Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hot water most of the time not available.

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: Very close to main square.
Cons: Fix the hot water problem. If it was available, it only lasted a few minutes.
Nice road, close to main square. Friendly owners. They will send a taxi to airport to pick you up or bring you back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Brian and Leanne from Australia

Perfect Getaway

Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a fantastic time. Our host Louie was just fantastic - so helpfull, nothing seem too much trouble for him. Room was great, fantastic 3 course evening meal, great swimming pool and beautiful gardens all making it the perfect getaway. it was so peaceful I would highly recommend the hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good value for money

Posted Aug 12, 2013
The rooms were well priced and the owner/manager could not do enough for you :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Shields from Macclesfield

Good location , friendly host , comfy double bed,

Posted Aug 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good quiet location , great gardens and pool area , We really enjoyed our stay, the rooms are basic but excellent value for money. Clean towels every day, rooms cleaned every day. Hot water in short supply at times. Luis the host made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The description of the location was not very accurate and it is in fact a ten to fifteen euro taxi ride away from the marina at Villamora. Parking for cars is good, right next to the hotel gates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by tracey from fife

lovely quiet retreat

Posted Jul 30, 2013
Pros: the peacefulness and the informality of it, it felt like being in someone,s home and the pool area was very quiet and owner was so welcoming
Cons: for the price you pay i don,t think anything much more is needed,
Location: nothing to do in vicinity unless you,re up for a walk in a village location but ten minutes away in car to resort centre
lovely intimate and friendly place, was much further from resort centre and beach than what some sites suggested though, it costs about 10 euros by taxi to resort so chose to just stay by the pool each day as my friend and i were only there for 4 days. We had pool area to ourselves most of this time so felt more like our own little villa, the rooms are basic but were cleaned every day and were more than sufficient for our needs, there are no shops or bars in the close vicinity but my friend and i found a little local supermarket about a mile away which was extremely cheap so stocked up on supplies to see us through the day but closed on a sunday, we got taxi down to marina in the evening which was a beautiful place. I would stay here again great value for money and i must give a big mention to the owner called Louis who was absolutely wonderful and couldn,t do enough for us, i recommend this place for couples who want a little privacy and a nice chilled time Thank you Louis for a brilliant stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler from Lisbon

Great Value for Money

Posted Jul 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great welcome by owner . large and pleasant room with air con which was needed .Breakfast was very nice and served at sensible times.Location was fine also and easy to get too. , Just make sure you have the location co-ordinates for your sat nav . Its not the Ritz but neither is the price and i would certainly stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

I got what I paid for

Posted Aug 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
To tell you the truth Casa Do Alto was exactly what I wanted. Was it the Hilton, No. Was it located right next to the Marina, No. Was the breakfast fantastic, No. Was the room palatial, No. But here are the yes's. It was at a price that was excellent value, the bed was comfortable and I slept like a log, the Owner, Luis, was a very good host and no doubt we could have solved the worlds problems if we had time. Even though the breakfast was not the best, I never left the dining room hungry. Also, the grounds were well maintained. It was the height of the busy season and waiting for a taxi was some pain in the behind. Would I stay there again, most certainly yes but I would have made arrangements taxi wise to make more use of my stay..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

casa do alto

Posted Jul 18, 2012
excellent, very clean and a beautiful rural setting