Ratings based on 858 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Samantha

Very friendly staff!

Posted Apr 17, 2014
I recently stayed at the plaza inn while visiting UNM and Albuquerque for the first time. I was looking for somewhere inexpensive and close to campus and didn't have high expectations as to the quality of the hotel. Don't let the old sign out front scare you off- the inside of the hotel is nice, abet a bit dated in its decor. The staff and the boss, Mike, went out of their way to make my stay memorable in a positive way by providing an excellent and complimentary shuttle service, great food recommendations, and help when I thought I locked myself out of my room (I apparently just forgot how to open a normal door). The plaza inn is the perfect place to stay in town on a budget without sacrificing safety or hospitality!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Very nice decor and great big shower.
Cons: The hotel restaurant's menu left something to be desired.
Location: Very close to a lot of stuff to do in Albuquerque. Close to UNM and down town.
It was great, nice shower and hot tub. The room was really beautiful and the staff was very friendly.
Comment from
Jan 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We also enjoy hearing from guests who enjoyed there stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helena from Dayton, Ohio

nice hotel close to work site

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: location and staff - I will stay here again
Cons: Maybe a little variety in breakfast but I could alternate so it is okay. Also the shuttle service was not available early enough.
Location: This was a work trip but it was easy to be picked up as the office was near by.
Was particularly pleased with the woman who works 4 days in the breakfast room. She made sure everyone was well taken care of. Was also very pleased with the maids who accommodated my needs as I was working in the room part of the time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So So

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Location: There is nowhere to dine in the immediate vicinity, but nice restaurants are within a ten minute drive.
This hotel is long overdue for a makeover. Everything was reasonably clean, but wear and tear was showing. The room was on the small side, which was OK, but the furniture was mismatched and worn. The bed and bedding were clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and the tub/shower had been recently re-surfaced, but the towels were small, scratchy, and ragged. Perhaps most disappointing was the old-fashioned tube TV encased in a huge cabinet that dominated the room. There were only ten or so channels with very poor reception. The complementary breakfast was OK, typical of "continental" breakfasts served at low price motels today. Hot sausage gravy & biscuits, cold cereal, OJ, bagels. For some reason, the lobby floor and elevator floor were always wet.
Comment from
Jan 28, 2014
Thank you for being so honest about our hotel being clean...It is true that we could use a renovation - but in doing so we would also have to raise our rates and there are already plenty of hotels in those price ranges to choose from. We are aimed at providing an economical choice for a clean, comfortable night stay - and for what we charge - you get a great deal - free hot breakfast - shuttle service - and indoor pool an hot tub - with the best staff you'll fine anywhere!
1 out of 5
by Lisa from Las Cruces, NM

Really disappointing and not a nice place to stay.

Posted Mar 17, 2014
I had stayed at this hotel about 5 years ago and was willing to stay there I will never recommend this hotel to anyone. It is very dated and dirty. The personnel were fine overall but my room was dirty. Bedding was terrible. Pillows were awful - lumpy and very, very old - nasty. Towels were grey and disgusting. Seems to be a welfare hotel were transients in need of assistance are allowed to lodge - never stay there. The price should tell you everything you need to know. Never again - will I stay at this hotel in it's current condition.
Comment from
Jan 4, 2014
As with all hotels, we do have various room rates - and different room types - but I am not aware of any room that is in the condition she describes. Had the reviewer brought these complaints to our attention we would have done what ever was necessary to make her comfortable - including refunding her money and helping her find another hotel more to her taste. I'm not sure how to respond to her judgmental statement "Seems to be a welfare hotel where transients in need of assistance are allowed to lodge." and I wonder If she indeed feels that "The price should tell you everything you need to know" why she made the choice to stay here in the first place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Accomdating staff.

Posted Mar 16, 2014
I stayed here on my move to Salt Lake. Hotel staff were very helpful.
Comment from
Jan 18, 2014
Thank you for your review and commendation of our staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SW Traveler from NM

Nice accommodations

Posted Mar 16, 2014
The place was clean and the lady at the desk claimed a long day to excuse her brashness. The first floor has sliding windows that leads outside to a wooden fence for dogs. Our dog was able to roam comfortable and came back in when he was ready. The were a couple lamps out but overall the room was comfortable for the night. We passed on the pool. It was visibly dirty. Breakfast was edible. Wouldn't mind saying for a night or two again.
Comment from
Jan 19, 2014
Thank you for comment. I'm glad our front desk agent apologized and we will certainly discuss her demeanor with guests. The pet rooms that open to the courtyard are one of my favorite features. The pool is actually very clean and passes all inspections. Our maintenance engineer is trained and accredited in pool maintenance but because of the pool being older, it does have some discoloration - but I assure you it is clean and always passes inspection. I certainly hope you will stay with us again very soon!
3 out of 5
by Natlie from Albuquerque, NM

Don't be fooled by online images!

Posted Mar 14, 2014
The staff was not friendly at all! The furniture (the room in general) was very outdated. The beds were not comfortable and the blankets were torn!! As soon as you step out of the elevator into the hallway it smelled very old and like cigarette! The pool didnt even work! Don't be fooled by their site images!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice and friendly staff. quiet sleeping.

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: it is good.
Cons: need to clean the coffee maker.
Location: convention center
very nice and friendly staff. quiet sleeping. but need to clean the coffee maker.
Comment from
Jan 15, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments about our staff, as we are very committed to making our guests comfortable. Since your review our automatic coffee machine has been serviced and is back in top notch working condition. Thanks again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ann from Missouri

Nice motel for the money.

Posted Mar 3, 2014
The Hotel is convenient to the downtown area, where I had a convention. The hotel is older, but was clean and the staff was very accommodating. Coffee was terrible, so opted out, until I arrived at the convention. All in all, I felt it was worth the money, and did not have any complaints, except the coffee.