Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely hotel great place to relax. Close to beach

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Really comfortable hotel. Great location. Perfect place to chill. Lots of good restaurants & trips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midlands, UK

Estrela da Luz/ Baia da Luz

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Spacious, clean, well maintained and all furniture and fittings were of a high standard.
Cons: Perhaps an on site shop for daily staples like bread, milk etc
Location: Watersports on the nearby beach including kayaking. Various boat trips from nearby Lagos. A clifftop walk from Lagos back to Praia da Luz
Initially I booked 2 rooms at Estrela da Luz (approx. 3 weeks before we were due to go). Unfortunately only 5 days before departure we received an e mail stating that they could not accommodate us but had space at their sister hotel Baia da Luz, We accepted the change and set off with some trepidation as to what we might be heading to. We needn't have worried. The staff were extremely helpful and very apologetic about the mix up. We were upgraded from 2 studio apartments to a one bedroom and a 2 bedroomed apartment along with passes for free access to all amenities at out original hotel (Estrela) just 10 mins walk away. Both apartments came fully equipped with a washing machine, 4 ring hob, oven/grill, microwave, dishwasher. They also provided complimentary teabags (a box of 10), 4 packs of washing tablets, 4 dishwasher tablets, 4 black bin bags, several sachets of coffee, 2 x 1.5litre bottles of water and 2 litre packs of milk. Certainly enough to keep us going for a couple of days at least. Extremely clean and well maintained. Also had a dvd player and a selection of dvds (I guess these would be useful with younger children). The local area was quiet (though a busy road not too far away). Walking distance to beach and local shops. We were a family of 4, parents in their 50's and 2 boys early 20's. No nightlife close by for the boys but several pubs. They were so busy during the day with water sports and the gym/swimming pool that they had several early nights anyway!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Lovely apartment very clean & well maintained

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Hotel in an ideal location. We had a beautiful apartment on that 3rd floor with sea views overlooking adult pool. Apartment was spacious over 2 floors with 2 bathrooms. The balcony could be accessed from the lounge, kitchen and bedroom. Liked that there 3 swimming pools. We had no problem getting a sun lounger. Only ate in the hotel a couple of times as there are plenty of places to eat in Luz. The food was OK. Staff were very helpful. Used the tennis courts a couple of times - reasonable rates. Second visit to Luz & really enjoyed our stay would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucester UK

Very pleasant stay in July 2014

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Everything. Location good, rooms spacious and very well equipped and very clean. Toiletries were lovely - Rituals range. Gardens very well kept.
Cons: The check out time should be later - especially if you have a late flight, even though you can use all the hotel facilities for the day if you want to
Location: Lovely small town, gorgeous beach, but gets busy. Plenty of good restaurants nearby - especially the Fort and the Dolphin. Lots of water activities.
Stayed for just 3 nights in a studio suite, which was surprisingly big and had everything we could have wanted. Fully equipped kitchen with all integrated appliances, so meant we could catch up on washing etc. Everything was spotlessly clean. Requested a sea view and they were able to give us a suite with a sea and garden view from our balcony on first floor, so were very impressed with this. Reception greeted us very well and gave us information on area, as well as plan of resort and map of town. Found all staff very helpful. It was nice to have an adult only pool, even though some children did seem to be in there sometimes, but that was down to parents letting them! Good location, short walk to the main beach and main restaurants. Only negative thing would be the 10am check out time, which is far too early! Reception did point out that we could use the facilities for the day if we wanted to stay there longer, but we were moving to a different area, so left at 10am, but would be annoyed if we had a late flight, as would be a long time to wait. Didn't eat at restaurants, so cannot review these.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisbech

Absolutely amazing apartment

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Wonderful staff, fantastic apartment, brilliant facilities, spotlessly clean, a fantastic holiday all round, highly recommend to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Brilliant hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Unfortunately the hair dryer in my room stopped working one evening. Housekeeping replaced this with a new one within the hour
Cons: More room around the adult swimming pool
Location: Walked to the beach front in Luz within minutes, plenty of restaurants and bars to choose.
We have recently returned from a six night stay at this hotel, fantastic. Staff very helpful and attentive. Linen changed alternative days. Good location and excellent facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Lovely hotel close to the beach and local restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Quality and value

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Clean and comfortable accommodation, especially for family groups and excellent on-site facilities.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind
Location: Close to the centre of Praia da Luz, a relatively quiet resort with excellent beach and good restaurants.
As a returning visitor to Estrella I knew what to expect but was impressed by the enduring quality of the accommodation and facilities. Excellent spa, pool and bar/restaurant areas. Good value too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhondda

Pleasantly surprised, what a hotel, fantastic!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Everything, would definitely go again Car park in basement garage
Cons: Nothing. The other half did mention it would be better with a bigger pool
Location: Location is ok.5 min walk to the beach,plenty of restaurants to choose from,beautiful beaches in Luz/Lagos Lagos 5 miles away, pretty town, harbour
We had never been to Portugal before so didn't know what to expect. We arrived in Faro at about 10am and then picked up the hire car for our 50 odd mile journey to Luz. We arrived at EDL at midday, 4 hours before check in. We went to reception and by 12.10 we were in our apartment. AND what an apartment. It was massive. Lovely suede double sofa x2, with samsung flatscreen tv. Patio doors onto the balcony overlooking the sea. modern kitchen with all appliances inc hob/oven,microwave,dishwasher,w machine,coffeemaker,fridge freezer every utensil and pots n pans you can think of. Modern bathroom with bath/shower and double sinks immaculately clean. Double bedroom with extra balcony. So thats the room -it was perfect The hotel itself was modern and very clean with lovely pool area(adults only at the top pool and kids down the bottom)and beautiful gardens. The outside pool serves snacks and a refreshing Sumersby cider and Superbock. The bar area is immaculate with a lovely restaurant and a games room with 4-5 flatscreen tv(ideal for the world cup) Serves a nice pint of Superbock(local beer about 3euro) and the s'berry daqurai (5euro)was freshly made in front of your very eyes and tasted great. We had access to the gym aswell which we didn't use but it seemed to have all the latest technogym equipment. Free use of Jacuzzi, indoor pool, and changing facilities. 5 min walk to the beach and choice of good bars/restaurants/supermarkets. Excellent hotel,location,staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ollie from Henley

Best in town

Posted Jun 28, 2014
2min to bus stop and beach. Supermarket 200 meters away. Amazing apartment, had a fabulous see view. Kitchen looked brand new. Bathroom had terrific water pressure, best shower i've had in any Hotel ay this price. The Gym is really well equiped with Techno Gym and free weights, even a smith machine with over 120kg of discs. Lagos is 20mins on bus, here we found breathtaking beaches with lovely little beach side cafe's. First time here, but going back in a couple of months.