Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from liverpool

Great place to stay

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: We'll equipped modern facility
Cons: Everything was great for us
Location: Quiet venue close proximity to bars and restaurants, however on slight hill.
Great place to stay, good facilities good customer service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire

Huge apartment, home from home!

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: All of the above, dishwasher, washing machine, and enough pots, pans, china etc to cater for every meal if you so wish. Beautifully decorated.
Cons: Really could not have been better. 5* self catering accommodation.
Location: Not so keen on Praia Da Luz, as not much character. Several restaurants, but all much more expensive than in Lagos. Too British for my taste.
One bedroomed apartment, beautifully decorated with everything provided to make it home for a week. Two lovely swimming pools, and plenty of sunbeds and parasols. Close to beach, restaurants etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great apartments

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Just spent five nights at this apartment block and it is fantastic. Very clean and one bedroom twin room was massive with good size lounge and kitchen. Pools were great the gym and jacuzzi fab. We also had a massage at the spa which I would recommend. The restaurant attached called Hugo's does splendid food, the Portuguese chef cooked in front of us was delicious. Beach about a 10 minute walk with lots of restaurants and shops. Great place to go and is so friendly will defo go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Lovely hotel with good facilities close of beach

Posted Aug 31, 2014
We booked a last minute holiday in Estrela da Luz, had never been to Portugal. Found the whole experience good, people friendly and helpful. Hotel had everything you could want - loved the underground parking, spacious rooms and fully equipped kitchen. Ten minute walk to beach and a short drive from lots of other beaches and places of interest in the Algarve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely hotel great place to relax. Close to beach

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Really comfortable hotel. Great location. Perfect place to chill. Lots of good restaurants & trips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midlands, UK

Estrela da Luz/ Baia da Luz

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Spacious, clean, well maintained and all furniture and fittings were of a high standard.
Cons: Perhaps an on site shop for daily staples like bread, milk etc
Location: Watersports on the nearby beach including kayaking. Various boat trips from nearby Lagos. A clifftop walk from Lagos back to Praia da Luz
Initially I booked 2 rooms at Estrela da Luz (approx. 3 weeks before we were due to go). Unfortunately only 5 days before departure we received an e mail stating that they could not accommodate us but had space at their sister hotel Baia da Luz, We accepted the change and set off with some trepidation as to what we might be heading to. We needn't have worried. The staff were extremely helpful and very apologetic about the mix up. We were upgraded from 2 studio apartments to a one bedroom and a 2 bedroomed apartment along with passes for free access to all amenities at out original hotel (Estrela) just 10 mins walk away. Both apartments came fully equipped with a washing machine, 4 ring hob, oven/grill, microwave, dishwasher. They also provided complimentary teabags (a box of 10), 4 packs of washing tablets, 4 dishwasher tablets, 4 black bin bags, several sachets of coffee, 2 x 1.5litre bottles of water and 2 litre packs of milk. Certainly enough to keep us going for a couple of days at least. Extremely clean and well maintained. Also had a dvd player and a selection of dvds (I guess these would be useful with younger children). The local area was quiet (though a busy road not too far away). Walking distance to beach and local shops. We were a family of 4, parents in their 50's and 2 boys early 20's. No nightlife close by for the boys but several pubs. They were so busy during the day with water sports and the gym/swimming pool that they had several early nights anyway!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Lovely apartment very clean & well maintained

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Hotel in an ideal location. We had a beautiful apartment on that 3rd floor with sea views overlooking adult pool. Apartment was spacious over 2 floors with 2 bathrooms. The balcony could be accessed from the lounge, kitchen and bedroom. Liked that there 3 swimming pools. We had no problem getting a sun lounger. Only ate in the hotel a couple of times as there are plenty of places to eat in Luz. The food was OK. Staff were very helpful. Used the tennis courts a couple of times - reasonable rates. Second visit to Luz & really enjoyed our stay would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucester UK

Very pleasant stay in July 2014

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Everything. Location good, rooms spacious and very well equipped and very clean. Toiletries were lovely - Rituals range. Gardens very well kept.
Cons: The check out time should be later - especially if you have a late flight, even though you can use all the hotel facilities for the day if you want to
Location: Lovely small town, gorgeous beach, but gets busy. Plenty of good restaurants nearby - especially the Fort and the Dolphin. Lots of water activities.
Stayed for just 3 nights in a studio suite, which was surprisingly big and had everything we could have wanted. Fully equipped kitchen with all integrated appliances, so meant we could catch up on washing etc. Everything was spotlessly clean. Requested a sea view and they were able to give us a suite with a sea and garden view from our balcony on first floor, so were very impressed with this. Reception greeted us very well and gave us information on area, as well as plan of resort and map of town. Found all staff very helpful. It was nice to have an adult only pool, even though some children did seem to be in there sometimes, but that was down to parents letting them! Good location, short walk to the main beach and main restaurants. Only negative thing would be the 10am check out time, which is far too early! Reception did point out that we could use the facilities for the day if we wanted to stay there longer, but we were moving to a different area, so left at 10am, but would be annoyed if we had a late flight, as would be a long time to wait. Didn't eat at restaurants, so cannot review these.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisbech

Absolutely amazing apartment

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Wonderful staff, fantastic apartment, brilliant facilities, spotlessly clean, a fantastic holiday all round, highly recommend to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Brilliant hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Unfortunately the hair dryer in my room stopped working one evening. Housekeeping replaced this with a new one within the hour
Cons: More room around the adult swimming pool
Location: Walked to the beach front in Luz within minutes, plenty of restaurants and bars to choose.
We have recently returned from a six night stay at this hotel, fantastic. Staff very helpful and attentive. Linen changed alternative days. Good location and excellent facilities.