Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom London

Just great

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
A real five star hotel with very friendly staff and great facilities. We will come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom München

Großartiges Ressort direkt am Meer

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: Freundlichkeit und Offenheit der Angestellten, TOP-Zustand der Anlage mit Liebe für noch so kleine Details. Sehr weitläufiges Resort, aber alle intere
Cons: Jammern auf sehr hohem Niveau: Einige der Lichtschalter hatten Wackelkontakte; die eine oder andere USB-Steckdose wäre hilfreich.
4 Übernachtungen in sehr großzügigen Räumen in einer TOP-gepflegten Anlage
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hotel gut, jedoch keine Spitzenklasse

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Es ist ein "altes" Hotel mit vielen deutschen Golf Gästen. Das Personal ist sehr freundlich.Leider gestaltete sich das Interesse nach einer deutschen Zeitung sehr schwierig. 2 deutschsprachige Zeitungen gab es leider nur in der Lobby. Dass diese natürlich ständig in den Händen deutscher Gäste waren, ist verständlich. Auf Nachfrage, warum es keine Zeitungen auf das Zimmer gäbe (5 Sternehotel) sagte man mir, dass es sich am Wochenende etwas schwierig gestaltet.Am Tag der Anreise wollten wir natürlich relativ früh zu Abend essen. Wir baten deshalb den Concierge einen Platz im italienischen Restaurant zu buchen. 20 Minuten vor dem Termin kam ein Anruf, dass das Restaurant voll reserviert wäre. Es stellte sich dann jedoch heraus, dass das Restaurant gar nicht geöffnet hatte. Ich bin der Meinung,dass ein Concierge in einem Fünfsternehotel alle Öffnungszeiten der acht Restaurants wissen sollte. Auch im Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis des Essen's bin ich der Meinung, dass es nicht stimmt. Bei einer Reklamation erwarte ich Entgegenkommen. In meinem Fall war so, dass ich drei Kugeln Sorbeteis zum Nachtisch bestellte( eine kleine Kugel für 5€) Eine davon war nur gefrorener Orangensaft. Sehr lobenswert ist das Spitzenrestaurant Ocean. Super Service und Spitzengastronomie. Das sollte man auf jedenfall nicht verpassen. Es war unser 1.Trip nach Portugal. Fazit: Hotel war gut, jedoch gibt es inder gleichen Kategorie viel viel schönere Hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom München, Bayern

tolles fünf Sterne Hotel in Strandnähe

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Der nette Service.
Exzellenter Service, Zimmer waren groß und luxuriös. Das Personal ist höflich und spricht englisch und deutsch. Das Frühstücksbuffet ist fantastisch und die Restaurants bieten eine abwechslungsreiche Küche.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Good value off season for short break

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Staff (apart from beach restaurant), grounds, room & pools
Cons: The beach restaurant and quality of the food in all restaurants
Location: Not a great location - closest town high rise holiday apartment hell
Fabulous room, beautiful grounds and (mostly) excellent staff. Shame the weather was so bad, meaning that a couple of the restaurants were shut. The food is decidedly average for the high prices (we found the bar meals to actually be the tastiest!) Breakfasts ok. The staff really were all lovely, with the exception of those at the beach restaurant. Here we found the service to be indifferent at best; perhaps as we were two female friends on a short break? One in particular was really overly familiar verging on rude (how are my young ladies? type of nonsense - we're two fit, young and affluent 50 year olds and can do without these patronising comments - take note) The lighting was too bright here too (at the back half) ruining any ambience. Apparently it's due for a refurb...The spa and indoor pool at the health club were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom dublin

Excellent hotel great staff beautiful grounds

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Location grounds views of sea choice of eating (no need to go outside )especially if here only for week but staff are real difference choice of pools
Cons: Whale menu back to what it was !!Bela Vita dinner menu a bit odd --1994/2014 choices --why?. Resultant choice more limited than previous times there -
Location: Really dont know as we want somewhere where we dont need car --thats why important to us that menu changes not made for sake of it !
4th time here over past 2 years --this time in main building in refurbished room which is very well done --no waste paper basket in bedroom ! Bit strange but small thing --as before all staff very friendly well trained and genuinely pleased to see us back --breakfast in both Whale and Bela Vita is excellent --good choice of restaurants on site as well as Arte Nautice fish restaurant on beach where wines are noticeably cheaper than in restaurants on site We ate twice in arte nautica and adega (portugese traditional)but were a bit diappointed that Whale menu was a lot changed and to our taste not for better --it seemed that it had been made a bit posher but we missed a couple of really nice simple pasta dishes and generally Whale seemed less popular than on previous visits and not open as often for either lunch ot dinner --we asked about changes to menu but were told it was ,, result,, of research !maybe it was but we were not impressed ! We didnt fancy Aladdin which again had changed menu and seemed to have gone upin price --ate lunch at bar outside Residence and really good simple food pizza baguettes wraps and salads --all staff here were justoutstanding --really very friendly including a couple ofplacement students
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Culemborg

XXXXXX (6) STERREN !

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Perfect !
Cons: Meer strandbedden.
Location: De locatie is wat afgelegen, maar je hoeft het hotel eigenlijk niet uit, hier is alles . Het terrein is erg groot, je kunt er zelfs golfen.
Dit is na 20 jaar nog steeds een van de beste hotels waar we ooit verbleven aan de Algarve. Het is niet vergelijkbaar met andere 5 sterren hotels, alles klopt hier ! De 9 restaurants van het hotel zijn zeer goed en bieden allemaal een andere smaak keuken, TOP. Het gehele Park wordt zeer goed onderhouden en de tuinen zijn een lust voor het oog. Personeel is zeer vriendelijk ,hier voel je je GAST. Geweldig Management .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Not quite 5* - let down by a few small things

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: The infrastructure is excellent, all freshly renovated and clean with impeccable grounds. A relaxing location.
Cons: The basics - it is disappointing in a 5* hotel to have to ask to have your table cleared twice, and to have to request lounger covers etc.
Location: We didn't go out except for dinner. It was a relaxing holiday!
Hotel facilities (pools etc) - very good. Good location from airport. Plenty of space. Lots of places to sunbathe, coastal path to walk. Deluxe room very comfortable with balcony over pool area. Restaurants - bar food excellent, The Whale very poor for the price, Arte Nautica best by far. Atlantico for breakfast - great buffet. We didn't try any other restaurants but a short walk to the top of the road and there are a couple of places and more in town. Not 5* due to staff related issues - seated for breakfast at a used table not cleared for 15 minutes despite reminding the hostess twice, no covers on the sun loungers till 9.45 after calling the reception to ask them to do this on one day, requested help with safe in the room - it was checked and we were told it worked but not offered any assistance, had to ask for room to be cleaned despite not putting Do Not Disturb sign out. I appreciate these are small things but for the money and the 5 stars these things should run like clockwork. When we did ask for help the staff were generally very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom leeds

Wonderful week at Vila Vita parc

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: We liked everything and we will plan to return
Cons: I would have liked either an in room coffee machine or a all day self service coffee bar. And the English translation on the menus could be improved.
Wonderful resort very impressed with the service , and the quality of the breakfasts and restaurants was fantastic. we took part in some of the free Pilates and yoga classes with a very good instructor, we topped this off with an anti stress massage which fully lived up to its name.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom London

just perfect

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Everything
Lovely stay in beautiful hotel and grounds on the edge of the sea