Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by MMindy from US

Check in moved off site, villa nice

Posted Aug 9, 2013 on Hotels
Had difficulty finding The View, it isn't marked and doesn't have an address on it. After an hour we did find it, only to find out check in was moved to 5 miles away. Restaurant on site was closed, they did offer use of the other facility's restaurant 5 miles away. which was convenient, and didn't allow us to get any drink or food while at the pool. Villa was wonderful, clean, well maintained, and really fantastic views. You could walk from villa in to town and to beach in 10 mins.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Fremragende lejlighed

Posted Jul 23, 2013 on Hotels
Glimrende ophold. Mange plusser og eneste minus er den manglende reception på stedet samt at der ikke var dvd i lejlighed selv om det stod i beskrivelsen på Web.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Leslie

Beautiful views but poor service and hard to find

Posted Oct 29, 2012 on Hotels
We pulled in to The Views to find the reception desk and check in area completely closed. We had to phone hotels.com who phoned the hotel to say we had to drive back towards town to check in through their sister property. This took over an hour and was really confusing and frustrating. It easily could have been addressed by a simple sign. We found the service poor - the internet access wasn't working from the lobby and the manager still wanted to charge us anyway even though it didn't work with our devices. Finally, our unit had no coffee maker and the manager said he wasn't sure he would be able to get one (the hotel was almost vacant). Then, the next day after we went out and bought one at the grocery store, housekeeping showed up with one. Even though the views were nice and the units well maintained, we wouldn't stay here again. The price/value relationship simply wasn't there for us given the problems.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

vista fantástica

Posted Feb 24, 2012 on Hotels
Vista fantástica, bem localizado, confortável. A recepção estava fechada, a televisão não tinha canais portugueses devido a problema técnico que durou toda a estadia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

Excellent accomodation - great stay and only one small negative. Overall: Excellent

Posted Jan 27, 2012
Location: Salema is beatiful and perfect if you want a pretty location. No noise or loud nightlife, peaceful, serene and feels like you are really away from it all.
This is the second time we have been to the View and enjoyed ourselves again immensely. The quality of the accomodation is excellent, the location idyllic. Pro's: Great location, great development, close to beach, fantastic pool, clean, friendly, good supermarkets nearby, town centre close enough to walk easily, great for a family holiday, never too crowded even in peak season. Will go back again regularly. Con's: The pool bar doesn't have a great selection of food, is overpriced and is closed at night, there are few restaurants nearby and they are pricey but that's just the Eurozone so hey-ho, I got totally overcharged for a breakage in the apartment, in my opinion - I broke a fridge shelf - in our friend's apartment they didn't even have one in the same type of fridge so I supect that if I have said nothing then no one would have noticed. Overall: Excellent, recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

The best place!

Posted Aug 30, 2011 on Hotels
We stayed at The View for 3 nights during our honeymoon. We travelled for more than 3 weeks and this was by far our best accommodation! Our villa was amazing, VERY spacious and comfortable, and they even surprised us with a bottle of champagne and a fruit basket! We had a wonderful ocean view and really enjoyed our own bbq and our own private hot tub on our roof top patio. Our only complaint is that the appliances were difficult to figure out. There isn't much around the resort except for a grocery store, which was fine since we spend our days on the beach. Overall, it was an amazing experience and we would definitely recommend this resort to everyone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Aaah, the Villa

Posted Dec 13, 2010 on Hotels
On this vacation, the Villa was a retreat of sorts. We were escaping the hotels "conveniently located in the heart of. . . " and trading them for a quiet, seaside getaway. The Villa was just that. Mind you, we were there in early December. "In season", I suspect my experience might be different given the close proximity of so many other villas - 8 within 25 feet, and that doesn't even count the activity at the complex pool outside the front door. Finding the Villa was a challenge. There are lovely signs directing the driver in from the main highway. Sadly, the last one was missing, causing us to need to drive around the several possible options before finally finding the resort. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a notice in the window that all check-ins were being handled by their sister property back across the main highway. Once finding that location, there was no record of the reservation. Despite that, they quite rapidly honored my email confirmation without further discussion or problem. The villa itself was very comfortable, overlooking the ocean several blocks away. It was complete with everything a traveler could need, including all the multi-lingual user manuals for each appliance. Sadly, the coffee carafe and French press carafe were both broken It was a short drive to Sagres to explore the Fort. There were several other attractions, all a short drive, that I would explore in a return trip. I would definitely return and recommend this property, although with the caveat that "in season", I expect it would be a very different experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from france

hotel "the View" sud du portugal

Posted Aug 17, 2010
la seule envie qui vous vient lorsque vous quittez cet endroit : y revenir le plus vite possible tout y est superbe et fait pour le confort des clients. seul regret, il faut se "débrouiller" tout seul, vous ne pouvez pas choisir de prendre votre petit déjeuner au restaurant par exemple, par ce qu'il n'y en a pas dans la résidence ! mais c'est un détail à coté du plaisir que l'on a en résidant dans cet endroit ! un dernier conseil : optez pour la réservation de la villa avec jacuzzi sur le toit face à l'océan......... là on est carrément dans l'antichambre du paradi !
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Hoboken, NJ

Spectacular Algarve Resort

Posted Apr 29, 2009
I was very pleased with the overall experience of our stay at The View. The resort was beautiful, the views were breath-taking, and the villa was absolutely immaculate and a great value for its size. The only shortcoming of the resort is the lack of onsite restaurants but the nearby town of Salema provided options.