Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Janetfrom Okc

Posted Sep 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room needed to be updated. Small TV rather depressing. It was clean but the sheets were very scratchy. Breakfast was ok. Ok for a quick nights stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Craigfrom Phoenix

Great price for quality

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean room and friendly staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Randyfrom Phoenix

Worst Run Microtel Inn I've stayed at!

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife had never stayed at a Microtel Inn & Suites. I told her she would enjoy it. The property is poorly maintained (we stayed in room 127 and the manual door lock was broken!). Wyndham always has the best pillows but not at this place. I was very disappointed. My room was properly stocked by the maid and the staff acted like this was the rule and not an exception. You guys let me down!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mikefrom 74653

Great

Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
No coffee in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2014 by Jen, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to review your stay with us. As a valued member of the Wyndham Rewards program, your feedback Is very important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to enhance each and every guests experience here with us. We know you have a choice in hotels and we are delighted that you chose ours. We do offer hot coffee and hot tea in our dining room 24 hours a day. We also have coffee pots, refrigerators, microwaves and a full kitchenette in our suites. We hope that if you decide to come back and see us again, you will choose to stay in one of our single or double suites. I am sure that this will be more to your liking, as you will be able to have the convenience of coffee in your room. Again thank you for letting us know about your experience, and thank you for staying with us. We hope you are having a wonderful summer! J. Reazin
3 out of 5
Recommended
by wendell childsfrom usa

nice, but bare room

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
no fridge or micro
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2014 by Jen, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for stopping by to review your stay with us. Please know that your feedback is crucial to our ongoing efforts at improvement. Each guest response we receive assists us in enhancing our service and property. Our single and double rooms are very basic, meaning we have just the absolute necessities. This is because a large portion of our guests are just stopping by to sleep for a few hours, then getting back on the road again. We do however offer our suites, either one or two queen sized beds, a pullout sofa bed and coffee table in our single suites, and a kitchenette in all of our suites. Our kitchenettes are fully furnished with a mini refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, cupboards, a sink, and counter space. If you should stop by here again, please let us know that you would like to have these amenities in your room and we will be more than happy to make sure that you receive the items that you were missing on this last trip. Again, thank you for letting us know about your trip, and we hope that you are having a wonderful rest of your summer! J. Reazin
3 out of 5
Recommended
by ejayinazfrom Phoenix

Good enough for one night

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
No mini frige or microwave. Otherwise a good motel. Good price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2014 by Jen, Hotel Management
Hello! Thank you so much for stopping by and letting us know about your stay with us in Albuquerque. We are constantly striving to make sure that all of our guests have a wonderful stay in our hotel, so any feedback we get from you is extremely helpful in making sure that we can do everything we can to make all of our guests happy. We do not have refrigerators or microwaves in our basic rooms, however we do have full kitchenettes in our single and double suites. If you should come back and see us again, please ask for one of our suites, and we will be more than happy to accommodate you with the amenities that you desire. We hope that you are having a wonderful rest of your summer, and hope that we get the pleasure of seeing you again someday! J. Reazin
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by carolfrom lebanon, tn

Never again

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hated it! My first sight of the hotel was behind the XXX Adult video store. Should have been my first clue. The first room was a smoking room, I ordered a NON smoking room, second room was a pet room, that REEKED of urine, the third room was good. The staff was really good, the hotel and location NOT.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Duanefrom Southern California

The good the bad and not so ugly

Posted Jul 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was very clean and spacious. The truckers next door and the condition of the hotel dropped the appeal factor, but it was very conveniently located off the I-40. Some good restaurants near by and nice discounts for eating at Denny's or Godfather's Pizza.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2014 by Jen, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. It is our goal to give the best customer service and experience at an economical price. We apologize that the establishments surrounding our hotel were disconcerting to you. We have always made sure that our property, and especially our guests, have been safe while they were with us. We have never had any kind of issues because of these other businesses, however I understand your concern and do sincerely apologize. We are very happy that you enjoyed the restaurants surrounding us, and took advantage of the discounts you received. I truly hope you and your family are having a wonderful summer! J. Reazin
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Artfrom Nevada

Move to new home

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean, friendly and nice complimentary breakfast, offering a good range of options. Easy access to freeway with a number of amenities close by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2014 by Jen, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so happy to hear when one of our guests enjoyed everything about their stay. We hope that you will come back and see us again if you are ever in our neck of the woods! J. Reazin