Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Classy Hotel in quiet area

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Chilled place with a lot of character
Very nice Hotel with friendly staff. Main part is a beautiful old palace with history and charm , attached is some modern rooms built into the hillsides. Very good food and a pleasant area for sunbathing with pool , not much so hire a car if not looking for relaxed quiet break
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel, would recommend

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Estoi is a lovely village nearby with bars and restaurants. Catch the local bus into Faro.
Loved my stay in this hotel. Beautiful hotel, rooms are large. Great views over Faro. Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast is relaxed and lots of choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from j

The hotel is lovely quite location

Posted Aug 3, 2014
The hotel needs some talc there are a areas that need painting cleaning and reception need to be smarter the desk is chipped the door are worn it just needs talc and it would be amazing
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely building and grounds.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
The hotel itself is lovely, the old building and grounds are beautiful. Unfortunately when we arrived the door was locked, the telephone number on expedia is incorrect and we had to stand outside not knowing if we were even going to get in that night or not. We had lunch the next day at the pool bar and it was disgusting, we sent it back. It was only a cheese toasty and fries but the bread was untoasted and stale and the chips were frozen, soggy and under cooked. You have to try really hard to make something so simple so awful. I'm glad we didn't stay for dinner. Such a shame that the service and quality of food doesn't live up to the old building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Co Durham

Not flawless but enjoyable Pousada experience

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Old palace lovely but smaller than I expected. Rooms all in rather brutal modern block adjoining palace.Rooms large & well equipped ,excellent pool.Service in bar woefully slow,also not enough staff at breakfast(this was otherwise fine).Free parking.Easy to find from A22.Seems expensive compared to other Pousadas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Spinney from Farnborough

Hotel to quitely soak up Portugal

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: The attention to detail regarding the hotel rooms, and being Portugal good that everything works.
Cons: Some of the fittings are now over three years old so they will need updating in the near future.
Location: Great location if you want to explore the hills to the north of Faro. The Camra of Sao Bras has some excellent walks in the countryside.
Second time we have stayed at this hotel which still delights with its excellant position looking down over the plains to Faro.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by antony from uk

The Mausoleum

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: The lighting in the rooms ,furniture in the old part of the hotel is shabby and past it's sell by date , more staff especially for breakfast .
Location: In the middle of no where , nothing other than Faro is near , which looks like a war zone .
The hotel is basically an annex to a former grand house . The original part is dark dull and has a lifeless ambience while the accommodation lacks any appeal other than functionality . The rooms are large and the linen clean and of a very good quality , but the beds are not too comfortable . Air con silent and effective . The breakfast buffet is well catered but poorly managed and it is not efficiently run as a consequence . Pool area is uninviting and lacks any The staff are great , very helpful and kind . A car is essential as the hotel is too far from anything of immediate interest and I cannot really think why anyone would really stay here after knowing this . Parking is great , there is an underground free car park to the hotel .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jamie from Scotland

Great location for a quiet relaxing trip

Posted May 17, 2014
Pros: Expedia search.
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: The hotel is situated in the village of Estoi and is about 20-30 mins from the airport at Faro. Very narrow streets and a very sleepy village.
Just finished a three night stay at this Pousada. All I can say is BRILLIANT. The rooms are large and very clean. Bathroom very large. Air conditioning worked a treat, which was great as we were getting high twenties in temps. The breakfast was superb, with a choice at the buffet of hot or cold or (in my case, both). It is an intersting concept, mixing the grandeur of an old palace with the provision of a modern well equipped hotel. My wife and I are looking forward to the opportunity of another visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Blair from The Hague, The Netherlands

A treat in the hills

Posted May 17, 2014
Pros: The extensive renovations have created a very comfortable, classic look and experience for guests. Great pool location to cool off or catch some sun.
Cons: By the end of the breakfast hours, offerings were pretty sparse and not replenished, so make your way down to eat about an hour before breakfast ends.
Location: Just 15-20 minutes' drive from Faro, this would be a great spot to use as a base for exploring the eastern Algarve before moving on toward Lagos, etc.
We booked the pousada as a local spot to spend the night after arriving at Faro airport in the evening, not anticipating that the hotel could be a vacation destination on its own. Beautiful views from the grounds, outdoor and indoor pool options, excellent meal options and large rooms.