Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Marlene from Edmonton, AB, Canada

Water pipe problems

Posted May 22, 2013
Pros: Nice ocean view.
Cons: Noisy water pipes.
Location: Right on the ocean with a nice beach.
We were in the B wing of the hotel and the entire time there was loud water pipe noises every time someone in the building used water. This very loud noise was 24 hours a day and only got slightly better during the night. I'm not sure if this was a temporary or ongoing problem but it made it very hard to sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nina from London, UK

Truly fabulous location!

Posted Jan 5, 2012
Pros: location. lengthy breakfast looking at that fabulous view.
Cons: the jacuzzi is a house one not a spa one!
Location: Fabulous location on a low clifftop. Free hotel bus into town or walk up the road and get the Giro bus that runs till late night.
Location location location, this hotel has it! I was in ecstasy over it every day. Wander out of my apartment straight onto the clifftop or just sit on a bench in the grounds and watch the sunrise over the sea. Because it is on a promontory nothing blocks the view and you can see for miles, to Albufeira, Quarteira, Faro airport and the lighthouse. I was surprised that I had my own fridge, cooker and ironing board. Huge breakfast buffet with enough choice to please everyone. Entertainment every night and hospitality are very nice people. The sauna and jacuzzi are the size for only one or two people, but does this matter? No!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Excellent value for money at this time of the year

Posted Apr 8, 2011
There have been very mixed reviews of this hotel posted here and on other review sites, especially Trip Advisor This is only a 3* hotel, and we had thru Expedia a fantastic deal, which included full hot breakfast. The hotel is in need of some refurbishment, and there is a residual smell clinging to the front reception areas. I think it is a combination of cheap thick bleach reacting with the local water. We have picked up a similar smell in other locations around Albufeira.The food can be repetitive but it is good value for breakfast. I don't think however dinner is good value. There are many reasonably priced restaurants within easy distance. Some of the staff could also do with some retraining in basic customer service.In a mixed nationality hotel they probably get some abuse in various languages,so perhaps their attitude is a result of that. We found however that if you are friendly they also will be. The hotel position however is fabulous with good facilities and reasonably easy access along the cliff edge and then steps down to a lovely beach. From here you can walk all the way to old town Albufeira, which retains a little of its earlier charm. Avoid the strip it is now even tackier than previously. Only Mr and Mrs happy could be legitimately serious displeased with this hotel. For value for money (lateMarch when we were there) we happily overlook slight flaws, and recommend this hotel to anyone with common sense .
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Northants

An Unexpected Surprise!

Posted Mar 4, 2011 on Hotels.com
We booked the hotel as an inexpensive pre-spring break and hoped for a little relaxation and sunshine but got so much more! The hotel was part way through being modernised and our room had not been updated, but it was clean and much larger than expected with two balconies. The breakfast buffet had alot of choice, so if you didn't like the cooked food one day there was plenty of alternatives. The indoor pool was popular as the outdoor one was not heated, you could play table tennis (free) while watching the kids or chill on the sunlougers just outside the window. The area was much nicer than that of the old town, and it was a short stairway down to the stunning beach. Staff were fantastic - very helpful and friendly. Restaurants in the area were very good - we didn't have a bad meal there. Prices ranged from 5 - 7 euros on average. The restaurant right outside the hotel was very good with excellent service so we ate there twice. Wanting to book again October Half term..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

this was a cheap break and we got what we paid for

Posted Apr 18, 2010
This is a three star hotel and well qualifies for its rating. We were satisfied as we had downgraded from our usual holiday requirements and therefore got what we expected. I am pleased that we only booked b&b as the food in the hotel was not of the quality that we would have found acceptable. From the reviews of the hotel i read prior to going I can understand the critism of the reception staff - attitude not the best.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Been before but wont be going back

Posted Dec 14, 2009
I had been to the hotel before a couple of years ago, whilst not being fantastic it was cheap, clean and provided breakfast. We booked up again to go for a short weekend break in December only to find our room in need of a total makeover. It was clean but the comfort was not great, the TV was turned on once to find no English Channels. (this wasn't a big deal) The location being right on the beach was great, you can walk along the beach inot to Albuferia. In short I wont be going back to this hotel when ive been to others and not much cost difference.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Excellent 3* Hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2009
Could not fault the hotel for a good cheap break. Location excellent, rooms cleaned daily and lovely pool area. I wouldn't hesitate to go back next year.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Budget Basic hotel out of town

Posted Nov 11, 2009
When we first arrived at 11pm, we were made to wait around the hotel and told to come back at 1pm, then 1.30pm, then 2pm to check in, while there was a lot of drilling and building work going on in the lobby bar. They also kept our passports for the first night as apparently the night shift do the check-in's. When we finally got to our room, we had 2 twin beds pushed together after requesting a double room. the d├ęcor was very dated but he room had the necessities like a tv with french, english, german, portuguese and spanish channels, about 4 of each. There is, however, a nice 15-30 minute relaxing walk along the beach to the town with lots of bars/restaurants to choose from. Dinner and Breakfast are both buffet arrangements in the hotel. Having said all this I wouldn't say it was awful, but I'd not make this my first choice. Budget permitting, I'd much more recommend the Tivoli Carvoeiro if you plan a stay in the Algarve.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Croydon

Definately worth a visit

Posted Sep 14, 2009
Just arrived back and will admit I was impressed bearing in mind the negative reviews! The hotel & rooms could do with general updating but the grounds, views and location are wonderful. The staff were always polite and helpful. Would definately go back on a B & B basis as the Old Town has many restaurants and bars to cater for all tastes. One word of warning - Watch the tides when walking via the beach to the Old Town!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Berkshire, England

Our stay at the Auromar - Sept 2009

Posted Sep 13, 2009
Good points:- clean hotel and room, beautiful surroundings. hot breakfast with great coffee, good lunch with light/heavier options. Large pool with shallow area around for dipping feet, great views and access to beach! Good position for old/new town - the strip has lovely restaurants. Great Air con and shower in room. Bad points - exclusively German pool which was much nicer and our room overlooked but we couldn't use!! 2 twin beds pushed together.sun lounger area crowded with noisy children. lots of wasps. pool too cold. Lots of steps. Reception staff unhelpful. lots of extra charges - safety deposit box key, room key deposit, charge for phone call confirming airport transfer. Supermarket expensive. Easyjet experience awful,abnormally long check in, little food left on flight.