Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: relaxing with friendly staff and good breakfast.
Cons: It looks slightly run down and therefore expensive for a 3 star.I would possibly recommend but would emphasize the cost given it was a 3 star only.
good location for what we needed.We specifically wanted to visit Alford due to Family connections.Although it initially looked non discript and boring it turned out to be very friendly with very interesting local facilities run by the community such as the museum and a community centre where we went to the film club (excellent)!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Veli-Pekka from Jyväskylä

Rauhallinen maalaisilmapiiri

Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels
Valitsimme tämän, koska halusimme olla pienen osan matkasta pois kaupungin hälinästä. Valinta oli oikea, paikka joen rannalla, kävelyetäisyydellä Alfordin kylästä.Henkilökunta oli todella mukavaa, huoneemme oli viihtyisä, aamiainen oli maukas ja perinteinen. Jos etsit paikkaa missä rentoutua, mene Forbes Arms Hotelliin. Alfords Golf Club ja Grampian Transport Museum ovat 2 kilometrin päässä. Kävellen 15 minuuttia.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down and in need of a good refurb

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Could do with a refurb, quite run down, food not really very much to write home about, won't be stopping here again
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Joe from Houston

Bring your camping gear!

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is located in a very beautiful country side and there ends the positives. We booked this hotel online from USA and paid up front. After traveling for 14+ hours and driving for about 1 hr from the airport we reached the hotel by 2 PM. The hotel lobby was closed and there was no one to speak with. We had to stay out in the cold until 3:30PM when a lady staff (who apparently stays there) opened the hotel lobby. Apparently, the staff only attends the lobby from 3:30PM. We tried calling the phone several times (we were extremely tired after such a long journey, hungry, wanted to take a shower and use the restroom) but no one picked-up. We could hear the phone ringing, and knew the staff was inside, but no one replied. There is no calling bell or an answering machine (which I am sure they left out on purpose so that no one would bother reaching the staff). By 3:30 there was another guy (car mechanic) who came to the place. The lady staff attended to the mechanic first (showing around her car and the dents on it) even after me mentioning that we are there after a long journey. I suppose mechanics are hard to come by, and the hotel already got the money from us, so it makes sense for the staff to take care of the mechanic first. In short, if you are headed to this hotel, and if you happen to be there before 3:30PM, bring your camping gear, fire wood and grill to camp outside after paying more than what you would pay for a 4 star hotel in the US!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ian Burton from Kelso

Helpful desk staff

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels
I stayed 1 night. I deal with one member of staff, she was exceptionally helpful.I forgot a charger and she helped me couldn't have asked for more. The bed was comfortable, bathroom OK.The room was in need of a better clean, the were cellophane wrappers on the floor, I found an old hair curler on the floor. At £110 a night I would expect a better level of basic cleaning, having said that it was comfortable, had a good night sleep and breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Denis from Glasgow

Friendly hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels
Nice friendly hotel, peaceful country location, great place to relax. Stayed here a few times now and will continue too when in Aberdeenshire
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by single traveller from sheffield

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels
Very small room (no 9) poor lighting in the bathroom, had to shower in near darkness. Needs a refurbishment badly. Had to ask for the heating to switched on both nights as the room was draughty due to a very poor window frame which did'nt fit tightly. The staff were friendly, food average despite the high prices. Will not be going back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Lovely staff and good food

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: the bed in room 8
Location: Had a great night at the Kildrummy Inn 6 miles away.
One of the most notable things about staying in Aberdeenshire is just how few places there are. From the outside the hotel looks fine and it is in a good location. There is a garden which is next to a river and it all looks very picturesque . The room itself (we stayed in No 8) was a good size and it was well equipped. The most disappointing thing was the bed. It was really hard and this made sleep difficult on the first night. On our second night I put a spare duvet on top of the mattress and this did help. The second issue for me was the bathroom. The room itself was fine but the area around the taps was not particularly clean. I don't thing this would have bothered some people but this is a bugbear of mine and something that I was aware of when taking a bath. The staff we met were very helpful and friendly especially Richard. My husband and I both really enjoyed our porridge and the rest of our vegetarian breakfasts in the lovely conservatory. Overall we enjoyed our two night stay it was just the bed that let the hotel down .