courtyard and pool area could be lovely and it is so nice to have so many rooms opening to the courtyard instead of to a parking lot. The walls between the rooms are thin and conversations at normal volume could be easily heard from the next room - thicker, soundproof walls would be a great upgrade. The bathrooms are old, but clean. The rooms were very clean, the beds comfortable and the linens nice. The staff were all very, very helpful and responsive. The complimentary breakfast was nice and we enjoyed the variety. The value for the budget price was very good. We enjoyed our stay.