Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Ireland

A week at Vale de Lapa for 2 in Sept/Oct

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: The staff, the service, the size of the villas, the food, the atmosphere, the quiet location
Location: Location is great - not too far from the nearby cosy Caivero (by car or walk) but far enough for the hotel to be a little sanctuary for relaxing!
My partner and I stayed in Vale de Lapa for a week (end of Sept - start of Oct) and it was fabulous. From the moment we arrived we were treated well, the service was exceptional. The hotel is quite quiet but in a great way - we found our week really relaxing. A nice retreat from the hustle and bustle of everyday life! Somewhere to really recharge the batteries. We enjoyed the food and drinks - the menu is vast enough to try something new every day. The accomodation is more than adequate, very spacious with ample furnishings and equipment. We will definitely return and we are looking forward to booking again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brighouse

Beautiful relaxing hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2014
We had a week there and was surprised by the tranquility of the place. The hotel is small yet sits in large landscaped grounds full of beautiful ponds and manicured gardens. The accommodation is large, each deluxe suite is in fact a semi detached duplex house. With views over the pool or the gardens. The houses are clean and well appointed with comfortable furniture. Each house has double doors onto a terrace and a balcony from the main bedroom. Wide screen Tvs and a DVD player too. The only things I would would be keen for the hotel to issue more crockery and washing up detergent in the kitchen. Also the digital channels are mainly news channels so best to bring some DVDs if you'd like to stay in. The hotel restaurant is very good, we upgraded to half board for 19 euros each per night and enjoyed a three course meal in the restaurant every night - we hadn't expected to eat there every night, but you do need a car if you want to travel to local restaurants or to the beach. All in all a special find and a relaxing holiday had by us both. Thank you to the excellent staff who do a great job!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cheddar

Clean and tidy resort

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Sitting out on the private patio with the waterfall and crickets in the background
Cons: I've no major or even minor grumbles
Location: Not much nearby, a pizza joint is about all. Probably need to have a rental car. Main town is Cavieros, which has a beach and lots of restaurants.
The hotel is really about 100 small houses clustered round a pool/bar/restaurant. There is not much else in the vicinity. We had a rental car, which I think is a necessity unless you want to walk about 45 mins to the nearest town on Cavieros. Some of those roads have no pavement btw. The resort is clean and in good repair. The only bad thing I could think of was there was some green growth on the white plastic drain for the outside pool. Little house was very roomy, and it had air conditioning that worked. Everything was clean and in good repair. Friendly and helpful staff. I'd stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Backpool

VERY GOOD HOTEL WITH GOOD AMENITIES

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Excellent quality & space in accommodation. Lovely grounds and pool area. Parking. Sun beds always available. Enertainment not too loud or pushy.
Cons: more crockery, glasses, sharp knives. Make it clear in more than one language that wine is not complimentary. Provide promised equipment on day one.
Have stayed there two years running -.accommodation is excellent, as is pool area and surrounding grounds. Entertainment girl was very good and enthusiastic.Couple of niggles in the accommodaion - had to ask for toaster, iron and ironing board.No ice cube trays provided and not enough crockery, glasses, sharp knives. Beware of the 3 miniature bottles of.wine that are left in the room! They are NOT complimentary as appears to be the case! Asked reception about exchange rates - which they were unable to advise us on. Told to go into Carvoeiro to the banks, only to find it was a bank Holiday that day! Surely Reception should have known this and advised us? Despite the niggles, we would go again and recommended it to friends who went a month ago and enjoyed their stay. We know and like the restaurants in the area so did not use the restaurant on site.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by bourke's lilyfrom Manchester

Beautiful and blissful hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
I can't say enough about this hotel. The service is excellent and staff very friendly. I used the spa ever day and have to say it was a good as any I've been to and I've been to a lot!! I would happily recommend this hotel. We stayed on an all inclusive basis and thought the food was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Cheshire

Would not class as 5 star in all repects

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Accommodation was excellent, very spacious and well equipped.
Cons: Attention to details as expected in 5 star accommodation. Should have a shuttle bus into town at peak periods. Taxis canot match demand.
Location: Carvoeiro is a 10 minute drive away, very little locally to hotel. All expected tourist facilities in Carvoeiro with small but good beach.
A good overall experience, although would like to see improvements. Many reception staff have extremely limited English. taking 2 to deal with enquiries. Maintenance is poor, reported a kitchen cupboard door hanging off on 1st morning, this was never repaired. Ladies toilet in pool area (2). One no lock the other if you locked it, could still be opened, bring the frame with it! Wec stayed in a deluxe apaprtment, these are in fact a 2 floor townhouse with full kitchen, lounge/diner, terrace donwstairs, upstairs are 1 double (very large) with dressing area and full bathroom with shower cuicle and terrace, 1 twin bedroom with shower room. All rooms with remote air conditioning. Nice communal pool area, although the mish-mash of umbrellas do not reflect a 5 Star rating. Excellent breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kevfrom dublin

Enjoyable stay

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: rooms fantastic
Cons: towels need upgrade . staff need more training for that 5 star service . breakfast lunch and dinner menu's could be varied a bit more .
Location: check out the bon bon restaurant . excellent dining experience . ell & ela restaurant in the town excellent too . reservations needed for both
Fantastic rooms 5 star . Rest of the complex 3 star . No variation in food menu's . I found the beds uncomfortable and the towel old and worn out . Staff very helpfull but not trained to the level they need to be . More like a holiday camp than a 5 star hotel . Reception staff and Ana excellent . Reception staff very helpfull . Very suitable to family holiday not so for couples . Overall enjoyable stay . Car needed for beach or shopping . Some stray cats & dogs wandering around and there was a strong smell of cat urine outside our door each morning .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Resort

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: The appartments
Cons: The service in total
Location: Car definitely needed
The rooms are actually houses. Fully equipped with kitchen and everything. The reception was friendly, but unable to give support to organize simple trips, like sailing or quad biking, We had to find the offers over the web ourselves. Problems in the appartments took several days to get fixed. The house maid even put the cleaning towel on top of a pyjama and forgot it afterwards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shorto

Our 4th Time Holidaying Here

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Although it is advertised as "suites" the accommodation is actually a house!
Cons: Without much more effort the high standard that we have previously had while staying here could be attained.
Location: Quite far out of town & lacks places to eat, or beaches, within walking distance. There is a nice Italian on the corner at water tower. Car required
We love this place. It has everything you could want in the accommodation and more. This time, we felt the place is starting to look a little tired. The painting could do with freshening up and the towels given for the pool were, on occasions, virtually threadbare. The maids, although there everyday in some form or other, obviously did not have the time to do the floors etc so the level of cleanliness was not as it once was. It is rated 5* but I don't think it matches such a high rating.