Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

supet Lage im vierten Stock

Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Insgesamt sehr gut, nur die Anmeldung bei Vermieter war wegen der defekten Klingelknöpfe schwierig. Vermieter war aber sehr nett und freundlich.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by David Traynorfrom Ireland

Misleading Information

Posted Sep 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
The first thing to say about Sol a Sul is that it used to be the Neptuno Apartments and if you read the reviews for that then you will realise why the name was changed! We were supposed to have booked a penthouse apartment but in actual fact we were on the third floor in a standard apartment. You are charged extra for cleaning but there was dirt embedded in the work surfaces that has to have been there for year. You get one change of bed linen per week for your cleaning charge and a cleaner who will mop your floors using a flithy mop. The luxurious designer toiletries are non-existent and there was mould in one bathroom whilst the fixtures were rusted in the other but the graffiti on the bathroom door was a nice bohemian touch! There is also no safe, we were provided with a portable safe which you could pickup and carry around with you. The front door was busted and the lock recently changed but we were given the wrong key for the front door and had to hang around until Fernando - the alleged owner - returned, not very pleasant when your three year old is tired and cranky. Finally if you have walking difficulties then the location will not suit, it may be a short distance to the old square but coming back you will still have to megotiate the steep climbs. Overall a very poor experience and I wouldn't recommend these apartments to anybody unless you were getting a budget deal because that's the standard they should be pitched at.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Nice location...

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: location, pool
Cons: bathroom needs serious make over. Old rugs in the kitchen and bathroom need to go. Towels should be always white
Location: beach really close, grocery really close, night life really close.
The apartment hotel is well located. Just 1 mn walk from the beach. Place to do groceries is not far, at a walk distance. Close to albufeira old town where you can see restaurant, shops, bar, etc. It has a nice pool. The apartment was OK: room, kitchen, beds are good. However the bathroom needed a renovation. I will still recommend the hotel because of the location and the clean pool. The owner was very nice explaining stuff around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Yorkshire

Would stay again, close to centre

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: The owner was lovely and would arrange anything if you needed. it was literally 2 mins to the beach.
Cons: first time i have been self catering so i dont know really. I would go here again so thats got to be a good thing!
Location: location was fab and owner gave us a map with x to mark all the places we would or could want to see that was really helpful.
I would definitely stay here again, as per other reviews, dont take much notice of the front of the building. Once you are inside the rooms are nice and spacious. We had room26 overlooking the pool which was absolutely fine.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kizipofrom sol a sul

no voy a volver!

Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
El tio del hotel es un despreocupado! Nos puso en una habitacion para 4 con unas camas que eran hierros! Nos dio 3 toallas,pero al dia siguente de llegar y la cuarta a los 3 dias, decia que las tenia a lavar, no las cambia ningun dia! el servicio pesimo, lo mas bueno la ubicacion del hotel, lo demas flojo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Swansea

Excellent !!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Stayed August 2014, apartment was huge. Location as only 5 minutes from the beach was all we wanted. You can either take the steps or the lift to the beach which makes life a lot easier. Apartments were clean and had all you needed. Pool is fantastic to cool you down and big enough to accommodate everyone. I would highly recommend this apartment for the location and facilities. Yes it is basic but for a base to sleep in it has more than you need to make a great holiday.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom yorkshire

Excellent location, lovely pool. Friendly host.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: The salt water pool The handy, close location The room balcony opening straight onto the pool The hallway of mirrors Felt quite safe & secure
Cons: Deep clean to tiles, wood and bathroom. New/ fresh bed linen & bleach-able towels, light bulbs in all light fittings
Location: Very close proximity to beach and old town Excellent cafe Leo round the corner Loved the Zen therapy salon in town Strip is €7 or nice 40min walk
Really struggling between Ok and pleasing because it was not a grotty place but for the money I would of expected a higher standard. It was ok because we don't live in our rooms on holiday but to give a few examples of why it was below standard for me was that I have never before found bed linen or towels abroad to be foisty or had to write a list of things we needed /didn't have such as; 2 mugs, 2 wine glasses, kids tumblers, light bulbs, additional pillows and a blind or curtain for the window to the area child sleeps. The MAIN gripe I had was the MAIN reason I chose this apartment; it advertised comfy beds...new memory foam beds. Quite a big deal when you suffer with back problems. To my disappointment the bed we got was so old and worn out beyond further repair. After 3 nights of utter discomfort and no sleep, I put the sofa foam on top of the bed ..then Fernando changed the bed. He did his best to get things sorted. Dining table chairs were nailed and wobbly and most of the sun loungers were broken or repaired. The pool was lovely and the salt water was so much kinder on our hair and skin than a typical chlorinated pool which can sting your eyes, itch your skin and turn blondes a shade of green. There is no maid service and unless you ask you have the same towels and bedding all week, the floors are not cleaned. I think overall the location is the best thing about it and the room we had was very good for a small family as the balcony opened straight onto the pool
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Family vacation at Sol a Sul

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
This place does not look so fancy from the outside, but the interiors proved to be better. We stayed for 14 days at what was called a "penthouse" and we were 2 adults, 1 teenager and 3 kids (10,8 and 3 years old). Price was 149€/night and apartment was placed on the third out of four floors, not on top which we had expected. Nice big apartment with two bedrooms and bathrooms and a big kitchen/living room. Two rather narrow balconies which had sea view. Kitchen was okay equipped and there was fridge, cooler, microwave, oven, water boiler and toaster. Elevator in this part of the building made it easy to move up and down, and there were parking in the basement. No reception, but the caretaker Fernando is available on the phone at any time. Poolarea is small, but pool is ok and served us well. In our full stay the place was only cleaned once and the other days we had to handle ourselves, strange considering the rate. No air conditioning but since we were there during a rather "cold" period, this was not an issue. Close to some ok restaurants (Beach Basket was best!) and to city center without having the night life at your doorstep. Fernando was very helpful and service minded and helped us out with most practicalities. All in all a pleasant stay, although a bit over priced considering the poor cleaning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Utrecht

Waanzinnig appartement!

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Het appartement is op loopafstand van het strand en het centrum. Het is van alle gemakken voorzien. Fantastische tijd gehad, heerlijk tot rust gekomen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 6, 2014 on Hotels.com