Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from ISLE OF WIGHT

Hotel Delphim very nice hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2011
very nice hotel, good food, staff very helpful and friendly, would certainly go back to Hotel Delfim but not during school holidays, my mistake!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from toronto, Canada

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2010 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Hornchurch, Essex

looking forward to the next time

Posted Oct 22, 2009
Although a bit outdated, the hotel is beautifully maintained and cleaned. The gardens are excellent and the views to die for! Breakfast is fantastic and sitting on the terrace to eat it in October is a big bonus. This is our fifth time to this hotel and once again it didn't disappoint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Suitable for the maturer person

Posted Oct 5, 2009
The hotel was clean and pleasant enough, though it seemed stuck in another time zone. However, for a quiet holiday (which is what we wanted) the hotel was more than suitable. Breakfast was the same everyday and the "hot" food just wasn't hot. I think the food and the pool had something in common......COLD!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great location, great hotel & great price.

Posted Jun 21, 2009
Lovely hotel, and we got a great room. The pool bar looked like fun!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Great Hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2009 on Hotels.com
The Hotel itself, staff, food, pool area etc were all great. I could have done with a small fridge in the bedroom particularly for overnight thirst.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Jersey

Still good and getting better

Posted Nov 4, 2008
I've been to the Delfim many times and love it. I just look for a comfortable, relaxing space, a good breakfast, minimal entertainment and some atention when I ask for it (I don't do lively!). The Delfim offers just that - with a terrific quiet beach thrown in. Sea view rooms offer lovely sunsets. I was concerned by reviewers saying it was 'tired.' I need not have worried. The rooms and public spaces were all fine and while a 'freshen up' will be good, the hotel is still very spacious and comfortable. The week we were there the hotel did have an air of winding-down about it which was a little strange until we discovered that it was about to close for winter in order to carry out some re-furbishments. No one could tell us what these were other than new lifts, but that wouldn't take five months! Any improvements will simply upgrade what is already a very good hotel. I will certainly return again. To be fair to families though, it's not really a place for kids, there's not much for them to do so a car is necessary to get out to other attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Harwich

Very good value

Posted Sep 19, 2008
Excellent service, good breakfast, clean and spacious room. Choice of areas to sunbathe, etc - by the pool, quiet grass area alongside or nearby beach. The only downside is that the hotel pool is very, very cold - so much so that hardly anyone swam in it which could be a plus if you don't mind risking hypothermia when you swim. Hotel has good location approx 15 mins walk (or euro 4 taxi) to Alvor village centre/harbour area where there are lots of lovely restaurants. Beach is next door, short walk down a steep hill.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Porto, Portugal

Restaurant should be improved

Posted Sep 17, 2008
The waiters at "à la carte" meals were not properly trained to help at table, the food choice and vatiety was poor and the quality far from outstanding. The swiming pool is excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

The beach was one of the best ........

Posted Aug 11, 2008
A little disappointed. Took my 2 grandchildren, 13 years and 7 years. The room was not very big had one double bed and 2 Z-beds (put-u-up). The bathroom was very clean and looked as if it had been recently renovated. Only problem was that there was an awful smell coming from, what looked like, a grille coverd hole. To be fair I complained and it was dealt with very quickly. And no more smells! The both swimming pools (indoor and outdoor)are not as clean as I would expect from a 4 star hotel. Most of the staff are very friendly and speak very good English. Alvor is OK but there are so many Irish bars! WHY? The best part of Alvor is down by the harbour; although there is sometimes sewage going into the sea. And the smell is AWFUL! I don't know how anyone can eat in any of the restaurants that are close by! But they do!