Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helen from Dundee

Lovely, quiet hotel.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
We spent a week at this hotel and it was an ideal location for our holiday. It is situated about 25 minutes walk away from Albufeira Old Town or indeed a short taxi journey if you prefer. There are a few nice restaurants near the hotel if you don't want to go into town every night. The staff are very friendly and attentive and will happily book trips, tours or taxis and give advice about places to visit. We had a day trip to Lisbon, a half day trip to Lagos, Sagres and Cape St Vincent and an open top bus tour. About 15 minutes walk from the hotel to Albufeira marina with lots of places to eat and drink. We booked a boat trip here and spent 3 lovely hours being shown the caves and coastline. Very happy with our choice of hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliant place to stay

Posted May 19, 2014
Everything was good the only thing i would have asked is for the jacuzzi to be better maintained but I only wanted to use it once everything else was perfect and would definitely stay again. I would recommend a hire car for this hotel one hundred percent unless u love a long walk
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by maudie

Close to beach really made to feel welcome.

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: The food the staff and the overall experience .
Cons: Matress toppers, and maybe keep the patio area around the pool tidier.
Location: You do need a car, we visited the zoo, the markets and old town.
This was our third stay the food was excellent and very tasty. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I found the bed too hard , but it was not too much of a problem the pool area did need some weeding done around the patio area but also that was not too much of a problem. We had a very relaxed and enjoyable stay and will go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Location and views
Cons: Dinner slightly overpriced
Location: Near beach and Albufeira town.
.Clean hotel room and comfortable bed. Hotel is near beach so good location. Helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gavin from lancashire

understated quality

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Pros: size
Cons: nil
Location: as above
An hotel seldom found today with old fashioned service and well thought facilities.Small and almost intimate with exceptionly friendly staff, perhaps the only downside is the remote position making a hire car essential. We had a very nice stay and would recommend to my friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel away from discos.

Posted Aug 4, 2013
Clean, modern and quiet with good pool and access to nearby beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2014
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your comments. We try our best to satisfy all our guests with cleanliness, good service, attention and sympathy in all our areas. Combining our quietness with our location nearby S. Rafael beach or just about 2.5km to the centre of Albufeira, we are the ideal place for a nice, peaceful holiday. You are very welcome if you decide to visit us again. Best compliments
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

3 OUT OF 10

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Pros: The one meal we had, good price and nice meal
Cons: The pool side smell, and waiter
Location: close to the beach, but disappointing as you walk past a five star hotel which i wish i payed the extra for
Very Dull, no a four star hotel, more like a 2/3 Smells of cat poo on the grass by the sun bed nears the pool Resturant waiter was very rude
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2014
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your comments. We're sorry that you did not enjoy your holiday with us or that you had not got the time to tell us your in-satisfaction, so we could try to solve what so ever was bothering you. Our team is always looking for the best holidays for everybody. and improving in all the ways possible whenever the clients give us the opportunity to. Kind regards
2 out of 5
by Mehdi from London

Not a four star qualty hotel! Suited for elders.

Posted Jul 11, 2013
Pros: Free wi-fi, pleasant staff (Nelson), quiet vicinity, excellent sea view from downstairs lounge
Cons: Isolated, rooms weren't swept, darkly lit corridors, not enough variety in restaurant menu, poor quality TV, no onsite activites for children.
Location: Very isolated. Nice restaurant around 10 mins walk called Mar Al Zur but no where else to eat. Reasonably close to beaches but very rocky paths.
We booked the Maritur for a week's stay but had to move out after a few days as we were completely isolated. We spoke to a few, mostly older guests there and they shared our concern but they wanted a more relaxing holiday, away from the town. As some have observed, though it is close the two beaches, you have to navigate your way through some treacherous, hilly roads before you get there. Whilst the hotel itself is pleasant (the staff are very friendly and Nelson on front desk was very nice in particular), it really isn't close to any amenities. Getting a taxi to Old/New Town frequently isn't practical and costs can mount up. The onsite restaurant which served a decent dinner and buffet breakfast was again pleasant but there didn't seem to be a huge variety (. Rooms were ok in size but the view was over waste land, so a sea view would come highly recommended. The TV was an old, small CRT one which was placed high above in the corner and the one major gripe we had was that our floor didn't seem to be swept! The pools were both large and well maintained with a good number of sun loungers. The corridors are dark and dimly lit. In summary, I've written this review based on the hotel being four star, which the standard is most certainly not (Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Hotel, which was the hotel we moved to, most certainly is on the other hand). It's not ideal for families with young children like us but would suit older folk far more. A car is a must.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2014
Dear guests Thanks very much for you comment, it is important to us. Let us explain some parts of it: All the information you can find about us says we are 500 meters to the beach and 2.5km to the centre old town as well as we are on a top cliff, so it is no surprise that you have about 10 minutes walking to the beach or take a taxi to the town, we sorry if you understood it some other way. Also about the view to the sea, let us remind the you have book a standard room and we upgrade you to a sea side view free of costs as well as agreed not to charge the all stay, when you intended to move. We always try our best to satisfy our costumers and we thank you for the kind words about our staff. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Howard from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK

Great relaxing break for couples

Posted Jul 10, 2013
Pros: The peacefulness all around.
Cons: None.
Location: Perfect for the Sao Rafael beach. Taxi ride required to visit old Albufeira. The hotel will order one for you and the wait is very short.
The staff were so obliging. My wife was 50 during the break and the hotel laid on not one but two bottles of bubbly! The pool area was very quite and no rush for beds. The pool side massage facility added to the relaxation. The hotel is ideally located for the fantastic Sao Rafael beach which has to be visited. Breakfast was very relaxed with plenty on offer. Absolutely no noise either within or around the hotel. Great view of the sea so book a sea view upgrade.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2014
Dear Guests Thank you very much for your comments that are very important for us. We appreciate your kind words to our staff and your satisfaction overall. Our hotel is located in a really nice area, quite and relaxing and among with our facilities, we all try our best for every guest's satisfaction. Please feel free to come back any time. You're very welcome. Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay.

Posted Jul 5, 2013
Pros: The staff, cleanliness of rooms and location
Location: Fantastic!
The decor is a bit old ( think 90s colours...) but having said that the room was extremely clean and very comfortable . The staff are very good and they really do their best to make the guests feel welcome. The location is perfect! Situated close ( 10mins walk) to one of the most beautiful beaches I've seen in the Algarve. The other one , Sao Rafael is about 15 min. walk and it's equally very good. Albufeira old town is about 10 min drive.( there are plenty of taxis to come back after a night out...) The breakfast was good with hot and continental options. I really recommend and I would definitely stay there again. Hmm...Wish I was there now...
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2014
Dear Guest Let us thank you for your comments. It is important to us the satisfaction of our guests and it feel great that we could make your holidays so good, even if you don't like so much the decoration. As you said we are surrounded with nice beaches, close to everything, but in a quiet place, where everybody can rest and all our staff do their best to provide you the best service. You're very welcome whenever you wish to visit us again. Best regards