Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by qwertyshopper from UK

Conveniently located hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, location and helpful staff.
Cons: Bathroom and kitchen needs updating and WiFi needs to be available in rooms.
Location: Coveniently located with golf course and beach within short walking distance. Other principle resorts also within walking distance for those inclined.
Pleasant holiday in a Hotel that we have been to many times and will return to in future despite its shortcomings. We find this Hotel suites our purposes being within easy reach of a small sandy beach but conveneintly located for several other beaches and principle resorts which are all within walking distance for those who enjoy walking and only a short inexpensive taxi ride for those who don't.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe from BC Canada

Family holiday for a couple of days

Posted Sep 14, 2013
Pros: Nice big rooms and patio and a very useable kitchen
Cons: The hotel is probably ready for a little renovation with a paint job, new tv's, plumbing ( taps & showers)
Location: The beach is probably the best thing near by and the hotel has a nice bar and pool other than that it is a taxi to downtown to do things.
The hotel room was clean comfortable and big. The only draw back is that the hotel is a little dated and things are old like the tv and plumbing etc. The beach is about a 10 minute walk away and the hotel has a small store on the grounds where you can buy small items, if you want any significant groceries you either have to drive or get a taxi. The 2 days we spent there where relaxing and nice both at the hotel and beach there are a few restaurants within walking distance but downtown Portiamo is definitely a taxi ride away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

pretty good

Posted Sep 13, 2011
on first impressions i was shocked that it was rated 4* - the decor is very dated expecially as it was built in the 90's having said that we had the studio apartment and it was a lot bigger then we expected ( i would call it a 1 bed apartment which was of decent standard ). the staff were brilliant and extreamly helpful. The resturant we tried on the 1st night and was not impressed however for 2 adult buffett and 1 child buffett only cost around £25 so cant really complain. the location was perfect a short walk to a perfect beach cheap cab fares to nearby areas with brilliant restraunts and the area was quiet. the hotel had a small gym, a spa and 3 pools good size and perfect for our daughter, all of great standard. we didnt do the hotel entertainment but there was something on everynight. overall it was everything we needed - we had a lovely time and i wouldnt mind saying at these apartments again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Estrela de Vau

Posted Jun 17, 2011 on Hotels.com
We stayed at Estrela de Vau 4 years ago and we were pleased to see that the hotel had been very well maintained since then. There was an indoor swimming pool under construction during our visit and we were accommodated well away from any potential disturbance.Staff throughout were very friendly and helpful. Our 1 bed apartment was spacious and nicely decorated, with daily cleaning service and towel change. The only drawback was the location, 10 min walk to beach and half hour walk to Alvor,a car would be best, although taxis are readily available.We are very happy to recommend Estrela de Vau.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2011 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from PRINCE ALBERT CANADA

ESTRELA DE VAU APARTMENTS - CLOSE TO BEACH

Posted Oct 13, 2010 on Hotels.com
WE ENJOYED OUR STAY VERY MUCH. WAS A GREAT PLACE TO STAY. WOULD COME AND STAY AGAIN. ONE THING TO KNOW IS THAT THE LOCATION IS NOT AS CLOSE TO BEACH AS ONE MIGHT SEE ADVERTISED. IT IS MORE LIKE ONE KILOMETER FROM BEACH WHICH WAS NOT A LONG WALK. IT WAS A VERY PLEASANT STAY AND WE HATED TO LEAVE WOULD RECOMMEND TO OTHERS.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Dated but nice

Posted Jan 3, 2008
We were staying here very much out of season and were one of probably less than 10 rooms that were filled so was nice and peaceful and our room was clean and tidy, facilities were good and in easy reach of shops etc. On the down side, hot water tanks were individual to the room and start to run out after 1 shower, and some of the appliances and fittings are quite old and could really do with a refresh. Taking into account the price we payed however and the facilities that were available I would still consider this a good deal and a nice place for a short break.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Gatineau, Canada

A 3 star hotel not a 4 star hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2007
The hotel location is good, although difficult to find and we felt it was secure. The room would have needed to be refreshed (maybe with a coat of paint and some decoration). Cleanliness was a weak point. During our stay they removed the garbage daily, changed the towels and made the beds. However, they never swept the floor or cleaned the bathroom. On the strong points, we had a great balcony with a nice view where we had breakfast every morning and could catch up the sunset at in our opinion, it is one of the best beaches in the Algarve.