Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Backpool

VERY GOOD HOTEL WITH GOOD AMENITIES

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Excellent quality & space in accommodation. Lovely grounds and pool area. Parking. Sun beds always available. Enertainment not too loud or pushy.
Cons: more crockery, glasses, sharp knives. Make it clear in more than one language that wine is not complimentary. Provide promised equipment on day one.
Have stayed there two years running -.accommodation is excellent, as is pool area and surrounding grounds. Entertainment girl was very good and enthusiastic.Couple of niggles in the accommodaion - had to ask for toaster, iron and ironing board.No ice cube trays provided and not enough crockery, glasses, sharp knives. Beware of the 3 miniature bottles of.wine that are left in the room! They are NOT complimentary as appears to be the case! Asked reception about exchange rates - which they were unable to advise us on. Told to go into Carvoeiro to the banks, only to find it was a bank Holiday that day! Surely Reception should have known this and advised us? Despite the niggles, we would go again and recommended it to friends who went a month ago and enjoyed their stay. We know and like the restaurants in the area so did not use the restaurant on site.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Would not class as 5 star in all repects

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Accommodation was excellent, very spacious and well equipped.
Cons: Attention to details as expected in 5 star accommodation. Should have a shuttle bus into town at peak periods. Taxis canot match demand.
Location: Carvoeiro is a 10 minute drive away, very little locally to hotel. All expected tourist facilities in Carvoeiro with small but good beach.
A good overall experience, although would like to see improvements. Many reception staff have extremely limited English. taking 2 to deal with enquiries. Maintenance is poor, reported a kitchen cupboard door hanging off on 1st morning, this was never repaired. Ladies toilet in pool area (2). One no lock the other if you locked it, could still be opened, bring the frame with it! Wec stayed in a deluxe apaprtment, these are in fact a 2 floor townhouse with full kitchen, lounge/diner, terrace donwstairs, upstairs are 1 double (very large) with dressing area and full bathroom with shower cuicle and terrace, 1 twin bedroom with shower room. All rooms with remote air conditioning. Nice communal pool area, although the mish-mash of umbrellas do not reflect a 5 Star rating. Excellent breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kev from dublin

Enjoyable stay

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: rooms fantastic
Cons: towels need upgrade . staff need more training for that 5 star service . breakfast lunch and dinner menu's could be varied a bit more .
Location: check out the bon bon restaurant . excellent dining experience . ell & ela restaurant in the town excellent too . reservations needed for both
Fantastic rooms 5 star . Rest of the complex 3 star . No variation in food menu's . I found the beds uncomfortable and the towel old and worn out . Staff very helpfull but not trained to the level they need to be . More like a holiday camp than a 5 star hotel . Reception staff and Ana excellent . Reception staff very helpfull . Very suitable to family holiday not so for couples . Overall enjoyable stay . Car needed for beach or shopping . Some stray cats & dogs wandering around and there was a strong smell of cat urine outside our door each morning .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Resort

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: The appartments
Cons: The service in total
Location: Car definitely needed
The rooms are actually houses. Fully equipped with kitchen and everything. The reception was friendly, but unable to give support to organize simple trips, like sailing or quad biking, We had to find the offers over the web ourselves. Problems in the appartments took several days to get fixed. The house maid even put the cleaning towel on top of a pyjama and forgot it afterwards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shorto

Our 4th Time Holidaying Here

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Although it is advertised as "suites" the accommodation is actually a house!
Cons: Without much more effort the high standard that we have previously had while staying here could be attained.
Location: Quite far out of town & lacks places to eat, or beaches, within walking distance. There is a nice Italian on the corner at water tower. Car required
We love this place. It has everything you could want in the accommodation and more. This time, we felt the place is starting to look a little tired. The painting could do with freshening up and the towels given for the pool were, on occasions, virtually threadbare. The maids, although there everyday in some form or other, obviously did not have the time to do the floors etc so the level of cleanliness was not as it once was. It is rated 5* but I don't think it matches such a high rating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandra from NW England

excellent 5 star accomodation near Carvoeiro

Posted Sep 14, 2013
Pros: well laid out excellent quality accomodation, very well maintained properties and gardens, ample privacy if required, good main pool; attentive staff
Cons: provide more crockery etc. instructions for washer/drier; playground for infants; dont force people to wear rubber hats in indoor pool
Location: a 10 minute drive to Carvoeiro which has a small beach, shops and plenty of really good reataurants. near to 3 good golf courses and two water parks
very friendly staff; excellent spacious accomodation and grounds. Car needed but we already knew this. We were self catering so did not make use of the hotel's restaurant and having visited Carvoeiro regularly over the last 20 years we preferred to eat out every evening.. close to Portimao for shopping plus Algarve Centre(30 mins). 2 good golf courses within 5 mins. One water park 10 mis away, another 15 mins away. Zoo Marine (excellent!) @20 mins away. Beachs in th area are fairly small but long beach at armacao de Pera only 20 mins drive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ria from London

Fabulous Resort

Posted Jul 31, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: You do need a car if you want to visit beaches etc but they are all within easy driving distance.
This is the second time I visited Vale deLapa and I enjoyed it thoroughly. The food in the restaurant is excellent, staff are utterly charming and helpful. Our suite was kept in tip top order. I can really recommend this place and will certainly re-visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Pete from Dublin

Car a must for this hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a lovely resort but is far from the town and beaches. A car is a must. The 2 bed suites/townhouse were of a very high standard but the beds were very uncomfortable. There was no complimentary breakfast on offer as advertised on the Hotels.com website. The town and beaches were far more that 1.5k from the resort and the steep hills would make it difficult to walk to/from. Overall though quality accomodation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lal from Ireland

Posted May 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Second time to stay here. Fantastic! Will be back again!