Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap but not always cheerful

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Despite fresh paint it still felt stuck in a time wrap. Air con not working. On last night maid failed to leave any bath towels. The inclusive breakfast is handy for early starts and it is kept clean. But they do need to invest in proper pillows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from england

Ideal location for strip and beach at quieter end

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Clean.It's away from the noise of the strip even though its at the top end.staff were pleasant and helpful.
Cons: The breakfast could be better as it wasnt that hot and the juices are in a jug which is not chilled.There are 3 lifts which take forever to work
Location: Top of strip, plenty of restaurants and bars, half hr walk to old town and the beach oura is at bottom of strip
Clean and basic.Breakfast wasn't excellent.Pool was round and not very deep which suited if you wanted to cool down.Would go back there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steve from Swindon

Overall...very pleased

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: The pool and the surrounding patio area was kept spotlessly clean at all times
The hotel is in a good location ,situated at the very top end of ' the strip', away from the noise but only a short walk to all the bars and restaurants. The hotel itself was clean, staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms were big and benefitted from large patio doors which gave a fabulous view .A minor ...and it is minor negative is that the shower/bath could do with an upgrade. We stayed bed and breakfast and found the buffet on offer to be very satisfactory. Away from the hotel the nearest beach (Oura) is about a 20 minute walk and when you get there a very good bar awaits you . I would also recommend the restaurant called the Martinique very good food , reasonable prices and terrific staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marie from Bristol, UK

Hotel Montechoro near the strip.

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Pros: Expedia
Cons: I think it could slowly be updated though I emphasise that it is in a good state of repair.
Location: Great for adults and children alike with plenty of shops, cafe's and bars.
The location of the hotel is perfect, just a couple of minutes from the "strip" but far enough away to not hear all the activity. It is a clean and friendly hotel where the reception staff are helpful. I think one of its best services is its shuttle bus which operates to time and takes you to the beach at the bottom of the strip or the old town with its quaint shopping experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

great value

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great value and great location, no complaints at all, perfect for a group of mates going away.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by maggie from Dublin

Great Holiday

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: Pool was lovely / Paino Bar had great cocktails and lovely staff
Cons: Some of the reception staff were not very helpful
Location: Some nice pubs and lovely on Restraunts the way to the lively strip
Hotel Montechoro is a lovely hotel a bit dated but in a good location a short walk away from the strip, the pool is lovely and pool and bar staff were friendly. You could have a nice cocktail in the Paino Bar when opened. Hotel management could do with fixing the name on the top of the hotel some of the bulbs were gone and the name on the top of the hotel says HOT MONTECHO at night which is funny but should be fixed. Its a pity the shop beside the Paino Bar was never opened as there was some nice bits there I would have bought. Overall we had a great holiday there and would go back again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel not much more

Posted Jul 23, 2013
Pros: It had a bed a shower the air con worked and the lifts would work most of the time which is useful when there are 10 floors.
Cons: Tired and needs modernising
Location: About a far away from the beach as you can get about 1.2 miles we would regularly walk it in 20 mins downhill.
You can see why when the hotel was first open it was the premier hotel in the region. These days it looks a little tired and needs modernising. ironically the staff also look a little tired and could do with going on holiday. if you are just looking for a clean hotel where you can get you head down at night and not need much more then this is a hotel I would recommend.. If you are looking for a pristine modern hotel with all the mod cons and spot on customer service then I would not recommend this hotel. As with everything you pay go what you get.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Give it a try

Posted Jul 18, 2013
Pros: Location and friendly staff
Cons: Only that it was a little tired and needed modernising
Location: Nice and quiet away from the "strip"
Very good service and staff very pleasant. Overall hotel could benefit by an upgrade modernisation and decoration.excellent location and very relaxing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short stay in Portugal

Posted Jun 4, 2013
Pros: Close to town, if you don't mind a walk
Only stayed 3 nights, but people on Reception very helpful. Friend joined me for breakfast one morning for very reasonable price. Left early and provided with a "Breakfast Bag" which was very disappointing- a cheese roll and a bottle of water, but was pleased that something was provided at 5:30 am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kapgaad from UK

Good Views

Posted May 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was very nice but very quite. Good free bus service to beach and Alberfura. Lovely pool and nice surroundings, staff very frendly and helpful. Good value for money.