Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Disappointing experience

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Good location, close to the beach and local amenities.
Cons: Cleanliness! It is not healthy to sleep in mouldy rooms.
Location: Excellent location; close to the beach and local amenities.
Booked and paid 11 months in advance for a 3 star hotel; first room we were given was mouldy from the ceiling to the floor. Moved later to another one less mouldy but still filthy and smelly. Bedding stained, see-through, with holes, old bumpy pillows, mattress protector stiff and making rustling noise. Could not sleep at all from the noise coming from the street and local pubs / clubs; moved to a back side room, it was quieter. Bathroom filthy, covered in lime-scale, no hair-dryer, shower curtain was white, turned orange - brown from filth and lime-scale. Bath incredibly dirty, brown - grey colour, used to be white. Fridge not working, but replaced on my request. The whole place need to be cleaned, fully refurbished, it 's so out of date. Even plants at the front door are completely withered, dead. I suffer allergies on dust and mould, had to take my antihistamine drugs as a prevention while staying in this hotel. I have taken photos of the rooms, would be happy to forward them to you should you want.
2 out of 5
by jennifer from united kingdom

Well it was....

Posted May 31, 2014
Cons: Hotel needs an update from the 1980s
Location: Beach and great resturants
Expedia said there was a bar and pool at this hotel.... It's closed til summer, that would have been nice to know. There is a night club across the street so if you want an ocean view, don't plan on sleeping til 4am. Hotel staff was very helpful! But my shower head didn't work so showering was an interesting event. Luckily it's so close to the beach and surrounded by many delicious resturants I didn't need to spend much time at the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by cv from EU

good for the price

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed in here for one night and was pleased overall. The hotel is extremely well located almost as close to the beach as is possible. Plenty of places to eat and drink right next to the door. This in turn means that noise in the room specially at night is almost unavoidable. This in spite of there being double glass windows and a double door to the balcony. Room was spacious and clean though the furniture and TV were clearly very old but in decent condition. Good bathroom that looked recently refurbished. Nice full bathtub and very good towels. Decent Wi-Fi only in the lobby (maybe also on the lower floors but don't count on it). Breakfast provided but I didn't have it though I did nave a look and it looked very basic. My room had a balcony that faced away from the beach but I suppose sea facing balconies do exist. Liked my stay and for the same or similar rate would most definitely stay in this hotel again. Praia da Rocha is a very beautiful place even with all the concrete around it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hotel central to pubs and eateries

Posted Oct 26, 2013
Pros: As regards the hotel overall you get what you pay for as its dated basic and dated but, we found it excellent value for money.
Cons: General decoration that won't add costs for accommodation.
Location: The location is central to the beachfront. The beach is beautiful and its delightful to walk along the boardwalk that streaches along the whole lenght
Our main concern was particularly the reviews of the noise from the entertainment outside. We were pleasantly surprised as we got a room in the back of the hotel. We also noted there was double windows and double doors to the balcony which helped reduced further noise. We slept soundly each night. The staff were very pleasant and efficient. We booked room only as it suited us in that we were out late at night and we didn't rush to get breakfast each morning. The room could do with a paint job. The bathroom was excellent and the toweling and bedding changed every day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by pete from crewkerne

cheap cheerful

Posted May 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
idea for what we wanted which was somewhere to put our heads down. For the price it is ideal and very close to all the action in praia da rocha
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brindusa from uk

Great hotel for a holiday!

Posted Oct 25, 2012
Pros: Bathroom which was new and modern decorated
Cons: N/A
Location: The location is the best one.
We stayed for 9 nights in this hotel and we could say that it was a very good choice. The hotel has a very good location ,very close to the beech. The hotel is very clean,the room was comfortable and well decorated ,air con,the bathroom was amazing:big,new and very clean! Hot water at any time of the night or day. The staff was friendly and very nice and helpful. Praia Da Rocha is a very good choice for a holiday! Well done Avenida Praia!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mike

Not for a longer stay

Posted Jul 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
Excellent location. Excellent staff. See-through towels and sheets. Included breakfast had no variation during our stay and it was very basic. Music from surrounding bars can be a problem for early sleepers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2012 on Hotels.com