Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carolina from uk

Hotel Oriental, Praia da Rocha, Portugal

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The staff were very helpful and friendly and it's general location was excellent.
Cons: The only aspect I would suggest to improve is the bathroom, it was in good condition and very clean, but a bit dated.
Location: The location to the beach was perfect. There are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby and it's only a short walk to the marina.
Excellent from the moment we arrived. The hotel itself was lovely, the staff were brilliant and everything was no more than a short walk away. The pool was beautiful and the beach was a picture of golden paradise. We really couldn't recommend Praia da Rocha enough and hotel Oriental is everything that is good about the place. We'd happily holiday there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Caz from Suffolk

Excellent hotel close to the beach.

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Cleanliness of the rooms and all the surrounding areas. Outside tidiness also impressive.
Location: The hotel is in a good position for the beach and also for plenty of places to eat.
The Oriental is an excellent hotel which is very close to the beach and also to the centre of Praia da Rocha. The food is well cooked and well presented. The Buffet breakfast was plentiful and with great variety. As we were there in early March we did not use the pool but it was very clean and if it had been warmer we would have used it. Will certainly use this hotel again!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dini from London

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: The hotel was really clean, love the pool area as well.
Cons: If they could have an all inclusive deal.
Location: Visit Alvor the fisherman's village its very beautiful.
It was an overall great experience at Hotel Oriental.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Caz from Suffolk, UK

Fantastic hotel!

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.
Cons: I don't think there is anything that I would change.
Location: The hotel has some steps (quite steep) down to the beach. There is a promenade with several cafe's along it so there are places to eat and drink.
The Oriental sits on a cliff above a beautiful beach. The hotel was really clean and the reception staff were very helpful. Breakfast is buffet style but there is plenty of choice. The rooms are well proportioned and kept very clean. We have enjoyed staying at this hotel so much that we have already booked for next year!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mayer from Berkshire, UK

Nice hotel. Easy access to beach from pool area.

Posted Sep 4, 2013
Pros: Good service and comfortable accommodation
Cons: Hotel should provide car parking facility
Location: Very good restaurants nearby at the marina. Close to shops and has a lot of activities for kiddies.
Clean and comfortable hotel, good breakfast menu. Quite and nice relaxing environment. One drawback, no private car park, find parking in public areas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 7, 2013
Pros: Location
This hotel is in a great location right on the beach. Very friendly, helpful staff. Make sure you get a room on the pool side though as the other side can get very noisy at night with music from the club on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carole from Dorset, UK

Lovely hotel in superb location

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Pros: everything
Cons: breakfast rather predictable although plenty of it
Location: superb views
Lovely hotel in a superb position overlooking the beach-probably the best frontline as it is elevated and has a garden area as well as the pool area (others seemed to only have pool/paved areas). Steps give direct access to the wide beach. We had a lovely large room at the front with kettle and fridge-others have kitchenette. Staff were friendly and helpful, especially our maid. Breakfast was good although similar everyday. It was possible to sit outside or enjoy the lovely views from the dining room. Staff were proactive if towels left unattended for too long so no problems with loungers. The hotel is at the end of the street so not effected by noise. Bus stop right outside, where you can travel to Portimao or Alvor - get an all day ticket valid for all buses. Use water taxi from the marina to cross to Ferragudo. Good value, well presented food at F restaurant along 'strip' (went twice) also lovely quiet restaurant, with superb view of sunset overlooking beach at far end of Rocha (near Presidente hotel,) Bar Cloque(?) Enjoyed a relaxing week. Would definitely return to this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barry from New Jersey

Hotel Review

Posted Jul 12, 2013
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Some faciities need to be updated
Location: Fantasitic
Great Location, Great Hotel right on the beach. It is an older facility but well maintained. There are some things that could be upgraded. My biggest complaint is that they nickel and dime you for everything. Pay extra for a safe lock, faster internet, towels, scale to weigh luggage, shoe shine, etc. Just charge a little more in the base fee and give these items for free. It would make staying a better experinece. Great food and dining room Hotel has NO PARKING but parking was available on adjacent streets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very nice place

Posted Jul 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very pleasant hotel in a very good location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kieran and Una from Rhode. Co offaly

100% Perfect except for one unexplainable thing..

Posted Jul 4, 2013
Adored this hotel last year and this year to a point...One change that made no sense to me at all was that the beautiful luxurious sun loungers that they had last year are still there however this year they've taken the super deluxe cushions off and left just the bare lounger but no cushion. These are almost impossible to lie on, most uncomfortable.This now forces you to leave the absolutely beautiful garden and pool area and go to the beach. The hotel then looses all of the money you spend sitting by the pool for the day, your drinks ,snacks, lunches icecreams etc. I know this sounds petty but i'd worked hard to save for that return trip on the basis that of my last years review A little bit of heaven...Staff,rooms, food and everything else were perfect.